We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The Crowne Plaza was our home base for a racecation this past weekend. We came for the Bridge of the Gods half marathon but wanted to explore the area while in Portland. The CP was an excellent location for this. The staff was extremely friendly and we really appreciated the shuttle service and great tips from the drivers. It was very easy to walk across the bridge into downtown as well. I would highly recommend the CP for a stay in Portland.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jench2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We think our location is ideal for anyone who wants to have easy access to everything Portland has to offer. Thanks for staying we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

We had a great stay at this hotel due to its location. It was literally a 10 minute walk to the Moda Center! We were attending a concert there.

The restaurant serves a good breakfast, yummy waffles! The salt water pool was refreshing. The staff was very friendly.

The rooms were large and spacious. They were clean. The grout on the shower walls was showing some "wear" but other than that very clean.

We really enjoyed our stay and will stay there again when we go to another concert

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky300m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We think our location is ideal for anyone who wants to have easy access to anything Portland has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We stopped in Portland for one night while traveling by Amtrak. The hotel shuttle was excellent in the service from and to the train station. We came in early and the hotel provided excellent service in checking us in. This entire hotel is very clean and well cared for. We enjoyed doing laundry and also relaxing in the spa. Our room was excellent and comfortable. The desk people were very nice, friendly, and helpful. It is close to the light rail train for getting to downtown. We will continue to stay in this hotel when visiting the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and thought it was a great value. I appreciate you pointing out the many amenities we offer that makes our location unique.
Please let me know if I can be of service while you make your future plans.
Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

My wife and 13 year old daughter booked airfare and hotel (Crowne Plaza) for two nights through Expedia. Their flight out of Montana was cancelled and no flights where available for that day. They drove instead leaving Montana at 5 pm from the airport. It's a 11 hour drive so they missed the first night at the hotel. No refunds. Other hotels in the past when similar things happen are accommodating for situations out of the clients control. .

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

My apologies for the airline cancellation and the drive. I understand that this is out of your control however the hotel held the room and was not able to sell it. We also advise all guests that by booking directly with the hotel we offer and guarantee the lowest rate and offer the most flexible reservation types.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We stayed here after a concert and before our flight back home. The location is a 5 minute walk to Moda - the reason we chose it and also provides easy access to 84 for a quick trip to PDX.

The hotel is older but recently updated. All public spaces are clean and new looking. The room are decent and typical but quite with comfortable beds. Shower wasn't the greatest but it was fine.

The valet/self parking fee was somewhat steep but given it's location I get it. There isn't much is the immediate vicinity for food so we ate pre concert dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Both were okay.

If you are staying for a Moda event it's a fine place. However I wouldn't call this a downtown property - It's on the wrong side of the river!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gooselee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you had a great stay overall and that you found our location convenient. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel Eastlund
#15 of 144 in Portland
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Convention Center
#75 of 144 in Portland
344 reviews
Northwest District
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $180 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing