We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2007

This room needed updated but was clean considering it's age. There was a iron burn mark on the floor. The continental breakfast was a joke. The view however was beautiful. All the rooms have an ocean view. There is a nice pathway that takes you to the beach. The swimming pool and hot tub was really clean. I thought the room was a great value. It was $89 per night (this was with senior discount and in the off season).

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank shantae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 398 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2007

Just spent the weekend at the Whaler. We had a king room on the third floor. It was spacious, clean and quiet. I especially liked the wet bar, which is stocked with dishes, utensils, toaster, etc. The frig and microwave are also a nice ammenity. Didn't use the pool or the spa, but used the exercise room. The room has 3 excellent cardio machines and a TV to help pass the time while working out. It is a short walk to Nye beach. The bar/restaurant at Nye Beach(can't remember the name) had the best steamer clams I've ever tasted! You can eat downstairs in the bar, or upstairs in the relaxing restaurant with a view. The Whaler is just a short drive from the historic bay district. Only 2 small things to note: don't expect much from the gas fireplaces. They put out some heat, but aren't much to look at if you enjoy relaxing by the fire. Also, the pillows are really firm. If you like a soft pillow, bring your own. I will definitely stay at the Whaler again!

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank rlloyd295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2007

My room was on the ground floor and smelled like MOLD, ants in the bathroom, a blanket that was TERRIBLE (come on folks it's cold on the coast), no microwave in the room, and a window that was broken....should I go on. Better places in Newport. Shop around and do your research for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
4  Thank ladylake99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

My wife and I spent a week traveling down the Oregon Coast and staying in various cities. (We researched all our stays on TripAdvisor.)

The Whaler in Newport was far and away our favorite. The third floor had been recently remodeled and it really showed. Our room (#373) was clean, spacious and had a nice big window overlooking the waves and the coastline. Plus, it has a cute little kitchenette with a sink, microwave and refrigerator unit. So each day, we would wake up, pull a few breakfast grocies from our fridge and enjoy breakfast by the window -- reading the paper and watching whales passing by in the distance.

There doesn't seem to be a coastline vs. non-coastline rooms (other than a few rooms that seemed to be tucked away near the office...be sure to ask not to have those). But I would recommend asking for a third-floor room, both for the view and, more importantly, the remodeling. I didn't see the other rooms so I can't comment on them.

The service was very nice and it seemed that the people swimming at the indoor pool were having a good time.

The days we were there were warmer than average, so the room got a little warm (especially since there isn't any air conditioning). But, my guess is that hotels in Newport generally don't have them due to the weather. Besides, we just opened our window and it cooled off pretty quick.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andrewgG695SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

Excellent location. Service at a level that one would expect at a much more expensive hotel. Very polite and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachcomber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 km away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
0.7 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
898 reviews
2.6 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.8 km away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.6 km away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $131 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing