We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service.”
Review of The May Tree

The May Tree
Ranked #38 of 119 Restaurants in Helston
Price range: US$7 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Whether you're looking for a quick snack, a leisurely meal, a celebration with friends and family, or a business meeting with colleagues, we've got the table and menu for you. You can lounge on our comfy sofas or dine in our cosy alcoves. Or even have a meal in one of our private dining spaces. At The May Tree you can enjoy our great menu which serves up something tempting for every occasion. From traditional to contemporary, steaks to salads, you'll find a meal to suit.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As we were staying at the premier inn next door we thought we’d eat here , service absolutely slow , messed up orders , confusion over payments so we only ate here once in our 5 day stay. Food was ok average pub fare served hot and decent portion. Lots of noisy kids running about and a very messy customer in smelly boilersuit and work boots wandering about .

Thank AngusMc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spur of the moment decision to visit which we did not regret in the least. It was busy but we were slotted in without fuss or undue delay and really enjoyed our meals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank mleather922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic Evening, didn’t book and still made us feel really welcome, waitress Tegan could not of been more helpful, giving recommendations on specials and leaving us to decide. Food was really great and arrived quickly, lobster burger was fantastic! decided to stay with bottle of wine and not rushed at any point 10/10, thank you!!

Thank Tracyswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the fish, chips and mushy peas, with side order of sweet potato fries and veg medley was simply fab! Having had the calamari starter, was too full then to have the pudding-oh dear next time have the main and pud!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank bonardancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorwennaP42, General Manager at The May Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you for main and dessert on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We dined for lunch and waited ages to be seated.
Sadly we put amongst noisy families and babies with little choice of anywhere else to escape to.
The food was pretty awful, luke warm chips, only 12 small chips each, barely cooked non scampi, hard chicken and dry ribs.
The dessert was unimpressive and barely had any ice cream and the brownies were hard and dry.
This was a deeply disappointing experience so we shall not recommend or return.

Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorwennaP42, General Manager at The May Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.
On the lunchtime you visited we were very busy, there were hardly any tables left so you were seated in the bar area to the left of the entrance.
As you say there was a group of young families in the area next to you, we are a family restaurant and at peak it is impossible to segragate off sections to particular groups as intil a booking arrives we are unaware of the age range of the guests but we do make everyone welcome, I do apologise if you feel this wasn't the case when you visited.
It is a shame that the issues you experienced weren't bought to my attention at the time as I would not of wanted you to leave so unhappy and not feel like returning, I would of tried my very best to rectify the situation.
I do hope you give us another try and a chance to show you how good we can be.
Kind regards
Morwenna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The May Tree also viewed

 

Been to The May Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing