We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,388)
Filter reviews
2,388 results
Traveller rating
1,441
547
238
105
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,441
547
238
105
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french press symphony suite chocolate shop turn down service historic hotel room service valet parking rooms are small wonderful hotel heart of downtown the location is perfect pioneer square street noise bed was very comfortable visit portland the pearl few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,922 - 1,927 of 2,388 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed at the Heathman Hotel for a short business trip recently and found it to be a very nice property, with a central location close to most to downtown Portland. My corner room was very spacious and quiet and the service at the hotel was attentive and efficient. Some nice touches included: a fine restaurant downstairs that serves a great breakfast with many healthy alternatives (Oregon blackberry and blueberry bowl with local honey, excellent oatmeal with nuts, berries, etc., and a good selection of green and black teas), they asked the night before check-out if I needed transportation the following morning and arranged a cab to the airport to be waiting outside at the appointed hour, and they provided free business and local newspapers in the restaurant at breakfast, and they have a small, but very good gym on the third floor that is outfitted with the latest high-end Precor machines (elliptical, treadmills, stairclimber, weight machine) and free Oregon apples.

There are many great restaurants in Portland now, including the Peruvian/Andean nouvelle American cuisine restaurant Andina, which makes great use of local Northwestern ingredients (salmon, mushrooms, other local vegetables) and South American staples such as quinoa. Many vegetarian options as well on the menu and at other restaurants.

You can cover most of downtown Portland on foot and streetcar easily from the Heathman and the staff is very helpful with directions. maps and suggestions of things to see. Be sure to stop by one or more of the many farmers markets in Portland, a listing for which can be found online. The largest is held on Saturday. Also, Portland has seen an explosion of food trucks, many of which are located on centrally located squares in the city. The trucks have a very wide variety of exotic and tasty foods from around the world and are worth a try for dinner, lunch, or a snack during the day (Thai, Korean, Indian, Japanese, Chinese, BBQ, Vegetarian dishes, almost anything). Most trucks are run by interesting, very passionate operators who are clearly not in it purely for the money, so quality is exceptionally good and there is actively competition among the trucks, so you get a great deal for your money along with a fun experience of trying something new.

For beer drinkers, Portland is close to nirvana (sorry Seattle, and other contenders), with some of the best micro-breweries in the country. The local Pinot Noir and Pino Gris wines are also internationally renowned.

Portland is a very green city and there is one of the largest rose gardens in the world (the International Rose Garden) in the park overlooking the city, which has been called "The Rose City". Well worth a trip there to see the wide variety of roses from around the world.

One note on transportation: Taxis to downtown run about $30-35 one-way (part of Portland's green initiative is to keep taxi fares high to encourage people to take mass transit, which is extremely clean, efficient and well run in Portland). So, take the convient trains and streetcars everywhere you can.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room--quiet and offers good views on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTraveled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear WellTraveled3,
Thank you very much for the great detailed review of our hotel and the city. You listed so many great points and I am sure your review will be helpful to many TripAdvisor readers. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed so much out our hotel and you had a chance to experience so much in our great city. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to write such an informative review.

Warm regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I loved the Heathman hotel. The location was great. We did a lot of walking in the area. The beds were comfy and the service was attentive. I had read Fifity Shades of Gray and they write about the Heathman in the books so I was really looking forward to seeing the hotel first hand. My husband has stayed here before on business and he was always happy there. I would definitely stay there again when in Portland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Mrsbof3,
I am thrilled that you will be staying again on your next trip to Portland. Thank you for the great review. Please feel free to contact me when you are coming to town and I will help you set up your reservations.

Kind regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Really, this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in across the country when you lok at the whole package. This place focuses on customer service and it shines through in everything they do from the turn-down service to the restaurant service. The only reason I rated it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the fitness facility is below standards for a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear MidwestGuy37,
Thank you for the great comments. I am so happy to hear that you enjoy the staff so much. I am very proud of our team and the service they provide. I am sorry you did not enjoy the fitness suite. We recently put all new equipment in there, but I know the size of the suite is limited some. We have a large full service fitness center across the street. When you stay again we can give you information on this facility. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review.

Best regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here three nights recently, and it was an overall excellent experience. Our room was well appointed, comfortable and quiet. The only annoyance was the small box of chocolates that was left wrapped with a bow on the dresser as if it was a welcome gift. It was not. Otherwise, the location is very central, easy walks or access to light rail and close to cultural centers. We would definitely stay at the Heathman again next time we are in Portlandia.

Room Tip: Deluxe king rooms have a sofa and seating area and better views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdotmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear pdotmail,

Thank you for your recent review – we appreciate your positive comments and hope to welcome you back again. We offer a variety of welcome gifts, depending on occasion or reason for travel, and the chosen Cacao chocolates for you were one of our welcome gifts – we are sorry they didn’t welcome you as we hoped they would. Please do let us know next time you plan to travel to Portland, we will make sure the visit is even better than the last!

Best regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Very sexy, comfortable hotel in the heart of downtown. The staff was professional and knowledgeable. The lobby longe and bar areas were fun with nice bar menus. Heathman restaurant one of the best in Portland.

Room Tip: Book driectly to choose the bed typre you prefer.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear canegirl,

We appreciate your unique and snazzy review! Thank you! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time and were able to experience the restaurant as well. Our staff prides themselves on being the ‘go to’ for Portland, and NW, knowledge – we are glad you had such nice, and professional, interactions. Feel free to contact us directly, next time you travel this way, and we would be happy to personally assist with your reservation.
Kind regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews