We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
446
231
135
59
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
446
231
135
59
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor jacuzzigomersal parkfull body massageafternoon teaspa facilitiessteam roommassimo restaurantlovely sparelaxation roomoakwell hallevening mealwedding receptionlarge bathroomwedding venuegreat weekendone night staybuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

went on mothers day this year stayed one night.
spa was excellent, only thing there isn't enough space for sitting near the pool or to put robes went entering the pool.

rooms very dated but clean.
dinner was excellent, staff need to smile a bit.

Room Tip: don't have a room over the pool very noisey
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank margeYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin J, General Manager at Gomersal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and your comments.

Kind regards
Gavin Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We had a great time on the 14th renewing our wedding vows. staff was excellent and helpful. Our coordinator was fantastic throughout the whole project. Reading other reviews it is apparent these are isolated incidents and shouldn't deter anybody from booking at this hotel. This is the second time we have booked events here and have not been disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank jsmith3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin J, General Manager at Gomersal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review and congratulations once again on the renewal of your vows.

We look forward to your next event with us.

Kindest regards
Gavin Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

A whistle-stop one night stay on business, but I have to say it was a pleasant experience.

Nice big car park, really friendly staff, and a cracking large room. I have to say that some of the infrastructure of the hotel (i.e. corridors) let the side down by looking quite aged but the room was great.

The spa looked excellent but I never had chance to try it out. Maybe next time eh?

Room Tip: 105 was massive - more like a suite than a room
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lpspeshmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin J, General Manager at Gomersal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Gavin Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

So my husband surprised me with a day trip to the spa and it was amazing!! The ladies were so helpful and made us feel so at ease. They were very flexible with our booking as we had to alter our times slightly due to childcare, but when we did get there they showed us round, offered us some drinks. The afternoon tea was lovely and the therapists who did our deep tissue massage was phenomenal. I have never felt so relaxed in my life!! We cannot wait to book in again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lyndsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin J, General Manager at Gomersal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

What an amazing review, thank you so much!

We look forward to welcoming you back on the future.

Kind regards
Gavin Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

It’s hard not to write a subjective review in light of the terrible days stay we endured here on Friday the 6th October. I’ll try from the beginning ,being as honest as I can. Firstly when we arrived we went to check into the spa as we had booked a special “indulgence” day...we arrived around 11am and was pleasantly surprised when we were told our room was ready. Great start we thought. We went to our room 239 and when we walked in it felt like a sauna! Overdone it on the heating I thought,until I checked and everything was turned off! The heat was just radiating through the floor. I spoke to a member of staff to ask for a fan or portable air con unit...I was told they didint have anything to just open the window fully as that room “got the sun all day”. Opening the window fully did help,however the window was on a roof terrace and so we couldn’t leave it open whilst the room was unoccupied as anyone could just climb in the window. Undeterred we headed to the spa - minus our robe and slippers that we were told was waiting in the room, and was greeted at the spa by lovely staff - to whom it was no problem giving us our robe a slippers after we explained there was none in our room....we were shown around. The spa although nice and clean is a little odd. There is a small pool,that is locked in behind it own glass. There are no seats or beds/ loungers what so ever around he pool. Away from the pool is a “corridor “ and this is the best was to describe it. In this corridor is the main reception, a few chairs and tables, a eating area, a sauna,a steam room and a door to the outside jacuzzi ( to which is described as their “hydrotherapy pool” - it’s a jacuzzi . The only place to relax was in a separate room off the corridor...which was darkened and had 5 beds in there. In our package we had a 2 course lunch booked. A choice of 2 starters - soup and pate, and a choice of a few salad platters or sandwiches as a main. The starters were lovely ,the main was just a sandwich - cut into triangles with a bag of crisps on the side. Not unpleasant but it did feel like a children’s tea party. The staff and service were lovely though. We only spent an hour in the spa after lunch as there was just no where to chill inbetween going in and out of the various amenities they had. Our idea of a spa day usually consists of a bed around a pool all day...moving from one experience to the other...relaxing. You can’t do that here.
Upon leaving the spa, we headed to the hotel bar for a few drinks and sit down and chill. When we got there the room was full of wedding guests. It felt like we had just gate crashed a private function. We checked with reception, and indeed we was in the resident bar and the wedding guests were using that room until their private room opposite was set up for them. We had to wait 30 mins to get served...as there was only one bar staff on serving all the wedding guests. We did complain to the bar man, and he did say there should be someone else on helping him - but he didn’t know where they were. When we eventually got our drink....there wasn’t a single seat in the place not taken by the wedding party. We had to take our drink outside, which we soon got cold. We went back in and asked the barman if we could sit in the restaurant (empty restaurant attached to the bar) we were told no sorry not unless we were eating there! With that we took our drinks to our room. When we arrived to our room, it was truly sweltering hot. Again we opened the window to cool,but now the noise from the wedding party below just resonated up opening to the roof terrace and into our room. The room was clean and tidy, a few things were a miss like no toilet roll holder - toilet roll just left on the side of the sink, the shower screen was all of 12” inches long...so when you showered half the water ends up on the floor and walls and lastly the extractor fan had been isolated ( I manually switched it back on to find why it had been turned off in the first place - very very noisy ). With this we had our showers and headed back down ready for our 2course dinner. The bar area was a little quieter as the room adjacent had been setup for the wedding party now....however the wedding party were still using the main bar ( probably to avoid queuing in their bar ) and it seemed the place the parents sent their children to run around. At dinner time we were shown to our seat for our dinner. The food and the staff waiting on us were lovely...no complaints what so ever. We really enjoyed our meal and started at last, to relax. Upon paying our bill, we left the restaurant and we proceeding to leave the bar area, when the young lady who had initially shown us to our seat - but for the remainder of the time stayed behind the bar and had no interaction with us what so ever....she decided to “shout” over to us,in front of the wedding guests at the bar “ errrr are you paying by cash or putting the meal on your room”. My partner and I both felt embarrassed and it was just plain rude, basically accusing us of doing a runner. I politely told the girl that I had settled the bill in full thankyou. With this, and with the noise and general chaos of the wedding going on around us, we left the hotel and went to the local pub - the Scotland. Lovely little Yorkshire village pub - would recommend for a quiet drink and relax.
We got back to the hotel around 11pm with someone from the wedding party nicely vomiting right in front of our car! And broken glasses outside the main entrance. Inside was very voucious to say the least,with the wedding party in full swing. We decided to go to our room and chill. Again, we couldn’t sit or sleep in the room as it was so hot! And so had to open the window. We tried to relax and wind down in hope the wedding party would end soon and so to the noise. Around 1am it did quiet down a little,however this where all our troubles began. The wedding party guests were all in rooms around our room and started to come to theirs around 1. Only for the couple next door to one from us to start fighting. It was awful from this point onwards. Like a morning with jeremy Kyle. Guest proceeding to shout,swear...threaten to “kill” one another...hammering on each other’s doors. I called the night manager and asked him to sort this out immediately. He came up maybe 10 mins later with it all kicking off, and just asked them nicely to keep the noise down. They just ignored him and carried on. I spoke to him again around 2am,told him we had not had a moments sleep and were getting more and more distressed with them. Again, he would ask them nicely to keep the noise down. This wasn’t just happy people enjoying a wedding and being a little noisy...this was a full blown family kick off...swearing and screaming at each other. This pattern continued until 4 am...with the manager every 20 mins or so asking them to be quiet. At 4 am the manager was shouting through the door at them not to smoke in the room and to go outside. Low and behold 15 mins later the smoke alarms went off in our room. With that,we packed our things a proceeded to leave. We was greeted by the woman in the room with all the trouble - stood at her door hurling abuse at my partner and I! Her boyfriend was in the corner with the window open - smoking weed! And openly rolling and building another joint. The room stunk of weed. As we made our way out,we were greeted by the manager who was investigating the smoke alarm. I told him we were leaving,we hadn’t slept one minute and asked him why hadn’t he done anything about this...that he should have asked them to leave hours before hand...I also told him they were smoking drugs in their room and he needs to call the police. I also asked him to make sure the hotel manager rang us the next day to discuss this mess!
Well it is now Monday afternoon and we have heard nothing back from the hotel or any manager. It’s a total disgrace how they treated other guests that night. How the manager let us basically walk out at 4.20 am without a care to us. We gave them all numerous opportunities to put things right,but not once did any of the leadership attempt to do anything, and from Friday until now - still haven’t!
We have put our formal complaint in with the agents who we booked this special night with....a night of “indulgence” was the package we ordered....hopefully they can get us a full refund and apology from this hotel, as clearly the hotel management are not bothered one bit about the stress and exhaustion a stay at their hotel caused! They have all our details and have not tried to make any of this right.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin J, General Manager at Gomersal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

This has been dealt with directly with Spa Breaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews