We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$134
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
US$254
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bugle Inn(St Austell)
US$81
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$205
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Arches B&B(St Austell)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park(St Austell)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
103
57
18
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
57
18
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalloween partysunday roast ispoor state of repairneeds updatingbus stop rightstatic caravanrack of ribscaravan was spotlessly cleanfamily entertainmentthe kids play arealovely indoor swimming poolpentewan beachgeneral publica lovely holidayoctober half termlovely quiet sitecycle path
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Lovely clean pretty site x Great facilities x Pool lovely x Clubhouse great and food was lovely x Staff really helpful x A little dissapointed with the caravan x Clean and only a hint of dog smell which must be a nightmare to completely remove however pots and pans crockery and cutlery were a complete mish mash and the caravan felt damp x Friends came over to the van and commented on how their clothes felt damp after sitting on the sofa x Two other residents commented on the poor caravans while chatting at the clubhouse x Shame as the site really is lovely x Definately need to address some of the caravan issues x DId I complain ?? No as I knew the site was full so what was the point and I had unpacked and wasnt going to spend a day of my holiday packing and moving x Just a shame it wasnt addressed before we arrived x Just book a higher standard van and you will have a great time xx No mobile coverage whatsoever unless you walk to the site entrance and even though they say wifi there is no coverage at all x Not such a problem for us but would be if you need it for work commitments x Fair review x

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Sun Valley was our 1st visit to a high grade Holiday resort (or so we thought) away from Butlins & Pontins where we normally go with our family's & their children. Positives: We turned up 2 hrs early & allowed to enter our caravan. Negatives: General clensiness was below par. Main windows didn't close correctly. Charged £5 more for food than stated on take away menu. Menu & Info pack need updating. Never felt comfortable approaching staff with complaints/comments. Restaurant & Bar were a joke. More like play rooms for children. Bar staff unhelpful. Most frightening was a plug on supplied electric heater marked as 'safe-Passed' was actually damaged & dangerous.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

First impressions last! The male owner seemed genuinely helpful on arrival and having local knowledge to advise on days out etc.
We camped and the sun was shining for a large part of our stay so naturally we were enjoying our time here! The setting is lovely and great for the children to play safely. The whole place is fairly basic but personally I like that!
The pool is nice - showers needs updating though.
The restaurant is very nice - The food is good and reasonably priced - There is a small soft play adjacent to the restaurant which is a good idea in entertaining the children whilst waiting for food.
The shower rooms weren't too bad, perhaps a refurbish is on the horizon though??
The campsite is great - until the rain comes.... In England we get many bouts of unpressadented rain fall year after year but yet on this site some of the pitches flood badly. Although the maintenance chap could see the issue, the female owner in reception denied knowledge of a problem.... Really??
Sometimes in life you just have to accept that you have a problem that needs addressing without getting defensive about it.
Ultimately If the drainage is sorted it will benefit future campers and make the site so much better and ultimately enable people to stay the duration and not have to leave early.


All that said - The location is perfect and as mentioned on a sunny day/week I could imagine a great holiday here.
I would like to hear that the drainage is sorted in the near future.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Arrived here on Saturday 8th August for our annual summer family camping trip
First impressions of the site was pretty good, friendly guy showing us to our spacious pitch, sun shining, all good
Good food served up in the evening at a reasonable price, although you will have to be prepared to wait as the service isn't the fastest
Shower/toilet block definitely need updating as it is a bit manky at times, but water hot so not the end of the world, however.........
The reason for the poor review is after a day & nights heavy rainfall our pitch was completely washed out, now I understand and appreciate whilst camping you will always be at the mercy of the weather etc but our pitch along with others quite clearly had insufficient drainage to deal with the water, Infact one of the drains had recently collapsed and was even filled in with gravel, not good!
This was definitely, 100% a drainage issue as other people camping around the perimeter had no issues
People need to be warned before hand that certain areas are liable to flood
To our despair we ended our much needed break 2 days early and to top it off when I enquired about the possibility of renting a caravan as an emergency I was quickly rebuffed with the comment "It wouldn't be worth our while" (charming)
The lady on reception was very dismissive and certainly didn't want to put herself out too much, poor attitude really, a point for the future, the little things really do make a difference............
So in short if you do decide to pitch up here double check where you are and keep your fingers crossed that it doesn't rain too much as this completely ruined our holiday!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
5  Thank monty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris r, Owner at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Thank you for your review, as I have said on many occasions it is important that we receive feedback to allow us to address any issues that may arise.

I do feel that on this occasion you have been overly harsh in your comments as we have no control whatsoever over the elements. I would also point out that according to media reports Cornwall experienced one months rain in a single day , this obviously caused some localised flooding in the area you were pitched, apologies but again there is nothing we can do.

I would also clarify that you may have not fully understood the comments made regarding the drains these have all be repaired over the closed season and are not collapsed as you claim.
In addition I would also suggest that when you enquired as to the availability of a static unit you were informed we were 100% full and as such could not accommodate your party.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay but would suggest that wherever you were camping in Cornwall at this time you would have experienced similar problems.

Thanks again.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We had a really lovely holiday here the site is beautiful, The entertainment was excellent and the facilities were spot on well kept and clean the kids loved the pool. The pitches are excellent and spacious. The food was lovely would be nice if we could get breakfast too however the club house was only open in the evenings, The kids loved the soft indoor play area, It would also be nice if there was a play area around the club house for the older children too. We loved our stay here and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nicSteve77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick R, Owner at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2015

Thanks for your review, as I have said previously it is important for us to know hat our customers feel about the experience they have here.

Firstly I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and entertainment along with the food provided by Sam and his team.

I appreciate your comments regarding clubhouse opening hours and would confirm that we are looking at extending opening hours next season so hopefully you will be able to enjoy a Proper Cornish Breakfast with us!!!

Once again thank you for your comments.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews