We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed (1) night to watch a Trailblazers game!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Flew from Bozman to Portland to watch a Trailblazers game! The Hotel was AWESOME! However, the staff was TERRIBLE! Even the transportation people! Go to the front desk and the person waiting on you receives a phone call while you are there waiting and continues to help whomever on the PHONE! The wait people in the restaurant were spot on! This place needs to train FRONT DESK personnel. Or, find someone else that would be better suited to help people staying there. Maybe this is a management issue! I don't know; however, if you go here, make sure you are aware that the STAFF will NOT be willing to help you in anyway in a nice manner. But, the room was GREAT!

Room Tip: Go visit the room first! If you don't like it then go change it! Providing they are not SOLD OUT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VaSpeters56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for staying and taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had a great stay overall and found the room condition excellent. I do want to apologize that you felt the front desk staff was not prioritizing service properly. I will be taking your comments constructively to improve our service going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights with our 3 yr old. When we arrived the parking for self parking was $20. That was expected. The front desk service was okay but not very friendly. The room we had was decent but outside the door there was a plate sitting by the floor from room service. We had a fridge that didn't work so food did not get cold. And the room service was bad, the food was warm and the steak was not medium but well done. Stay away from their food, I had their crab Mac and cheese. It was so spoiled when I ate it I almost threw up. Let's just say the restaurant is not a real restaurant just their own kitchen to microwave food. It was inexpensive through a special deal site and I guess you get what you pay for.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Sofi299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

I was recently reading this review and I was very disappointed that we delivered such poor service. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience we may have caused you as the service is far from our core values. My staff and I stand behind our product and if we did not deliver the highest quality or service we encourage our guests to let us know at that time so we can make it right. Because it is unclear from your review what steps my staff did to take care of I would hope that any guest not satisfied would contact me directly. Thank you for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

The hotel is a typical US Crowne Plaza - uninspiring and not worth the money, unless your employer pays. If you're collecting IHG points, and can tolerate:
- daily $20 self-parking fee (at the outside parking lot, not an underground garage),
- $15 breakfast (which is marginally better than a Holiday Inn Express free one),
- a tiny pool (rather a bathtub), of oval shape, not suitable for swimming,
- dull room view,
- 5 different switches to lights in the room (so it's a quest to find where to switch them all off to go to bed after a 9 hour flight),
- jammed bathroom heater (not switching off a 250W light bulb),
and, in this particular hotel, unexperienced personnel, then it's worth considering. Otherwise, you'll find a better place to stay.

In my case, the only IHG Platinum benefit was a top-floor room, overlooking some commercial real estate blocks. The room was clean and the food was OK, but the receptionist looked like a sophomore, and performed accordingly. At 8am the morning after a rain and a few thunderclaps, the hot water disappeared from the tap, and the explanation given to another guest - I overheard it while checking out - it was due to the thunderstorm and rain. In Portland, Oregon...

Overall, I can not recommend this place and will not stay there again myself.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your visit fell short of your expectations. As you can see when reading our reviews we take great pride in our quality and service. Most people really enjoy our breakfast which features over fifty items all fresh and many organic all for only $15.00 an exceptional value. I would also like to let future guests know that our parking prices are comparable to area hotels and a fraction of those on the west side. We offer many unique amenities at no extra cost such as a pool, spa, fitness center, sport court to name a few. Sorry we do not offer a lap pool.
I will take and use your comments constructively.
Thanks for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

This is not a tourist friendly hotel. They cater to airline crew and conventioneers.
Shuttle is a joke! Never available when you want it and ridiculous charge for return to airport trip. Cheaper for two by taxi.
Waited for 30 mins at airport for pickup when we arrived and were told it would be there in 5 mins.
Two shuttles sitting empty when we wanted a ride downtown and we were told we couldn't get a ride for 30 mins because they had to take crew to airport.
Front desk attitude really negative when we asked for late checkout - we were given one hour. Breakfast terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BoomNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your visit was not perfect. We love tourists, families, conventioneers, air crews and strive to exceed everyone’s expectations not matter why they are staying with us. I would like to apologize regarding the confusion surrounding the shuttle and to make sure future guest are informed. The service is indeed first come first serve for local trips which we space between airport runs. We ask that guests check with the desk when in the lobby so we can arrange transportation as soon as possible. In order not to confuse futures guests the total cost for a round trip for two people to the airport is a nominal fee of $24.00 verse a cab which would cost over $80.00.
My chef and the entire food team enjoy presenting high quality, often organic and always fresh offerings for our guests. Most people find our prices very reasonable with a full classic egg breakfast for $11.00 or a complete buffet with over 40 items including coffee and juice for only $15.00
We appreciate you staying and taking the time to provide feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

I had a great time, great vacation visiting Portlandia staying at the
Crowne Plaza......the pool was cool, clean and customer friendly....but
don't use it with or right after the kiddies....
The staff was helpful, the room spacious enough and clean....
Convenient and reasonably priced breakfast.....bus to airport and
some short term parking right in fron..
AND, if you like the Streetcars like I do,,,one can take a Paupers Tour
of Portlandia from one of a few Streetcar stops nearby....
Try it, you'll like it..

Room Tip: go high, away from the hustle and bustle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nolivap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We are very happy that you had a great stay overall and that you found our location convenient. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel Eastlund
#15 of 144 in Portland
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Convention Center
#76 of 144 in Portland
344 reviews
Northwest District
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $182 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing