We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hoschton, Georgia
1 review
“Amazing Place to Stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are huge and the comp. breakfast and evening reception were great! The only downfall was the restaurant "Prime" in the hotel was out of 3 different types of wine that was on their menu for 3 days straight. When asked why they just didn't go to a store and buy them to keep the guest happy, they were not too happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kristi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your review, and for the notes on Portland Prime. I'll send this note along to their General Manager so they know!

Next time you're in town, contact Jessica.Sheeran@Hilton.com and she'll send up a nice Oregon Wine to test out. :)

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    663
    161
    64
    31
See reviews for
694
514
86
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed with our 3 children and had a truly wonderful experience. The rooms were large and clean. The breakfast in the morning has pretty much anything anyone could want from an American breakfast. Everyone in our family was happy with the choices. The pool was a great activity for the evenings to make sure the kid went to sleep easily. And, free cocktails at the evening happy hour? That just put us over the top!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rhoni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
We're so glad you had a lovely time with us, Rhoni G!

We love when our guests take advantage of all the complimentary amenities we have to offer.

Hope to see you back in Portland again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My letter to the Hotel Manager:

Dear Hotel Manager,
We booked 2 nights at your hotel several months ago. We camped for four days on the Oregon Coast first and then looked forward to ending up our holiday at your hotel in Portland. The photos online looked amazing and my three kids were especially excited about your swimming pool. After we checked in we went straight to the pool to check it out. Much to our dismay it was EMPTY and under repair. Nothing was said to us at the front desk about this. As you well know, swimming is the highlight for most kids at a hotel. We were sorely disappointed. It would have been nice to have had some sort of compensation such as a free in-room family movie or free parking in lieu of the paying for an amenity and not receiving it. We were simply directed to walk seven blocks to the Hilton to use their pool. Our room was also sloppily cleaned. I would have expected better from a hotel of your calibre and price range. There was a used towel still in the bathroom, black smudges on the pillowcase, a broken lamp in the bedroom (broken and a burned out light bulb) and garbage under the hide-a-bed. Very disappointing. One of the biggest issues I had with our two night stay was the fact that your hotel rooms have next to no sound proofing. We had a baby rooming beside us and it cried intermittently the first night which was annoying but tolerable. The second night that baby screamed bloody murder from 10:30 pm to 3:00 am. Thankfully our kids weren't overly disturbed by it but my husband and I were severely sleep deprived that night. When we checked out the next morning we were not even asked at the front desk about our stay, so I am sharing my concerns via your website instead. I am very hesitant to ever stay in an Embassy Suites Hotel again. I have friends who have recommended your chain to me but at this point I have yet to be convinced to give you another try.
I look forward to hearing from you.
As a side note:
The breakfast was good and we appreciated at the seating area was plentiful. This is something that is usually lacking in hotels when they provide free breakfasts.
The room A/C is pretty pathetic and we alternated between roasting and freezing all night long.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelDBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you so much for your honestly, RachelDBCCanada.

We're very very VERY sorry about the pool closure, but mostly that you weren't informed, or well taken care of while you were with us.

I'll be sending you a message shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
369 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is the old Multnomah hotel so it is quite different than normal Embassy Suites as it oozes with charm and warm feelings of the past. The rest is normal though as to two room suites(alyhough they are better here) and free breakfast, etc. A great location with several good restaurants very close: Portland Prime (Off the lobby), Dan and Louis’ Oyster Bar (Lunch), Portland City Grill (Fine dining on one side and a great bar and happy hour on the other side, both with outstanding views of the river) and Ruth’s Chris. Its is just a little bit longer walk to the Veritable Quandary, Jake’s Seafood and Jake’s Grill. If you are a Hilton Honors person this is far better than the Portland Hilton. It is my first choice for Portland hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braidmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We're so glad you had a wonderful time in Portland and got a chance to check out the restaurants within walking distance to us, Braidmacd!

(We're also not-so-secretly gloating that you chose us over the Hilton! haha)

Thank you for the review. We hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Was pleasantly surprised by the complimentary breakfast which included an omelet station. We were incredibly surprised by the complimentary happy hour. Very nice selection available. We had cosmos which were made very well. The happy hour also included light snacks which was nice and it was very kid friendly. This hotel is around the corner from VooDoo Doughnuts which is a must in Portland. The suite with a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and a separate room was very nice. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for the review, Enrique C, and for taking advantage of all the complimentary amenities we have to offer!

We hope to see you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): $294 - $576
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing