We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Red Fox Barn(Perranporth)
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seacroft(Perranporth)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reen Cross Campsite(Perranporth)
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
7
5
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
5
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi batha lovely holidayapartmentconservatorypropertypillows
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We booked to stay in a ground floor 2 bed apartment (2 adults, 2 kids and a dog) in mid July for use as a base during our holiday. The four apartments are purpose built for holiday accommodation. There are garages and bins at the back, as mentioned in previous reviews, and these are used by local businesses - people we spoke to were friendly and polite and everything was kept tidy. There are also parking spaces for the apartments. There is a picnic table - we all used this for drying towels, swimming gear and so on (much nicer to have any picnic on the beach!)

The landlord met us personally on arrival, and explained about the meter. For a week in summer the cost is about £10-15 pounds. (Budget for £10, it's easy to top up at local shops).

The location is fantastic, with a two minute walk to the beach and the centre of Perranporth. If you are going to be out all day and just want somewhere to sleep - like we did - this is perfect.

Inside, everything is basically fitted out and you walk straight into the living room, with a kitchenette area. There is a good sized cupboard for storing bags, etc. A small corridor takes you to the bathroom and the two bedrooms (a double and a twin). Beds were made up with clean sheets, pillows and duvets with covers. The twin has more room - would probably be better for families if the beds switched rooms and the twin was made into bunk beds. We had a minor problem with one of the fittings. Having mentioned this to the landlord, he was round the very next day to get things sorted without any problem at all.

You do need to bring a 'welcome pack' of toilet roll, washing up liquid, tea towel, kitchen roll, dish cloth. They are available locally, but it would mean that you don't need to join the 'scum' of new visitors stocking up on a Saturday afternoon.

Free WiFi available at the Green Parrot (Wetherspoon pub) round the corner, we went for a post dinner drink in the evenings. Also, a bonus for us as it limited time the kids spent on devices :-)

Very reasonably priced and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank mrssmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

We booked a one bedroom apartment with Burrells and know Perranporth well so knew exactly where this was. On arrival Mr Burrell told us he had given us a 2 bed appartment! One room had children's bunk beds the other a 4ft bed! My husband is 6 ft 6 so I did comment it was small!
The apartment had no niceties at all, no loo roll at all, no washing up liquid, no washing up cloth and £3 on the electric metre. It smelt damp and musty and the bathroom was not clean. ( mould and rusty towel rail)
The smell from the dumpsters behind the appartment was most unpleasant. We also commented that we had no iron and no duvet cover on arrival but to be fair these arrived promptly.
These apartments could be lovely with just a little money and deep cleaning. They are not expensive and I can only assume you get what u pay for but cleanliness and at least a 4.6 bed are not really negotiable. . I noticed after returning home that nearly all my comments about appartment 4 had been repeated by a family who had stayed there in 2012 and nothing has changed! Can only assume he does not read them or doesn't care! Shame we would have booked every year!!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
6  Thank singleladyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Perran House. Firstly, the location is great and the property is a good size. Unfortunately we cant find any other positives, so here goes.

1. When you turn the main light on in the lounge it trips the downstairs lights completely, plunging the house into darkness.

2. The lounge particularly, smells of dog and despite emptying the Dyson and hoovering again, we where unable to get rid of the smell, we lit scented candles and tried not to us the lounge as it was so offensive.

3. The freezer was off as you would expect, but it had mouldy food in it.

4. The wall by the side of the dishwasher was dirty and stained.

5. The oven was filthy.

6. The toaster was full of crumbs.

7. The plug in the upstairs bathroom doesn't work making it impossible to fill the sink.

8. The TV in the big bedroom doesn't work.

9. The sliding door on the conservatory is very difficult to open and close.

10. There are no bedside lamps throughout the house making it difficult and dangerous if someone need to get up during the night.

11. There is no mat by the shower, making it slippery and dangerous.

We felt unable to approach Burrells due to the offhand greeting we received on arrival, and the manner in which our request for tea towels and the battery in the smoke detector to be changed was dealt with. We also felt, that for the price we paid, the accommodation left much to be desired and was overpriced, and therefore would be unable to recommend this accommodation to anyone else.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank spike10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Thank you for another fantastic stay in your apartments. we have stayed here a few years running now and every time have a gorgeous time. We just love how central the accomadation is to everything you need. the atmosphere is so relaxing and will go back again next year. the rooms are just what you need.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I booked 2 apartments for a surprise 50th for my wife and our children and their partners. Mr Burrell and his lovely family bent over backwards to make the occasion special can't thank them enough, and if you get the chance have Sunday dinner in their restaurant their son is an excellent chef. Thanks again and will be back

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews