We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”
Review of The Cornish Oven

The Cornish Oven
Ranked #78 of 119 Restaurants in Helston
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Description: The Cornish Oven has shops in Helston, Camborne, Pool, Illogan and Penzance and serves a range of breakfast, lunch and snack options. As well as our handmade Cornish pasties, vegetarian options, hot savoury snacks, sandwiches and salads are available. We also serve freshly made hot drinks which go perfectly with our delicious cakes and patisseries.
Restaurant details
Description: The Cornish Oven has shops in Helston, Camborne, Pool, Illogan and Penzance and serves a range of breakfast, lunch and snack options. As well as our handmade Cornish pasties, vegetarian options, hot savoury snacks, sandwiches and salads are available. We also serve freshly made hot drinks which go perfectly with our delicious cakes and patisseries.
Reviewed 12 November 2017

The second time of buying pasties at the Cornish Oven in Helston was a little disappointing. The pasties were incredibly peppery(couldn't eat mine!) the meat was in big clumps, and not spread out throughout the pasty, and they weren't very warm at all Come on Cornish Oven you can do much better than this. We will give you another chance when we next drive down from Exeter, and fingers crossed you will be back to your normal standard.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank Pianoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurkoMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Cornish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Hi Pianoqueen, Thank you for letting us know about your experience when buying a pasty at our Helston shop and we apologise for the delay in responding. Mr Williams the owner of The Cornish Oven was passed your comments and has consequently discussed them with our pasty making department. We always appreciate hearing from our customers and we're sorry that you have been disappointed - as we never like letting anyone down. Thank you for giving us another chance to impress when you're next in Helston as we do really value your custom. Wishing you a merry Christmas from everyone at The Cornish Oven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Yummy best pasty ever
My daughter use cornish ovens all
Ways
If i want a great pasty go and try them yourself
The smell of them cooking cripples youre tummy until you get one to eat
My favorite is cheese but my husband and kids like steak
Thanks

Thank Gwenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurkoMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Cornish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

H Gwenn J, Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to leave us a review. It makes us so happy when we hear how much customers enjoy our pasties and it sounds like they are very popular with your family. We appreciate your feedback about being 'the best pasty ever', it has made our day. Regards The Cornish Oven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Title says it all really. These are the best pasties in Helston by a large margin.
Always perfectly seasoned, baked to perfection.

Thank McSleeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurkoMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Cornish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi McSleeve, Thank you for the lovely review and 5* rating. It's great to receive your comments regarding how much you enjoy our pasties. We really appreciate your custom and hope to see you again soon. Regards The Cornish Oven Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I stop at Cornish Oven quite often to get a pasty or snack. Their pasties are consistently good, and the filled baguettes are just wonderful, so superior to the sandwiches on offer at nearby stores. The coffee is very good too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 957Lizm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurkoMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Cornish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi 957Lizm, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on our Helston shop. It's lovely to receive your feedback on our pasties and baguettes and to hear how much you enjoy them. We really appreciate your custom and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards The Cornish Oven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Always fresh products and plenty of choice.Has it's own car park which is a bonus as you can pop in at any time without worrying where to park

Thank Marta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurkoMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Cornish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Marta E, Thank you for your 5* rating and for taking the time to leave our shop in Helston a review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoy our products and that you find our free parking so convenient. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards The Cornish Oven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cornish Oven also viewed

 

Been to The Cornish Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing