We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Cookham Dean B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Couldn't find any one on check in. Allocated room 4. Unhappy with the appearance and facilities. Reported problems to Andrew the manager who sorted it in a professional manner allocating us another room which exceeded expectations. Food here is fantastic modern bistro in style, cooked freshly to order, beautifully presented and worthy of any top class restaurant. Desmond and Dave are great chefs. The hotel is in a transitional period at present but all the staff are working hard to ensure you are kept happy. As a result most wines were not available but they will sort you out with something to your tastes. Also check availability on menu as some food items are limited. There was a slight lack of atmosphere in the hotel as it was so quiet when we visited and loud music does not compensate. I'm convinced that with all the good things on offer here, with time,and correct marketing the hotel will be a great success

Room Tip: Book a better quality room. half board to enjoy top quality cuisine take a sat nav to find hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveJan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctumTeam, Manager at Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you both for the wonderful comments, we have redeveloped our wine menu and you'll be pleased to know its much busier!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Best wishes

Dave, Des & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on the 30th September for 1 night with my husband as was attending a wedding near by and we really loved the place. I have to say I was really worried as I'd seen so many bad reviews but our experience was great!
We stayed in room 3 which was lovely, spacious and had a bath in the room, I had booked a smaller room (room 4) and when we checked it out we thought it was a bit small so asked if we could upgrade. The guy dealing with our booking couldn't have been nicer on arrival and over the phone when I booked and answered all of my many questions! He took care of booking a return taxi for us to the wedding and it turned up on time and the taxi company use Mercedes all very nice.
We were late waking up for our breakfast and even though it's supposed to finish at 10am they still very kindly served us a lovely fry up at 10:30.
All in all a great place to stay and would definitely go back so don't be put off by silly snobby reviews!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctumTeam, Manager at Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for the lovely comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for a weekend get away in the near future!

best wishes
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We got married at Sanctum on the Green in August. I unfortunately had to email with a list of complaints to do with our wedding, we have still not had any acknowledgement of our email, let alone a reply. The worst customer service I have ever experienced! I feel extremely let down that no one has even had the courtesy to contact us.

It is definitely not the venue that we fell in love with when we first booked our wedding. The venue is tired and needs some TLC. The manager was rude, unhelpful and had his 10 year old son doing all of the work. Our 'wedding planner' clearly couldn't plan anything, she seemed inexperienced and couldn't of cared less how our day went.

It really is such a shame as when we booked our wedding it was perfect. Our day was still amazing down to our friends and family, however I would not recommend this as a venue for a wedding.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank seren_foxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Having been here in the past for a wedding and 50th we were expecting good things.
Table booked for 8.30pm using on line booking tool. When we arrived they said "oh yes we'd been told there was one booking this evening" as if it was a rare event.
Very sadly The Sanctum has lost its spark. There was just no atmosphere, even though it was a Saturday night it was empty.
Once we asked for menus they were uninspiring We were then told there was no fish of the day, no prawns/shrimps (which were in 3 dishes), all rocket would be replaced with watercress and finally the rump steak had run out.
We had ordered single g&ts that came half filled in old scratched glasses, they were flat and very expensive.
It didn't take long for us to decide not stay for dinner after all and go elsewhere.
All in all a very disappointing experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Applepippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The rooms were dirty. The door handle came off in my hand when I opened it. The pool looked murky and you need injections before you got in it. The blinds in the room were broken, there was no hot water all weekend and there was no restaurant facilities in the evening to have a meal. I was really disappointed with our stay

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GodivaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

We are extremely sorry that your stay was not what expected. As we had explained there was an emergency issue with the boilers that we attempted to rectify during your stay, but unfortunately were unable to do so. In regards to the cleanliness of the rooms and the pool, we maintain the highest standards and our housekeepers are extremely diligent. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay though - the happiness and comfort of our guests is a priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookham Dean
2 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
4 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices

Been to Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel

Address: The Old Cricket Common, Cookham Dean SL6 9NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Cookham Dean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cookham Dean
Price Range: $144 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Group , Sanctum Hotels and the Godiva Leisure Group bring opulence to the centre of England's poshest country address with Karma Sanctum on the Green - one of, if not the best, hotel near Windsor. Karma Sanctum on the Green offers guests an exclusive, luxurious stay in the English countryside. The beautifully appointed property's nine guests rooms, traditional British bar and dining room, outdoor heated pool, enclosed spa, and a range of luxury ‘glamping’ tents make Karma Sanctum on the Green perfect for weekend escapes, midweek romantic getaways, or extended country sojourns year round. The heart and soul of our hotel, the Godiva House Dining Room & Bar presents the very best in traditional British cuisine, served with a modern twist. Karma Sanctum on the Green is ideally located in the picturesque village of Cookham Dean. One of the most easily accessible hotels near Windsor and Maidenhead, we’re a short 25-minute drive from Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Karma Sanctum on the Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum On The Green Hotel Cookham Dean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing