We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 6 June 2015

We wanted to go to the Beach for the Weekend from the Portland/Vancouver 90 degree heat for this weekend. I went online to check all the usual Hotel Reservation sites. I honed in on this place but didn't like the $179.00 Best Price. I waited till today and booked for tonight on Hotel Tonight for $99.00. It looked OK from the outside. Our Room was in Building G about 3 blocks away. I has booked two nights and they only had me down for one. Our Room was about 95 degrees and stuffy. We opened up every window and got a cross breeze. Everything was dated by 20 to 30 years. No Table use Laptop. Bed was a mattress on a wood frame with no Box Spring. We had a Balcony and could see half the Bay and the Bay Bridge with a large chimney pipe in the middle of our view. We are moving out first thing in the morning . Will never stay here again even if it was $50 a night.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Jeff Z,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Embarcadero Resort. I'm sorry that your experience was not what you expected. I hope you will give us another try to change your mind.
Thank you.
Bob Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Older room but pretty nice, it had a great view! No coffee ( and I had asked for extra). They brought some but didn't notice nothing to stir it with. Little things should have been better, but the views made them small things. ..We will stay again.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank dajoyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015

Greetings Dajoyoung,
Thank you for the recent review. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Embarcadero Resort. I have spoken to our housekeeping department regarding the proper stocking of the guest rooms. Thank you for letting us know. We look forward to seeing again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

It is an older property, but they have complete kitchens and the location is great. They have done some remodeling. Walking distance to the docks, you can watch the commercial boats unload. Old town is in the same location. Fun to go through the shops.

Room Tip: Cannot say enough about the location; just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Allison,
Thank you for the recent review of the Embarcadero. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Rooms were fine but had to drive to the pool each time, too far to walk and all uphill. Rooms were furnished well and had everything needed for stay, got some great weather and was able to take a long stroll on the beach for out 37th Anniversary.

Room Tip: Pick lower level for bay view and closer to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wafertech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Thank you Wafertech for your recent review of the Embarcadero Resort. I'm sorry that your room was not closer to the pool. On your next visit, call the hotel directly and request a room closer to the pool. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015 via mobile

We went to their restaurant for Mothers Day. We were seated. The view was great. After waiting over 15 minutes and being ignored, I stopped a waitress walking by and told her our beverage order. We went to line up for brunch food. No plates!!! 15 of us waiting wasn't a clue that we need plates? The plates finally came and had specks of food on them. A Brunch cook used his bare hands to toss vegetables onto the tray. The prime rib server was pulling his loose pants up with bare hands and then slicing and serving the cold prime rib. It wasn't worth the 104$ for the four of us to eat there. my husband is now referring to this restaurant as "Em- barf- adero".

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob H, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

Dear Theresa,
Thank you for attending our Mother's Day Brunch last weekend. I am sorry to hear that we temporarily ran out of plates during your visit. While we received many compliments on the food and service, I am sorry that we did not hit the mark with you. I hope you will allow us the opportunity in the future to regain your trust and try us again. Thank you for letting me know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.1 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,078 reviews
3.6 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.3 km away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
884 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.1 km away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarcadero Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Address: 1000 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4201
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $164 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embarcadero Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Yaquina Bay in Newport Oregon - every well appointed guestroom has a Million Dollar view of beautiful Yaquina Bay. Full Service Hotel - with Restaurant, Lounge, Indoor Salt Water Pool and Spa, Crab Boat Dock and Boat Rentals, 4000 Square Feet of flexible Meeting Space with Full Service Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embarcadero Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Resort Newport
Embarcadero Hotel Newport
Embarcadero Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing