We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Posada Azul(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Veranera - Playa El Coco(Playa El Coco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HC Liri Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Selina Maderas(Playa Maderas)(Great Value!)
US$23
US$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Del Soul(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Rosa Nicaragua(Playa Marsella)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Dulce(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buena Vista Surf Club(Playa Maderas)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$365
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
201
92
27
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
92
27
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindividual villasdownstairs bedroomfull kitchenin townfree shuttlewedding coordinatorbedroom villasan juanfilet mignonstaff was very friendly and helpfula great place to stayrocking chairsshuttle servicepower outagepool area ishot waterrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The setting is gorgeous, the pool is great, and the villas are lovely inside. This should have been a great 3-day stay for my family, but was made stressful and disappointing due to a series of problems with our villa and lack of customer service from the hotel staff. I have lived in Nicaragua and so am experienced at Nicaraguan amenities - it's unreasonable to expect everything to be perfect, but for the high price of this resort, a higher standard of service and amenities need to be offered.

Problems with the villa: ant infestation, no hot water, and no water pressure in the downstairs shower. Otherwise, the villa was lovely with decent furnishings and a nice view of the town and ocean.

We stayed in villa 25, and there was a terrible ant infestation. They were all over our bathroom and crawled on us during the night. We told the hotel staff and they came in to clean, but the ants remained for the duration of our stay.
We had no hot water in the villa for the 3 days of our stay. They came to fix the hot water on the second day, but nothing changed. There was also no water pressure in the downstairs shower - it would not go above a tiny trickle.

Problems with customer service: Overall, there was poor service and communication.

Some examples:
They made us wait 2.5 hours to check in upon our arrival for a 3-day stay (we were 2 hours earlier than scheduled check-in time, but the resort was not crowded, our villa was ready, and they made us wait an extra half-hour after the official check-in time before they would give us the keys).

We checked in on Christmas eve and asked if there was a special meal available for Christmas for guests. They said yes, but that guests had to pre-book it and it was not available. We asked why we weren't offered the opportunity to sign up for this special meal since we'd made our reservation two months before, but they didn't have a good answer.

On our check-out day, they sent cleaners to our villa 2.5 hours before the official check-out time, who started cleaning and said that we needed to leave and check-out, although we were still packing and should have had access to the villa for another 2.5 hours.

For our departure, we arranged shuttles through the hotel. One shuttle was arranged to take 3 family members to one destination, and another shuttle was arranged to take 1 family member to the airport. The hotel mixed up the shuttle reservations and sent the shuttles at the wrong time and expected us all to be traveling to one destination together, which was a big hassle for my family to sort out at the last minute. I know that mistakes and miscommunications can happen, but for the high price we were paying for a private shuttle though the hotel, this should not have happened.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemur2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous setting on the mountain side with a lush spectular panoramic view. Large pool area with outdoor bar and dining area looking out to the expansive view. Beautiful spacious 2 floor villa with one bedroom and bath on each floor and full kitchen. Outdoor porch and balcony. Friendly staff and very good food. Short 10 minute shuttle van to the shore provided.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaspar G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for all your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We read reviews here on Tripadvisor regarding this hotel before our trip to San Juan del Sur. Many of those reviews characterized it as a housing community who rents villas while the owners are away. We did not get that impression from our stay.

The establishment has 50 of what appear to be nearly identical two-bedroom, two-bath villas. From the outside all of the villas appear to be the same configuration. Since we rented four different villas, we can definitely report that all four were constructed nearly identically inside as well. The only difference is that two of the four had the second (downstairs) bedroom locked, presumably for guests who want connecting rooms. If wouldn't be appropriate for someone only wanting to rent one bedroom, because the living area and upstairs bedroom are not locked (except for the main door and outside patio door, of course.) We booked four one-bedroom villas on the web site with one of the four to include two beds. What we received was MUCH better than that. Two of the four villas had two accessible bedrooms, so the party of two who needed separate beds were actually accommodated with separate bedrooms. Furnishings in all four villas were similar - again, if this were a housing community with different owners, there would be more variety in the furnishings. Furthermore, the furnishings are more than ample for a traveler's stay but far less than one would expect in a home owned by someone else.

The villas are generously spacious. In addition to the two bedrooms with two bathrooms, there is a large living area with seating for seven, a nice sized kitchen and a small table in the kitchen. From an outdoor patio with rocking chairs, you can enjoy the view of San Juan del Sur and the ocean.

The villas, and especially the bathrooms, were very clean, and it was the first time we had warm water for a shower since coming to Nicaragua eight days ago. It was also the first time for us to have air conditioning, so that was a welcome change of pace for the warm evenings.

I read reviewers calling the villas terribly expensive. That may be the case for the locals, but for a tourist hotel, we thought the prices were very reasonable.

It is too long a walk from here to downtown San Juan del Sur, so it would be preferable to have your own transportation. The property offers a free shuttle to downtown on the hour, but that does not allow for much flexibility.

Overall, a very good place to stay in San Juan del Sur!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank hsbvim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaspar G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Resort Palermo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks a lot for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Went here to spend the day at the pool and restaurant. The pool is very nice and a good size and clean. There were plenty of lounge chairs but none that you could lay on your stomach as they are curved for laying only on your back. Good selection on the menu but a bit pricey but it was good. Staff service was good and they are friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed here for three nights on our first trip to Nicaragua and were pleasantly surprised at the lovely accommodation in a 2 bedroom villa.

The reception staff spoke English but not many other staff did, which is fair enough, and I should learn Spanish if I come again.

The hotel had a great pool and a bar and restaurant, which is a bit pricey. There is an hourly shuttle into San Juan Del Sue for free, which is great, and will pick you up straight from whatever restaurant you have been to if you ask.

We were really lucky one day as a member of staff got on the bus and heard we were going to Rivas to catch the ferry to Ometope and offered us a lift as he was heading that way. In the end he took us right to the port.

Overall a great place but a good bit of Spanish would come in useful. The staff were very helpful indeed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews