We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bull Inn at Streatley(Streatley-on-Thames)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Streatley on Thames(Streatley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Pangbourne)
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
George Hotel(Wallingford)
US$182
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
223
198
106
61
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
198
106
61
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorengoverlooking the riversuperb locationthe ground floorevening mealbar areastayed for one nightstreatleyweddingrenovationlock
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 627 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Stayed one night on buisness great size room very comfortable views over the river are amazing had an evening meal in the restaurant very good choice of food and reasonably priced but drinks are not cheap probably one of the nicest places i have stayed in the uk.
Let downs
No airconditioning in any of the rooms so it was stiffling
Bar shuts early i was told it stays open for residents but the night porter said not.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mickholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2016

Hi Mick,

Great review, many thanks. The Thames view is indeed fantastic and we're pleased to know you enjoyed your evening meal. Sorry about the let downs & we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Michal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Our stay was for one night only but in that short time it was clear that The Swan is a super hotel right on the banks of the river Thames and alongside the bridge between Streatley and Goring-on-Thames. The recently refurbished rooms were large and very comfortable and we had a view overlooking a small tributary of the main river that could be seen from the grounds. The staff were friendly and very helpful; the dinner menu, whilst not comprehensive, gave sufficient choice and the food and presentation were excellent. Breakfast was the modern typical diy buffet but again excellent and as the dining room overlooks the river, it made a great start to the day. Without doubt, should we be in the area again, we would be very pleased to stay at The Swan and, hopefully, for a longer time.

Room Tip: The larger rooms with river views are very good
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2016

Hi John,

What a great review - thank you! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Michal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Visited with work colleagues for a few drinks one evening, drinks not cheap but stunning location for socialising. We used the outside seating areas due to the sunny weather. I would have no issues returning here again if in the area. The riverside location of this business provides an excellent backdrop.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boiywlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Hi,

Many thanks for your review. Great to know you and your colleagues had a good time. Soon, you'll also be able to enjoy drinks in our fabulous new bar by the Gym & Spa.

Best Regards,
Michal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Stayed here a few times before as it's a great location, but found the rooms a little tired and service a bit too stiff and impersonal. Just recently stayed for a couple of nights and was hugely impressed with improvements all around. The refurbishment still far from finished, but the new rooms are stylish & spacious with comfortable beds and wonderful Thames views. Very good breakfast served by pleasant and efficient staff. Good selection of wine and nibbles and generally nice casual atmosphere on the riverside terrace. Haven't tried the new gym, but had a peek and all equipment seems top quality. Hats off to the staff & management. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room on the first floor, the views are simply amazing.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Hi Johny.

Amazing review, thanks a lot, its much appreciated and have passed onto the hard working teams here. It's great to know you're impressed with our recent improvements and I guarantee there is plenty more on the horizon! The gym equipment is indeed top spec, you should definitely try it next time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Michal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary on arrival all seemed ok well the pre authorisation on card is s bit weird we went to our room which was unfinished the bathroom still needed things finished off like the grouting on the tiles the toiletries are of poor quality. We only had breakfast at the hotel as food is very expensive and after our first breakfast visit we really would not want to be served by the staff for other meals as service is a shambles and all over the place. The hotel then proceeded to take £320 from my account even though they pre authorised my card so the money was sat in there account plus the £320 I'm now having to argue for the pre auth back. This hotel is not professional at all I would not recommend this hotel at all....

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lovesthesunBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews