We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place! Even Better Location!”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We had this place in mind when we arrrived in Newport but had not booked. We were sold on the hotel as soon as we saw the location. The only king room left was on the ground floor and the view was great. NIce little balcony with 2 seats to watch the sunset. Close to restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Continental breakfast was fruit, coffee, oatmeal and fresh pastries. We loved the area and the hotel so we opted to stay another night. Unfortunately, we couldn't stay in the same room. The housekeeping staff moved our bags while we were gone during the day including moving the contents of our mini fridge. The new room was on the second floor and included a little bigger kitchenette area and a gas fireplace. My only recommendation is to ask for a room that is directly across from beach and not the few houses that are at one end of the motel. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LastMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Assistant Front Desk Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for the fabulous review! I am delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you had such a great visit. We look forward to seeing you again! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

It has been several years since my husband and I have visited the Oregon Coast. Last time we stayed at the Whaler Motel and it was such a fun visit we decided to try it again. We were not disappointed! We stayed on the 3rd floor with the most beautiful ocean view room with a balcony. The fireplace is perfect and easy.

The motel is located close to "Nye Beach" shops and restaurants and a very short drive to the Bayfront with more magnificent restaurants. Our room was quiet and clean. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Assistant Front Desk Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your great review! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and surrounding area. We appreciate you returning to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Newport! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Loved having such a nice view and the current Oct sale makes it a great deal. Comfy bed facing the view and we took advantage of the indoor pool and spa. It made for an excellent stay in a quiet part of Newport. 3rd floor toward the north end of the complex.

Room Tip: all rooms face the seaview & sunsets, higher up for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LaurieKamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Assistant Front Desk Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for the nice review! I am happy that you loved the view and were able to take advantage of the pool and spa. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed in a king room with a sofa bed on the first floor. It was my husband and I, plus our three year old. The floorplan was perfect for us and the view from our room was fantastic! Our room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed being able to just pick up some breakfast items from the lobby and bring them back to our room to relax and eat. We also had a great time in the pool. Overall, we had a really nice time as a family. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35sd14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Assistant Front Desk Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review! I am so happy to hear that your family had a fantastic time staying with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Newport! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Just "discovered" this motel on my last trip to Newport, OR a couple of weeks ago. Man what a find! Extremely reasonably priced for a motel where every single room is facing the famous Nye Beach. Beach access is literally right across the road! Beautiful, unobstructed view of the ocean and sunsets. Each room has a balcony you can sit out on to enjoy the view. Feel free to reserve a room on the second or third floors as the property has an elevator which worked great. The property is older but very well maintained. Had a double queen room. Room size very generous. Separate vanity and toilet/bathtub area which I prefer when traveling with another person. Very clean. Room had a modern T.V. and refrigerator. Some rooms have a microwave but unfortunately ours did not, Had to warm up leftovers from a local restaurant in the "community" microwave in the main office. I am not sure why all the rooms don't have microwaves seems like a standard amenity these days. Another appreciated amenity is the indoor pool and hottub which can be used on those gray, cloudy days when needed. Except for the lack of a microwave in the room very satisfied with the room and property. Nye Beach area has great shopping and restaurants nearby. The bayfront is a couple of miles south and the Oregon Aquarium and Marine Science Center is across the bridge as you head south. In sum, very happy with the accommodations. Unless you looking for "fancier" rooms and properties this place has everything the average traveler is looking for I believe with the added bonus of the view of the ocean and "can't get any closer" beach access. This will be the place I stay when I visit Newport in the future. Recommend to others without hesitation.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Missi1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Asssistant Front Desk Manger at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! I am delighted that you "discovered" us and enjoyed our accommodations while exploring Nye Beach. Thank you for your nice recommendation and we certainly look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Newport! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,103 reviews
0.7 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
894 reviews
2.6 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.8 km away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.6 km away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $131 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing