We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for the Off-Season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liberty Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Stayed here for a wedding. Considering that this is a ski resort, I was very surprised at how expensive rooms were for this time of year - especially considering that the only guests seemed to be there for weddings. Since it was a relatively popular event weekend (there were two other weddings at the hotel the previous day), the only non-suite rooms they had available were double beds, which actually appeared to be slightly smaller than a standard-size "full" mattress - not very practical given that most folks travel as a couple and/or are used to larger-sized beds at hotels anyways.

The room was very clean, if not modern. The shower was configured strangely - there seemed to be no way to prevent water from getting all over the bathroom floor each time it was used. We also had some difficulties with the thermostat, causing the room to get very warm during the night. The walls/floors/ceilings must have been very thin, because we could hear other guests coming/going, talking, laughing and listening to music all night. (To be fair, this was probably exacerbated by the amount of celebrating taking place that particular weekend - however, the acoustics were such that it felt more like we had house guests than hotel room neighbors.)

Staff was pleasant and friendly on the few occasions we dealt with them. Overall, our stay was "okay." Not an exceptional experience, but certainly not a bad one either. It was very middle-of-the-road.

Room Tip: No elevator in the Alpine Lodge - be prepared for stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lindseym329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

The room was beautiful - clean and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and very informative. The pools and hot tub were great. The breakfast was delicious. The only criticism was that we were on the second floor and there were no elevators and we had quite a lot of luggage.

Apart from Gettysbury which was 15 mins drive away there was not a lot of places to eat in the vicinity and I felt the hotel restaurants were quite expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

I stayed here for a wedding this past weekend. I even purchased the room as part of a wedding package and for one night it was pricey. They charged my card on the day I made the reservation. I have never been charged by a hotel on the day of the reservation. I have only been charged after using the facilities. I asked and they just told me that it was "standard" practice. I do not agree. I travel a lot and have not had this happen before. I was disappointed with the price but figured that maybe it would be really nice. I was so wrong. I tried to get an earlier check in time because check in was at 3pm and the wedding was at 4pm. You'd think they would have earlier check in available for since the wedding is literally an hour after check in. That's not enough time to get ready if you've been traveling all day. Luckily I called ahead on the day of a couple of times and they were able to accommodate an earlier time for me. The room was updated that for sure but it was cheaply updated. There were dirty cups in the room when I checked in and when I showered there was hair ALL over the walls and floor. It was the first shower I had and I don't have that color hair, which tells me that the shower was never clean. The longer I stayed (which was only a night) the more I felt like they didn't clean the room. The screen to the porch was broken and a wasp looked like he was making a nest there. When I brought these issues up with the front desk all they said was "okay" and gave me my receipt. My parents were staying in a similar room that was older and far dirtier than the one I was in but cost about $50 more. This resort is obviously for the ski season, so you'd think that during the summer the prices would be a little better. I was sooooo disappointed with this hotel. I would not recommend staying here. If you need to come here for a wedding, there is a hotel down the road that only charges $80 instead of $200 a night. I wish I had just stayed there.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannaboo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

The view we had was absolutely beautiful! The rooms were nice, though expensive. My fiance and I were there for a wedding and everything turned out spectacularly! Would recommend to anyone in the area- or out of state like us!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank morganf400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We booked a room for a wedding in July, 2017. The room was very clean. The only complaint is that we were on the second floor and there are no elevators. The staff was willing to help with our bags but we were in a hurry to get to the reception. If anyone has trouble walking, you should request 1st floor. The reception was up the hill from the hotel but they had a bus that provided transportation. There are lots of steps to get to the venue but they had help for handicapped. You just needed to let the staff know. The food was great! Perfect place for a wedding reception.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skatergirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carroll Valley
6.2 km away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
466 reviews
18.0 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,601 reviews
8.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
298 reviews
14.5 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,116 reviews
15.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Address: 78 Country Club Trl, Carroll Valley, PA 17320-8550
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range: $179 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Mountain Resort is a four season resort located 8 miles south of Gettysburg, PA. Visitors to the resort will enjoy the beautiful mountain setting and multiple activities and amenities. The resort features skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing in the winter months, and an 18 hole championship golf course and huge mountainside outdoor pool in the summer. Year round, the resort's multiple picturesque venues and onsite restaurants and catering, make it the perfect location for weddings, conferences and social and business gatherings. Currently under construction and scheduled to open in the fall of 2015, the Highland Lodge will expand the resorts offerings to include 2 new restaurants, 17 additional hotel rooms and suites, an indoor pool and more social and meeting space. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing