We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it”
Review of Gelinas Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gelinas Manor
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Came to do a little hiking on the AT. snow and no boots prevented that, so we mostly waited for the ice to go away. Breakfasts were served at 8:30 and were quite creative and good. The rooms were all a bit different. For lack of a better term, we stayed in the library. Spacious and comfortable. We were super glad to have a nice, warm, and inviting place to wait out the storm.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha-Snuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

I am hiking the AT and decided to stay at Gelina's Manor. When I arrived, I was not allowed to bring my backpack (my home for 6-months) inside. I was made to enter the rear of the home. Leo the owner showed me to my room and took the comforter off the bed when we entered. Two other hikers called while I was there and I over heard Gelina say "I'm sick of you GD hikers!" and hung up the phone. I packed my things and left.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank H2ocessna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gelinasmanor, Owner at Gelinas Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

After spending 6 months on the trail - we do not allow theses dirty packs in our home. true.
Removing the spread on arrival - also true
The balance of this review is so far from the truth that it does not warrent a reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The Gelinas Manor is a lovely old house in a historic town and is situated across the street from a pond and a park and is within walking distance of the Applachian Trail. Our room was spotless and the three course gourmet breakfasts were out of this world. Our hosts Lee and Kitty were gracious and helpful in obtaining us dinner reservations at a historic tavern in town. A lovely place to stay.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank cew718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Innkeeper was friendly on arrival but he never introduced himself so we weren't sure who he was. We didn't get a physical or verbal tour other than to room so we weren't sure which areas were public/private. Our room was fine, but so full of "victorian" memento's it felt crowded rather than restful. No hairdryer in bathroom & I felt uncomfortable asking for one. **Lots of chiming, chirping, bonging clocks keeping different times & intercom at 8:15am announcing breakfast. I slept ok, but my fiance' didn't sleep much. Mrs. Innkeeper made a delicious breakfast & was full of interesting (slightly risque') remembrances. If we were all sitting down that would have been fun, but she stood over the breakfast table & talked without pause, so breakfast wasn't that relaxing. We only stayed one night & we've stayed at no other b&b's in the area, so no comparison. I would recommend it to try, but I would probably try somewhere else next time. Main feature is it's across from boiling spring town is named for & it's a nice walk after breakfast or dinner at the Tavern.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 2l82w8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Victorian house, but room had old, uncomfortable contemporary style furniture. Bed was uncomfortable. Window air conditioner loud and ineffective. Hostess very rude. Breakfast small, bland, and ordinary. Better to stay at Allenberry or in Carlisle.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank artandnaturelover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gelinas Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelinas Manor

Address: 219 Front St, PO Box 100, Boiling Springs, PA 17007-9429
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Boiling Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boiling Springs
Price Range: $81 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gelinas Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reasonably priced B&B midway between Hershey and Gettysburg (Try the Chocolate and Experience the History) short drive to Pennsylvania Amish. Four trout fishing streams in the area. Carlisle is famous for collector car shows at the Carlisle Fairgrounds. Dickinson College, Messiah College, and Penn State - Dickinson School of Law. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gelinas Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing