We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #52 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was served by Denis at the restaurant inside the hotel. He was very attentive and friendly. The breakfast buffet was average but his excellent service made up for the experience. What a way to start my day!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Platinum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your excellent review. I'm so pleased you were thrilled with the service your received from Dennis as he is a true professional. I will enjoy thanking him personally.
Sincerely,
Ziggy Lopuszynski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not to shabby but I did expect the rooms to be a little more up to date.
A little more modern, its the Crowne Plaza geez..

Overall stay was great.
Clean rooms
bar downstairs
refrigerator and microwave in each room.
we got a Cool view of Portland
Late check in and late check out.
They have a pool but it was like freezing outside
Gym, with the essentials.
Nice people in the lobby.
Cool cursing bikes, if you wanna freeze ur buns.
Located in a good part close to a few close things.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tiffany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago


Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel and friendly staff. I sincerely appreciate your comments and will enjoy sharing them with my team.
Please let me know if I can be of service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

It was fine. Rooms were good. Check in and check out were fairly smooth. Location was a very short ride from Wonder Ballroom. Bar staff was hospitable. Rooms were clean, although bathroom was a little dated - but clean. Bathroom space was extremely tight, considering we were in a room with 2 queens. That was a little difficult to negotiate with four adults getting ready for dinner, a concert, and brunch. They could improve by adding a second sink just outside the bathroom where the countertop/mirror are located. But still, the place was good and functioned adequately for what we needed. Beds were comfortable.

Hot tub/pool area was nice, with towels and a changing room provided at the pool.

We did not try the breakfast.

Only two problems: room service showed up and barged into our room at 8:45 am. Are you **** kidding me? They wanted to know if our room was the one with the toilet problem. Nope. Perhaps they could have given me more than 10 seconds to answer the door (I was approaching the peep hole when they slammed the door open ALMOST hitting me in the face.). They returned - BEFORE we checked out - at 9:45 am, to see if our room was ready for cleaning. No. We haven't checked out. Go away. Leave us alone. The room did not have a hang tag for "Clean my Room/I am sleeping," so there was no way for us to be proactive, plus, on NYE/NYD, there's a chance that a drunk would have taken the sign down anyway. Does the front desk not provide a list of rooms to clean to the cleaning staff???

Second problem: rudeness over the phone. We called to inquire about shuttle availability after our concert, knowing that it was a long shot. They said it would "be a while." I asked how long, and they hung up on me. Again, WTF? A better response would have been, "I'm sorry, shuttles are booked out until morning," or "It will be a 90 minute wait." But to hang up on your guest? I have a big problem with that.

$170/night, shared between 4 people (2 couples) was a fair price in our opinion. $20 for parking per night was overkill.

Room Tip: Views of convention center from southwest side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying we are pleased you had a good stay overall. I do want to apologize to this guest for the service shortfalls the circumstances they described are out of the ordinary and I will be reviewing them with my service team.
Thanks for staying,
Ziggy Lopuszynski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

I was in Portland mid-September for a conference. The hotel was walking distance from several fine eating and drinking establishments. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

There was some construction going on, but it did not interfere with a very good experience. The nearby tram station allowed for easy access to downtown without the rush of downtown.

There is a little noise from the nearby street traffic, but nothing unbearable.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for staying and taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed our location and found the staff service excellent.
We look forward to your return stay.
Thank you,
Ziggy Lopuszynski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We have stayed at a number of hotels over the years in the Portland/Vancouver Metro area. This is probably the best hotel we've stayed at. From the time we arrived to check-out the service was amazing. The staff at the front desk a friendly and very helpful. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. The view towards the northwest was a bonus. The pool was actually warm and hot tub was perfect. We did not use the complimentary bikes available but that is a nice perk. The location is outstanding. Lloyd Center, the Oregon Convention Center and numerous food options are all within walking distance. You are right off I-5 so day trips area breeze. If that isn't enough the street car is less than a block away. We did not eat in the restaurant so I can't say if it was good our bad. Definitely coming back here to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unknown_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zygmunt L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We think our location is ideal for anyone who wants to have easy access to anything Portland has to offer. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel Eastlund
#14 of 146 in Portland
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Convention Center
#78 of 146 in Portland
348 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $178 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing