We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of Turnpike Inn

Turnpike Inn
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: .
Reviewed 9 August 2021

Friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. The food was of a good standard and certainly plentiful.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank louisecH7821UO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

The Turnpike has an incredibly large range of meals, with something for everyone. With very polite and friendly staff, tables able to seat 2 to 8 people and some of the most immaculate toilets I've ever seen at an pub; the Turnpike Inn is an excellent place for a sunday roast, breakfast or supper and I came back twice in one week! They're chips are the best around in my opinion.

5/5 stars

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank BenLane2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

In the small village of Connor down not far from Hayle a lovely pub which has seen a recent change of management. We were recommend this place for Sunday lunch and it didn’t disappoint. Plenty of fresh veg and a range of portion sizes. If you can manage a dessert good on you. What was most outstanding amount this venue was the staff. The girls were exceptionally polite very attentive and really seemed to care what they were doing to make your visit enjoyable. We booked to,go again the following week for a birthday dinner and again the food Steak and chips was very tasty and well cooked to our requirements. Thank you Turnpike we will return again especially as our dogs were made just as welcome.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank 259gcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2021

This used to be a pub we used quite often, as we live not too far away. The previous landlord had built it up over the years to a good pub with excellent food.
We had Sunday lunch today and were frankly, disappointed. My wife ordered a Peroni, and when it came it was just an opened bottle - no glass. When she asked for a glass it came full of ice: but no lime as ordered.
The lunch was a carvery. The meat was tender, but the potatoes and vegetables were overcooked, and warm rather than hot.
It’s a shame - they are obviously trying; and getting experienced hospitality staff at the moment is a nightmare. However they need to up their standard, as they will lose local trade otherwise. Hope it improves.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank davidsi2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

Used to be a very welcoming pub but been taken over by new licensee not welcoming at all. The food was very bad won't be eating in there again very sad as it was a very lovely friendly place to go when holiday in cornwall the previous licensee were such lovely welcoming couple

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank kyanalbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Turnpike Inn also viewed

 

Been to Turnpike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.