We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to rest near from the sea, without amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 January 2018

The location it’s a wonderful place in the middle of a mountain, near from Bay San Juan del Sur (1.5 mi).
The personal in the reception are very nice and the restaurant´s waiters. But nobody helped us to carry on our stuff to the bungalows and we had to walk up hill.
The bungalow was very pleasant, quiet, very comfortable and equipped with a kitchen with all its stuff, a dinner table living room and Terreza.
Doors need maintenance
Amenities, a Restaurant with a varied menu, and a little pool front the restaurant.
There is not communication between the bungalows and the reception/administration or restaurant. You need to use your personal cellular to do a petition or question.

Exist a transfers between the Hotel and the Bay, part every hour.

Room Tip: The bungalow # 8, it´s near from de pool and, main building and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank enriqueg272016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017

The setting is gorgeous, the pool is great, and the villas are lovely inside. This should have been a great 3-day stay for my family, but was made stressful and disappointing due to a series of problems with our villa and lack of customer service from the hotel staff. I have lived in Nicaragua and so am experienced at Nicaraguan amenities - it's unreasonable to expect everything to be perfect, but for the high price of this resort, a higher standard of service and amenities need to be offered.

Problems with the villa: ant infestation, no hot water, and no water pressure in the downstairs shower. Otherwise, the villa was lovely with decent furnishings and a nice view of the town and ocean.

We stayed in villa 25, and there was a terrible ant infestation. They were all over our bathroom and crawled on us during the night. We told the hotel staff and they came in to clean, but the ants remained for the duration of our stay.
We had no hot water in the villa for the 3 days of our stay. They came to fix the hot water on the second day, but nothing changed. There was also no water pressure in the downstairs shower - it would not go above a tiny trickle.

Problems with customer service: Overall, there was poor service and communication.

Some examples:
They made us wait 2.5 hours to check in upon our arrival for a 3-day stay (we were 2 hours earlier than scheduled check-in time, but the resort was not crowded, our villa was ready, and they made us wait an extra half-hour after the official check-in time before they would give us the keys).

We checked in on Christmas eve and asked if there was a special meal available for Christmas for guests. They said yes, but that guests had to pre-book it and it was not available. We asked why we weren't offered the opportunity to sign up for this special meal since we'd made our reservation two months before, but they didn't have a good answer.

On our check-out day, they sent cleaners to our villa 2.5 hours before the official check-out time, who started cleaning and said that we needed to leave and check-out, although we were still packing and should have had access to the villa for another 2.5 hours.

For our departure, we arranged shuttles through the hotel. One shuttle was arranged to take 3 family members to one destination, and another shuttle was arranged to take 1 family member to the airport. The hotel mixed up the shuttle reservations and sent the shuttles at the wrong time and expected us all to be traveling to one destination together, which was a big hassle for my family to sort out at the last minute. I know that mistakes and miscommunications can happen, but for the high price we were paying for a private shuttle though the hotel, this should not have happened.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemur2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous setting on the mountain side with a lush spectular panoramic view. Large pool area with outdoor bar and dining area looking out to the expansive view. Beautiful spacious 2 floor villa with one bedroom and bath on each floor and full kitchen. Outdoor porch and balcony. Friendly staff and very good food. Short 10 minute shuttle van to the shore provided.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaspar G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for all your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We read reviews here on Tripadvisor regarding this hotel before our trip to San Juan del Sur. Many of those reviews characterized it as a housing community who rents villas while the owners are away. We did not get that impression from our stay.

The establishment has 50 of what appear to be nearly identical two-bedroom, two-bath villas. From the outside all of the villas appear to be the same configuration. Since we rented four different villas, we can definitely report that all four were constructed nearly identically inside as well. The only difference is that two of the four had the second (downstairs) bedroom locked, presumably for guests who want connecting rooms. If wouldn't be appropriate for someone only wanting to rent one bedroom, because the living area and upstairs bedroom are not locked (except for the main door and outside patio door, of course.) We booked four one-bedroom villas on the web site with one of the four to include two beds. What we received was MUCH better than that. Two of the four villas had two accessible bedrooms, so the party of two who needed separate beds were actually accommodated with separate bedrooms. Furnishings in all four villas were similar - again, if this were a housing community with different owners, there would be more variety in the furnishings. Furthermore, the furnishings are more than ample for a traveler's stay but far less than one would expect in a home owned by someone else.

The villas are generously spacious. In addition to the two bedrooms with two bathrooms, there is a large living area with seating for seven, a nice sized kitchen and a small table in the kitchen. From an outdoor patio with rocking chairs, you can enjoy the view of San Juan del Sur and the ocean.

The villas, and especially the bathrooms, were very clean, and it was the first time we had warm water for a shower since coming to Nicaragua eight days ago. It was also the first time for us to have air conditioning, so that was a welcome change of pace for the warm evenings.

I read reviewers calling the villas terribly expensive. That may be the case for the locals, but for a tourist hotel, we thought the prices were very reasonable.

It is too long a walk from here to downtown San Juan del Sur, so it would be preferable to have your own transportation. The property offers a free shuttle to downtown on the hour, but that does not allow for much flexibility.

Overall, a very good place to stay in San Juan del Sur!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank hsbvim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaspar G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks a lot for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Went here to spend the day at the pool and restaurant. The pool is very nice and a good size and clean. There were plenty of lounge chairs but none that you could lay on your stomach as they are curved for laying only on your back. Good selection on the menu but a bit pricey but it was good. Staff service was good and they are friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
2.7 km away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#24 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
331 reviews
7.8 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.3 km away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#7 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.8 km away
La Jolla de Guasacate
La Jolla de Guasacate
#1 of 1 in Las Salinas
44 reviews
5.3 km away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
72 reviews
5.6 km away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Resort Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Resort Palermo

Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: S$146 - S$295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Resort Palermo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, poolside spa, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Villas are for rent by the day, week or month, as well as for sale as vacation homes. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. Locally sourced, vegetarian, vegan, healthy and Nicaraguan meal service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Resort Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing