We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a lovely house in a really nice friendly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach. Patio overlooking river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach.
Patio overlooking river
Master bedroom and shower room.
Double bedroom with adjoining bathroom.
Top floor Moroccan twin bedroom with en suite shower room.
Cornish cream tea on the patio
Ground floor sitting room    doors onto patio.
Ground floor sitting room.
Ground floor sitting room.
First floor sitting area.
First floor sitting area.
First floor dining area.
First floor kitchen area.
Master bedroom and shower room
Double bedroom.
Looking over bridge into Lostwithiel
From Patio looking upriver.
Bridge at high tide.
Fowey river outside Brunel Quays.
Lostwithiel's Restormel Castle.
Eden Project 4 miles from house.
Par Beach 4.5 miles from house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lostwithiel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RES3351
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a lovely house in a really nice friendly little town”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Very well equipped, very clean, lovely welcome pack, high quality linen and towels (yay towels! I hate taking bulky towels on a self-catering holiday).
Really enjoyed the town with it's friendly pubs, great chinese and fab fish and chip shop.
Great jump-off point to other places (by car or train).
We loved it, thank you Vivienne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Hahhaaa - I am pleased the provision of towels made life easier for you and that you enjoyed Lostwithiel and the friendly residents.Thank you for your comments. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr E W B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful property.... Beautiful location.... Friendly people”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time,.. property and location was stunning and more than exceeded our expectations. Restaurants and shops in local walking distance. Everyone very friendly. Plenty of places to visit by car and lovely beaches. We have been visiting Devon and Cornwall now for over 10years and would never stay in the same accommodation twice..... However The Moorings would definitely be an exception. Thank you to Vivianne (owner) such attention to detail for a perfect stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and found the location convenient and the people friendly.
With regard to The Moorings “exceeding expectations” is always nice to hear - and more so that you may consider breaking your “no repeat stay” rule and returning for another visit. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to feel comfortable”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Our second stay at the Moorings. Again everything perfect, plenty of space for up to 6 persons. Equipped with everything you can think of and perfectly clean and tidy. Pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommended. Only content visitors come twice (as we did)!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
So happy your second visit was as good as your first.. I am always delighted when guests choose to return to The Moorings. The builders will be updating the middle bathroom and kitchen over the winter so hopefully you will be able to enjoy the changes if you manage to return one day. Thank you to you and your family for choosing to stay again. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring Cornwall”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
4
people found this review helpful

I would describe The Moorings a "home away from home," but in fact it is far nicer than my actual home. This lovely, well-appointed 4-level terraced house was the perfect place to stay for a relaxing week-long holiday in Cornwall. It is extremely convenient to the Lostwithiel train station and can be reached by a direct train from Paddington, but it also has ample parking. My husband and I took the train from London and hired a car locally so we could visit some of the nearby attractions -- Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan, Lanhydrock -- as well as explore other parts of Cornwall.

The house itself is tastefully decorated with lovely views of the Fowey river, all the comforts of home, and just about everything you could possibly need. There were even some treats awaiting us in the kitchen upon arrival. Everything looks new, is spotlessly clean, and the beds and furnishings are all very comfortable. The kitchen is large and well kitted out if you want to prepare meals at home -- it's a 5-minute walk to the supermarket -- and there are several very good restaurants within walking distance. Information about local history and attractions is provided. During our visit there was a music festival in town one evening, and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the performances as well as the food and drinks available for purchase.

At the owner's suggestion, we ate at Asquiths one night, had dinner at the Eden Project, and enjoyed a late lunch/tea at the Duchy of Cornwall Nursery nearby. She did not steer us wrong on any of these counts!

We didn't watch much TV, but did appreciate the WiFi so we could share all our lovely photos of Cornwall with our friends and family. I hope we will have another opportunity to stay at The Moorings someday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your review
And for sharing information for future guests with regard to Lostwithiel and the local area. I am pleased that my suggestions worked well .. and I hope we can welcome you back again one day. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a perfect house!”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Moorings in Jul 2017 for 1 week. The view of the River Fowey from the back of the house was marvellous!

The house is over 4 floors so plenty of stairs but it was fine for us. the 2 living areas were lovely as one was very cosy and led out to the patio area where there was a table and chairs with clean cushions stored in a box. Unfortunately it was missing a BBQ which would have been nice but this is a minor flaw seeing as the house seems to have everything else!
The kitchen was very well equipped. Kitchen foil, cling film, kitchen towel, sponge, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets etc was all provided which was nice. There were also plenty of tupperware tubs which was great for packing lunches.
The decor of the house was beautiful and it was exceptionally clean with plenty of natural light. The train station is literally in front of the house and you can hear the trains at night when the windows are open but this didn't really affect our sleep but may do for light sleepers. The house does get quite hot at the top on warm days. There was 1 fan but i think each room needs a fan.
There were a couple of issues with the TV and the dining table but Vivienne had these sorted out for us asap and they did not affect our holiday.
Parking is great, there is a driveway space in front of the garage of the house. We travelled with a Tesla and were able to charge our car when needed using the plug. There is also a chargepoint genie charger in the village at the Earl of chatham pub which is about 5 min walk from the house. The food is delicious there too!
House is within walking distance from all the shops and pubs in Lostwithiel.
Great stay and i would definitely recommend The Moorings.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your review and for your comments and suggestions.
I am aware of the lack of a BBQ. We did have one but the housekeeper did not have time to clean it every week and guests understandably complained if it was dirty. I will look into providing disposable BBQs.
I also apologize re the fans. We do have several extra fans in the storage room which the housekeeper could have accessed for you.I need to put a sign on the notice board making guests aware of this.I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.
Once again many thanks for staying at The Morrings and for your review and useful comments.
Kind regards
Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing