We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday home Tamar6”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Tamar 6, which is a lovely holiday home. Clean, comfortable and modern with absolutely beautiful views from the balcony and very large windows.
The site is being improved by the current owners which I believe are owners of some of the holiday homes. The swimming people is great for all the family but the changing areas and showers need upgrading.
The pub/restaurant is great, the food plentiful, reasonably priced and good and the staff are very pleasant.
You need a car to get about. Being on the border of Devon and Cornwall there are lots of places and things to do. Cotehele National Trust property is only a few miles away and is well worth a visit, as is a ride on the train from Gunnislake to Plymouth, a very picturesque journey over the viaduct. Healey cider farm is about forty miles away and again is a great day out for all the family.
There is no wifi in the properties but mobile signal is good.
Overall a great place to stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LancashirePolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diesel122, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to review us, most kind.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We booked a lodge from a private owner and when we turned up we could not believe the excellent condition inside and out. The amenities on site although it's getting out of season were good. On our first night we had a meal in The Manor House which was ok for the money but a little disappointing . We did not like the idea of eating in a area with dogs about but if it works for them it ok. The staff were friendly and helpful, the internet connection kept coming and going and in the days of modern technology it would be great if the wifi was better and available around the whole site. We will definitely come again next year hoping to see if they improve anything .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PETER T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We've just returned from a fantastic week staying at Honicombe Manor. Yes, as others have said there are parts that would do with a little updating but overall we loved it! The staff make this place brilliant. They are all so helpful and friendly. The food in the bar was very good and we ate there on 3 occasions. The lady on front reception went above and beyond to get us any information we needed. The outdoor pool, while small, was clean and heated and the kids were in there every day. The games room is great but would benefit from some new bats and cues. It is very steep in parts but it's in a valley, so this was expected! On the whole we had a wonderful holiday and visited Looe, Port Isaac, Boscastle and the Eden Project. Looe is probably the closest, easily accessible beach but get there early as the beach is small and gets packed, especially on Bank Holiday Monday. It's a great seaside town though with excellent crabbing and lots of places to eat and many gift shops. You MUST try the pasties and saffron buns!
A few miles away is Calstock and I loved the view from there. A lovely spot for lunch by the river Tamar with picnic benches, a small play area and huge ducks!
Honicombe Manor is a great place to use as a base for seeing this wonderful county and then returning for some good food, a pint of cider and a cool down in the pool. Wifi is hit and miss BUT we actually all benefited from some internet free time and it was a blessing not to have a beeping phone for a week! The children's pool party was a great hit with our girls but please bring more inflatables next time so that all the children get a go. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank smartsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diesel122, Front Office Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi there

Thank you for a lovely review and your constructive criticism too - New bats on order ! Terri and Suzanne are a true asset on reception and we were so pleased to read that you appreciated their efforts - they are both relatively new to the park and are proving their weight in gold.

So please that you liked the bar too - we are also happy to report that WIFI is on it's way to 62 lodges so please keep an eye out on that one - although we do agree it is sometimes nice just to "switch off" More things planned so we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

I stayed here with my family in Aug 2017 the lodge was lovely but the timber could of done with a good painting, there was plenty of room for the 7 of us not to get on each other nerves! We visited some lovely places St Issacs was about an hour away and Plymouth about half an hour, Fowey is around half an hour and is beautiful.the lodge we had came with a hot tub which was great, the club does meals and also takeaway, the chips were lovely About a 10 min walk is the donkey sanctuary which was nice but I thought expensive about £7 but it is a charity. Would def stay here again very peaceful with a little stream running by the side of lodge .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Arrived for a lovely family holiday and what a great time we had. Once we had finally managed to get into our lodge - temperamental key safe which took us 10 minutes to get into, didn't help we were originally given the wrong code - to find a warm, welcoming, well-equipped lodge and we were looking forward to our stay. Four good sized bedrooms, one en-suit and one bathroom. Disappointed with view and it was advertised as a view of the Tamar Valley but you could only see it by standing in the very corner of one part of the balcony. Downstairs felt damp particularly after the four of us had all had showers - two on first night, two on first morning. Tesco a 10 minute drive away. Carpenters Arms and Cheesewring Hotel both great restaurants we would recommend. Facilities on site good. WiFi connection at the pub was poor. Hot tub was great and having only arrived home yesterday is already being missed. Some of the local costal towns are poor with little to do including Saint Austell and Babbacombe. Recommend a visit to Babbacombe model village and Paignton

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryTourist97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diesel122, Front Office Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hello

Thank you for your review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. We will pass your comments about the key press to the maintenance team and we hope that this has been fixed. The view is spectacular from that area of the park unfortunately, we can actually hear the trees growing and when in leaf can sometimes obstruct a view. We have some charming towns and villages which are not quite as far as St Austell and Babbacombe such as Tavistock with it's pannier market and beautiful flowing riverside walks. The historic village of Calstock where the soap "Delicious" was filmed are also worth a visit . The bar's WIFI is being dealt with as we speak with the long awaited introduction of superfast broadband. Hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callington
17.8 km away
Elfordleigh Hotel
Elfordleigh Hotel
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
455 reviews
33.9 km away
Hengar Manor Country Park
7.7 km away
Cadson Manor
Cadson Manor
#1 of 11 in Callington
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Polhilsa Farm
Polhilsa Farm
#4 of 11 in Callington
35 reviews
12.2 km away
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 11 in Callington
16 reviews
4.6 km away
Compton Park Caravan & Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort

Address: St Anns Chapel, Callington PL17 8JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Callington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Callington
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honicombe Holiday Park is now under completely new ownership. The new management company (Honicombe Ltd.) took over the site on 17 August 2012, was formed by a group of Honicombe holiday property owners and is committed to improving the site and its facilities in order to enhance the experience of visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honicombe Manor Hotel Callington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing