We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome and great food”

The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$33
Cuisines: European, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Excellent quality traditional English pub food, with extensive beer gardens set on edge of tithians Lake, excellent views. Dog friendly in the Bar and Gardens. Varied menu to cater for all tastes, but also offering a selection for those with dietary requirements.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Went twice, Sunday lunch and curry night. Really enjoyed both and a number of options available on curry night as well as main menu.

Had our 2 pups with us and were able to eat in the bar area next to the log fire.

Great, friendly atmosphere and would recommend.

Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Owner at The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Steve,
What a night Wednesday Curry Night turned out to be! A very busy turnout, as Curry Nights are growing in popularity.

All Curries are made in house by Chef James and his Team - so well done to them, and we look forward to next weeks selections....

Hope to see you again soon.
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Great food
Stunning location
Lovely staff
Good selection of beers and ciders

Will definitely be going back.

Indonesian fish curry was amazing

Thank Sean Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Owner at The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Sean, Thanks for your great review, we will pass your comments onto the Team.

If you enjoyed the Indonesian Fish Curry, you may be interested to know about our Wednesday Curry Night Offer.

More details available on our website - please take a look.

Last week was Curried Goat with Caramelised Banana.... Delicious.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We visited on Mother’s Day, we had a really enjoyable Roast all cooked to perfection. The staff were friendly and attentive, with a nice chilled atmosphere.
Will return again!

Thank ellennip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Owner at The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are pleased you enjoyed your Mothers Day Meal. It was such a busy lunch service, but our Chef Jimmy and his Team, did a wonderful job in getting all those delicious meals out on time and all piping hot.
We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Not good over priced average food, too noisy needs to be a pub or a restaurant. Several specials not available at 7pm on Saturday night. Staff seemed stretched, friendly but not attentive. Chips a bit dry - wouldn’t go back in a hurry.

1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Owner at The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

As you can see by our previous comments our food is not classed as "over priced or average". We promote ourselves as being a
"pub / restaurant " and that is what we are! . I make no apology for selling out of specials, as like all our food, they are made to order,and at extremely busy times they will sell out. We may have been slightly under staffed on your visit, as we did not expect to be that busy (not a bad problem to have !). When you were checked back on your food you said everything was good ,if your was not happy we would have rectified the problem immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Well we visited the Golden Lion after many recommendations. But to be honest I think we choose a bad night as there was a large party going on. The location is fab but the dining part is very open and with wooden floors can get very noisy not what you want if you want to talk with friends. Couldn’t fault the service and the food was good pub grub plenty of it but to be honest nothing special and a little over priced for what we got. Our opinion only try it for yourselves

Thank FiandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Owner at The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review , we are sorry you found it a little too noisy and we are fully aware that this can be a issue when we are very busy .The night you joined us, we did have a very large party in and agree they were on the noisy side,had we not been fully booked there are other areas in the bar or snug area where you could have enjoyed a bit more privacy / peace . We have already taken actions to soften the noise in the restaurant area after the refit and new oak flooring. we look forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing