We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun relaxing retreat to a fun and funky place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #10 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2011

My husband and I love this hotel. We stay here every time we come to Portland. The staff is friendly and rooms are clean. The decor is something like Jetsons meets the Mad Hatter. The decor of lighting and fused glass is beautiful and fun. I would highly recommend anyone stay here. The price may be considered a splurge but for us it's worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristinjamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

If the Jetsons did meet the Mad Hatter, would Astro and the Cheshire Cat get along? Ok, that’s
not really important. But what IS important is that we continue to meet your expectations for
a great stay every time you visit Portland. So if you need anything next go around, just let us
know! And thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 938 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2010

The Inn is a great find!! Its young staff are friendly and helpful to all ages. They offer free local newspapers, wi-fi in room, business center, breakfast, parking, room with a fully equipped kitchen, outdoor eating areas, and great local maps.

The parking is limited but they are right on a trolley line and the Inn gives free day passes for the trolley. The trolley serves a wide range of downtown Portland and NW Portland.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelersanonOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Thanks for letting everyone know about some of our great extras—we take pride in offering
that “little bit more” (actually, it’s a lot) that makes your stay more satisfying and fun. We’re
glad you had such a good time and that you took the time to write this review. Give us a call
the next time you’re in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed one night to meet with friends, to shop and go to ethnic restaurants. The motel is on the street car line and they gave us a free ticket, which we used. This street car line takes you to the Pearl District, Powells Books, downtown and clear to PSU. No need to drive and park downtown. We thought the 60's-70's color scheme and general ambiance was cool because we are old enough to remember those decades. We found the staff to be helpful. The room had a microwave, stove, and refrigerator, which was surprising for a reasonably priced motel for that area. The only thing I'd change is dropping the $4.95 fee to use the computer. Wireless was free.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubilado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2011

Isn’t Powell’s amazing? If you didn’t get the chance this time, be sure to check out the rare books room at some point. It’s open to everyone on the weekends and they have some amazing stuff in there. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and that the Inn’s location and transportation options allowed you to do everything you wanted to do! See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

A convenient location right on the trolley line so it's easily reached from downtown. Many interesting shops and restaurants within a few blocks walk. A modern room with two TVs and a comfortable bed. We were surprised to have a Wednesday eve wine reception with appetizers. A very adequate continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

We are glad you were here for one of our Wine Down Wednesday celebrations! This is a
weekly item we added last October and it has been a great success. We encourage anyone
who stays with us (or is thinking about staying with us) to ask our guest services team about
upcoming events at the hotel and in the neighborhood. There’s always something fun
happening nearby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We love Portland and looked for a hotel in the happening Pearl District north of Downtown. Alas, nothing there . . . but this place called Inn at Northrup Station popped up not too far to the west. Continental breakfast and suite for $135 (per night) closed the deal and we drove down from Seattle for a long weekend.

The hotel is recent and spotless, occupying a half block in the Northwest neighborhood, a bustling area of small to midsize apartment buildings and some light industry.

Decor is quirky and colorful and our roomy suite included a king bed, large flat screen TV and complete kitchen with range, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator. We landed on the third (top) floor over the parking lot in the rear, so plenty quiet at night.

The Inn is right on Portland's streetcar line (hence the name) which carries you through the Pearl and downtown Portland and on to the Oregon Health Science U complex south of downtown. Get free streetcar passes at the front desk. The Pearl district is an easy walk as well. But you might never make it there if you pause to explore the inn's Northwest neighborhood first.

The inn borders on 21st street (runs north/south), which has several restaurants including the excellent Wildwood, right across the street. Two blocks west is 23rd, which is lined with all the cafes, restaurants, bars, coffee shops and shopping needed to serve the 'hood. More shops per block and way more fun than downtown.

The continental breakfast was fine, with bagels, waffles, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit aplenty. No fitness center, but $5 buys you a pass to LA Fitness nearby. Bottom line: we've found our place in Portland, and highly recommend the Inn at Northrup Station.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodjudge44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

While every Portland neighborhood offers its own flavor and fun, we agree that finding plenty
to do right here in Northwest Portland is no problem at all. Thank you for this great review
(we love Wildwood too!) and the next time you visit be sure to give us a ring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,882 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $189 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing