We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still improvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liberty Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We stayed here for a large family birthday party /reunion. We not only used their facilities for that party but ate their restaurant, drank at the bar, used the swimming pool and golfed. The place was recently renovated and is trying to be an upscale four-season resort. The renovations are outstanding. The outdoor fire patio is a showpiece and might be the one thing to get us to come back. The golf course has a great layout and you can tell a lot of money has been poured into it recently but it's not to the level of golf I would expect for the price. You can tell a lot of money is being poured into this plus to improve it, but it still has a ways to go. Our room was great. The bartenders were outstanding. The indoor pool was very nice. This place has the potential to be great it just needs execution.The one thing that really ruined our trip I asked to check out 30 minutes later than the normal checkout because I was spending more money at the resort to golf after already dropping around $600 the day before between food, drinks, and room. I wanted to shower and change after my round of golf. They refused to accommodate my simple request. It was a Sunday and they had no large group coming in on Monday. I did talk to management about the problem after my round of golf. However, I already had to have my things removed from the room as the lady at the front desk so gracefully commanded us to do before my round of golf in the early morning. I think an 11:30 checkout time when the normal is 11 to spend more money is nothing that causes For the level of the resort they want to be and their prices they ask for, I found this to not just be annoying but uncalled for. I will give management credit for apologizing and agreeing this was unacceptable. I hope they do a better job training and empowering their staff to at least ask management if they can accommodate these easy requests before they just reject them.

Room Tip: The Fairway lodge is the newest building and overlooks golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibertyMountain, Public Relations Manager at Liberty Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry that our lack of accommodating a late check out tarnished an otherwise enjoyable stay. We really do try to accommodate all guest’s wishes whenever possible, and have reviewed this situation with our frontline staff. We are glad you enjoyed the new lodge and all our resort improvements, but we also strive to have our hospitality and guest service be the elements of the stay that our guests remember the most. Your feedback will help us achieve that goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2017

Just returned from a 3 day conference at this Resort. We have been going here for years and a couple of years ago they tore down and built the main building. The rooms in all the buildings are beautiful and clean. Beds excellent. Spotless! The food was absolutely delicious and with a generous breakfast bar, we ate too much but were happy!!! Crab cakes worth the trip alone. Staff was friendly and could not do enough for us. This place has it all. I can't wait until next year!!! (Hey, maybe I'll go during the summer for a little break!)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibertyMountain, Public Relations Manager at Liberty Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Laurance,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your conference and our staff is always so happy to serve your group. Every staff member from the hotel staff, to the catering team, to the conference services sales team, and even down to the breakfast buffet staff, are dedicated to making your trip flawless. We cannot wait to welcome you back next year, or perhaps a little earlier for a summer getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We arrived at 9:00 to tube, but they were sold out until 11:00, so we had to wait two hours. Come on, Liberty, you need online ticket purchasing for tubing. You already have it for skiing. It just doesn't make sense. We were so bored while we were waiting. It was a real bummer.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Westigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Liberty has such a great team and really cares about its guests! We've been riding at all the local resorts literally forever, and of all the smaller resorts they are by-far the best! Employees really love their jobs and you can tell. Management team doesn't seem to change much from year to year (good sign of well managed business!). Slopes are fun and backside feels much different than other areas near here. Only downside is no high-speed lifts, so if there is a crowd you can prepare to stand in line more than you'd like. Don't come out on weekday nights - night club card kids take over the entire resort and can lead to some frustrations and issues for sure. But overall still our fave place to be!

Room Tip: Request the new lodge unless slope-view is that important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

This was our first trip to Liberty Mountain with our 5 year old and twin almost 4 year olds. The hotel room was very modern, clean with comfortable beds. We enjoyed tubing which was lots of fun and our daughter had a ski lesson run through the children's center. All the staff at the resort were super friendly and we had a great time. We will definitely return at a time when there is more snow.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank NinjaTwins2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carroll Valley
6.2 km away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
466 reviews
18.0 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,599 reviews
8.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
295 reviews
14.5 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,112 reviews
13.7 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Address: 78 Country Club Trl, Carroll Valley, PA 17320-8550
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range: $180 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Mountain Resort is a four season resort located 8 miles south of Gettysburg, PA. Visitors to the resort will enjoy the beautiful mountain setting and multiple activities and amenities. The resort features skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing in the winter months, and an 18 hole championship golf course and huge mountainside outdoor pool in the summer. Year round, the resort's multiple picturesque venues and onsite restaurants and catering, make it the perfect location for weddings, conferences and social and business gatherings. Currently under construction and scheduled to open in the fall of 2015, the Highland Lodge will expand the resorts offerings to include 2 new restaurants, 17 additional hotel rooms and suites, an indoor pool and more social and meeting space. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing