We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Always Exceptional

I ride on the ELR with my family every couple of months, and every visit has been exceptional. One... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
janoyc
Absolutely wonderful, great place for a nice change, welcoming staff and service 10 out of 10

I visited ELR after not going for over 30 years when my kids were young. I decided to take a trip... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Amelya G
,
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Read all 1,999 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bury
from US$54.18
More Info
Reviews (1,999)
Filter reviews
1,999 results
Traveller rating
1,575
286
62
29
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,575
286
62
29
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flying scotsman steam engine east lancashire railway santa express city of wells bury station return journey murder mystery transport museum thomas the tank engine diesel gala dining experience course meal first class step back in time sunday lunch rover ticket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,999 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2021

Very enjoyable experience!! The steam train made an incredibly impressive entrance!! Lovely friendly staff, great gift job and cafe. Will definitely go again.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank susanhF86NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2021 via mobile

A real red carpet experience with super service and food and excellent staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the crisp white tablecloths and napkins, ‘silver service’ and beautiful furnishings made the day a special treat. Thank you to all!

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank Lordjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2021 via mobile

We had heard about the railway for several years but have never been . However, I baught a dining experience to celebrate my husband's birthday. What a surprise! The Pullman first class dining coaches were magnificent and very plush. The seats were luxurious as were the curtains and fittings. Our meal was terrific and much enhanced by the fabulous carriages. We'll certainly go again.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank Di1di
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2021

very good value £13 for a full line return journey, trains are in tip top condition and stations well kept. The journey is not too inspiring but there are stations along side the route in small mill towns. There were plenty of services today to enable a town hopping trip and fill in the best part of a day. All the volunteers are very friendly and make you feel welcome.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2021 via mobile

We visited whilst the Flying Scotsman was running on the line. The experience was very well organised and fulfilled one of our bucket list items to be pulled by the famous engine. Bury is easy to navigate and there are several parking options near the station. It feels like you have travelled back in time when you enter the station. A lovely experience of how things used to be. Also near to the Bury Transport Museum, so worth doing both at the same time.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank barticus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews