We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:15 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Still one of the best tours around

This is the first time i have done the tour in nearly 20 years and it was my wifes first tour- we... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
williammarks
,
Ashington, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fantastic couple of hours

Absolutely amazing. You see the products being made, not just rock but chocolate and biscuits too... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Furbyfamily
,
Hayle, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 377 reviews
  
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
174
104
48
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
174
104
48
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscuits fudge rainy day sweet shop value for money letter sweets roll children activity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2021

My review would be pretty much what Maria H wrote August 2021. Not a tour. Very very boring waiting around in the rock room for a bit of rock to roll out that we chucked away anyway because not convinced on the hygiene of the rolling area. Not a great deal to see. It's a working factory and you can see it all in five minutes. Kids were unimpressed. Shop is fine for a visit but I don't recommend the 'tour'

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2021

We booked a tour and rock rolling as the last part of our trip to Bridlington. The first mistake is calling it a tour - I'd expected to be shown parts of the factory and have the process explained to me/us. What actually happened was quite a large 'tour' group was sent into the rock making room where we watched staff making rock with very limited explanation of the process, it was so noisy (understandably for a working factory) we could hardly hear anything that was shouted to the group. It was really hot, and we had to stand there watching the same room (given a couple of samples to taste in the meantime) for about 40 minutes whilst we waited for our rock to roll. Once that arrived we rolled it for a couple of minutes, then moved on to see display boards and biscuits being packaged. The shop at the end was OK, and the ticket wasn't very expensive, I just found it a bit bizarre and a long stand about on a red hot day for a chunky stick of initial rock that we threw away when we got home because it was so big.

Date of experience: June 2021
1  Thank mamandladontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

On Monday 2nd August we paid £14 for a family ticket but not the extra £1.50 each for rock rolling and consider it a waste of time and money. We visited a couple of years ago and was delighted to be told how the rock was made how the letters are put in the rock and what all the machines and tables were for this time we were not told anything and just stood watching the other 15 or so folk in the tour, our grandchildren were extremely disappointed as we had told them how interesting it was going to be. After 25 mins we were moved along passing some information boards and into the biscuit making part again nothing to see then passed the chocolate making window and into the sweet packing part again nothing explained although we were offered a sweet from a packet, this was the only sample offered last time we were offered a couple of biscuits and a couple more sweets, you can imagine how disappointing it was to be a 10 & 7 year old expecting to learn more. You end up in the shop where you are expected to spend money on the biscuits, sweets and rock not even at discount. We had planned to go 2 more times this week with other grandchildren but will save our money. I know due to Covid things have been hard for businesses but it has also been hard for families too. Don't waste your hard earned money!!!
We popped into the cafe to get an ice cream but left empty handed as the 2 girls staff were sat one end doing nothing and didn't even acknowledge us.I did send John Bull Rock Factory an email but had no reply.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank GrandmaB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2021 via mobile

dissapointed....limited flavours...lady on counter was lovely though...got home and spearmint rock was soft...thought buying from the actual shop would mean rick would be fresh

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank DEBSANDANDYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2021

All the factory. was good. You should not be carrying reviews 8 yers old.. It is unfair to carry reviews so out of date.

Date of experience: June 2020
Thank S1627MCjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews