We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners. Bad Review.”
Review of Turnpike Inn

Turnpike Inn
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: .
Reviewed 23 August 2021

It seems all the bad reviews below are since the new owners took over and I can see why.

We are a local, l enlarged family and often visit local pubs and restaurants throughout the west of Cornwall for birthdays, fathers days etc. and have always left good reviews on here because 99% of the places we visit are superb.

We have been to the Turnpike before and loved it so we thought we would try it again. bad move. We were greeted when we arrived and informed the staff that the rest of the family were trying to find somewhere to park. We were seated. Four minutes later we were asked if we were ready to order because there were other guests arriving soon. We were not asked pleasantly but rather rudely. We told the lady concerned that we were only 4 minutes late in sitting. She reminded us twice that we needed to order soon because the chef had too much to do. Not a pleasant start to the occasion.

The food eventually arrived almost an hour later.The young girls were pleasant enough but we never saw sight nor sound of the so-called landlady again. I think she went in hiding.

The food arrived in dribs and drabs, so while we were waiting for the final plates to arrive (there were 9 of us) the other food was getting cold. Three of us had chicken curry. The sauce was devoid of liquid and extremely dry and tasteless and had obviously just been microwaved. When the scampi finally arrived for one of our guests it was noted that the scampi was obviously frozen and also just been microwaved. Once the batter was cut with a knife it was seething in water. It was left on the plate to avoid food poisoning.

During our visit not one member of staff came and asked if the food was ok. This is a critical part of good service and totally void in this instance. The food and drinks were served to us by a couple of young girls who were pleasant enough and the only redeeming factor of the evening.

On leaving we were desperate to see the landlady so we could profess our disappointment with the food and service however once again she was not in the mood to receive our wrath and remained hidden from sight.

We are glad to have this opportunity to display our disappointment of the Turnpike Inn, (which used to be such a lovely establishment to visit), so that we can warn others of how much it has changed and to avoid it like the plague.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank bazpascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

Table was booked for 6.30 … half the party arrived at 6.25 .. we sat at our table thinking we could have a drink before our food. 6.35 the landlady comes over and told us we should have ordered at 6.30 as the chef wouldn’t be able to cope. We said the table was booked for 6.30: how would we be able to order by 6.30? There was no niceties- she was really rude - in fact she was so rude I thought she must have been joking. No she wasn’t …. Food wasn’t much better. We are locals that will not be going back!

Date of visit: August 2021
3  Thank 316zoec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

We had started to think there weren't any good food pubs in Hayle when we found The Turnpike.
We all ordered different meals and were all very impressed, couldn't fault the food at all. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating and went the extra mile to even provide a cushion for the chair as our little girl wanted one. They were so friendly and we will definately be back now we know its there for our holiday next year.

Many thanks to all the team.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank A6352XLvictoriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

Found an absolute diamond of a pub on holiday in Cornwall the owners and staff are second to none we felt like we had known them for years as they made us so welcome and the food is to die for .nothing was to much trouble for the young staff and so professional.
The pub has a beautiful large beer garden out the back and the front is so pretty full of beautiful flowers and plenty of seating .
This is an establishment not to be missed so if you are ever in hayle Cornwall don’t miss out on this wonderful pub ,staff and glorious food ❤️

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank SiobhanF157
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at The Turnpike Inn on Sunday. We were a large party of 9 people booked in for the carvery. We arrived half an hour early and the staff were very accommodating, our table wasn’t ready, but they found us a table to sit at and have a drink, they couldn’t have been friendlier.
The carvery was absolutely delicious, we had the choice of a large or small and the choice of meat, vegetables and sides was excellent, delicious home cooked food. All 9 plates were clean at the end of the meal, we loved it!
Thank you very much to all of the team.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank nikkiangell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Turnpike Inn also viewed

 

Been to Turnpike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.