We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
75
67
34
21
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
67
34
21
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valley lodge on site new owners games room tennis courts manor bar family holiday donkey park sunday lunch pool party upstairs balcony great holiday table tennis modern kitchen improve things out of season welcome pack
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We arrived here last week after a 6 hour drive down with 2 young children and a dog so we're pretty exhausted! We were pleasantly surprised by our lodge, it was clean and had a welcome pack with tea & biscuits and a folder full of information from the owner, including where the local
Amenities and doctors were!
As it was getting late, we decided to go to the onsite restaurant for dinner. Food here is really great, impressive portion sizes and good, hearty pub grub.
I was however, annoyed when the owner told me to 'control my children', as apparently they were running loose in the car park (we were playing chess outside as there is a large chess set and there were 4 adults watching them- I'll admit they were reasonably loud after being cooped up in a car all day and the excitement of arriving at their holiday home), however there was only one other couple in the pub!
The location is quaint and quiet, lovely setting in the woods and we had the added bonus of a hot tub! Near to local amenities and big towns, we spent the day in Looe which was only about 30 minutes away- a great day out for everyone.
The holiday park has an indoor pool and outdoor, both were clean and well maintained and we enjoyed the outdoor pool in the sunshine at a good temperature! There is also a games room and gym (we didn't use either).
All in all we had a lovely, quiet, family break.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank hannahanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diesel122, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Hello Hanna

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves.

We are however, Sorry that you felt you had to post on my husband's comment in the bar, we do have a duty of care to our patrons and he had located your little ones at the front of the manor house and returned them to you by the chess set around the side, he cannot remember asking you to keep control of them but did ask that they be kept an eye on as there was cars driving about as it was an arrival day and the area was busy with vehicles.

Very pleased you enjoyed the food, lodge and hot tub and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Wow what an amazing place, we had a lodge and it was spotlessly clean and everything we needed. We ate in the onsight pub twice and food was good both times. We found them very friendly and they welcomed the dog in even when he was barking. The pools are great and both very clean and warm. We had the outside pool to ourselves a few times. The tennis courts could do with new nets but that didn't stop us enjoying them. Good Base for exploring both Devon and Cornwall x

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Hev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diesel122, Front Office Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi Hev

Thanks for taking the time to review - Your lovely dog had a lot to say and we were very happy to have him. Honicombe is very dog friendly and we hope that he enjoyed his stay as much as you have. So pleased that you enjoyed the facilities we have on offer too.

Look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future

Best wishes
All at Honicombe Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Having read a couple of other negative reviews we were a bit anxious before we arrived but Honicombe Manor proved to be an ideal spot for a family holiday. The lodges were comfortably furnished (one with a hot tub) and clean, the indoor and outdoor pools immaculate, the games room ideal for older children to escape the adults (!) and the food at the restaurant delicious. Lots of outdoor space for the children to explore and play in. The staff were all friendly and helpful, a couple of issues very quickly and efficiently dealt with. Thoroughly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to one of the larger lodges nearer to reception.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

After a 5 hour drive we were pleased to walk into what would be our home for the following week.
The lodge had everything, wash liquid, tea bags for that first brew, towels and even a caffetiere for fresh coffee.
Although a small kitchen, it had everything we could have needed and more.
The beds were comfy with one of the two bathrooms having dual entry from the master bedroom and hallway. Lovely views from the living room.
Extremeley private but got a sweat on lugging all of the luggage from the car.
We travelled with our puppy(6 month old) and was very pleased that he was allowed into the small bar/restaurant on site.
We ate Sunday lunch there which was really good with generous servings. cost £43 for 4 adults with drinks.
The on site pool was great with the added bonus of sauna.,
Back at the lodge the hot tub was well used and probably would have had mor use if the weather had been a little better.
Tamar train line just around the corner, not quite walking distance for me, but 2 minute drive,

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diesel122, Front Office Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hello Tracey

Thank you for your lovely review - we wish we could have arranged some sunshine for you too. This week is amazing

Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Loved the pup - it was a pleasure to meet you all !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We had a brilliant week, even though the weather wasn't the best, we had a brilliant property, no 10 Tamar, beautifully furnished to a high standard with fantastic views, the site was lovely and peaceful and apart from one person, the staff were lovely. Couldn't keep the kids away from the pool but we managed to venture out to other places, would love to return

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genee914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diesel122, Front Office Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - we strive to be the very best we can be and hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews