We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not informed of ability to cancel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I made a reservation last weekend around 4 pm, a little after 6 pm our plans had completely changed and we called to cancel. The front desk said no way and we would be charged the full $150. After a long drive we were able to arrive just before midnight. Upon check in, I asked the front desk Jennifer and Doug why I was not informed of the inability to cancel my reservation when I had made it earlier that day and Jennifer replied she had not realized when I called that I had made the reservation that day and implied I would have been able to cancel had this been known. Why wouldn't she look up my reservation before just saying no? We were already exhausted and fed up with this place.
The room was stuffy, hot, no fans of any kind. On top of it all we slept poorly in the uncomfortable heat, even with the windows open there was no way to circulate the air. Plenty of great options around here, skip this place.

Room Tip: too much money for lousy service, luxury hotel for the area. Rooms are stuffy, hot, without any sor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RK4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

When you're snapping up a great discount, sometimes you have to take what you can get--$99, but lots of stairs. But the unobstructed view of the bay, bridge, and sunset is well worth it. The attached restaurant is competitively priced with other slow-food sources and has some innovative and creative offerings.

Room Tip: Watch for discounts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

The rooms are really nice.Each has a seclded balcony with a view of the harbor. But, and perhaps this was because it was after labor day the service was vestgial. We gas to request cutlery and pkates for our room. It is a pity that such a well conceived hotel doesn't quite make it,

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank JonathanPeterEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Very run down outdated unit.
Bed sags in middle and had sheets with blood stains. YUK.
Sofa is worn out.
This place needs to be gutted and redone.
There view is parking lot and grilling station. No view from this building.
Clean.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank waterkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We had a one room bedroom suite. It was clean and comfortable, although the carpeting needed cleaned or replaced. We had a kitchen, with a full-sized refrigerator and dish washer.

We took advantage of the pool and hot tub one evening.

Our balcony looked out over Yaquina Bay. If the door to the balcony was open, we could hear the sea lions calling, though they were a mile or so away. There were also some nesting great blue herons in some nearby trees making a racket at times -- both were enjoyable noise.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.1 km away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
2.4 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
922 reviews
0.3 km away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.1 km away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarcadero Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Address: 1000 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4201
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $160 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embarcadero Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Yaquina Bay in Newport Oregon - every well appointed guestroom has a Million Dollar view of beautiful Yaquina Bay. Full Service Hotel - with Restaurant, Lounge, Indoor Salt Water Pool and Spa, Crab Boat Dock and Boat Rentals, 4000 Square Feet of flexible Meeting Space with Full Service Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embarcadero Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Resort Newport
Embarcadero Hotel Newport
Embarcadero Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing