We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pit stop at the end of a long walk”
Review of The Rashleigh Inn

The Rashleigh Inn
Ranked #13 of 137 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A free house on the beach. Fresh, local food and drink, served by those that share a love for what we do. The Rashleigh Inn, a pub to be proud of.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Having walked six miles along the costal path, this was the perfect place to stop for lunch and a pint!

The staff were welcoming and friendly, the food arrived quickly and was hot and delicious.

Tables outside are much more appealing than the ones inside!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank lucindaofficial
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Gorgeous old pub right on Polkerris beach with friendly staff & great food. Can highly recommend the fish & chips. Loads of outside seating & a small car park

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

Delayed arrival from Paddington to Par, decided to walk on SW Coastal Path instead of going to Fowey. Very pleased we did - great walk then friendly no-bookings welcome (drinks in queue). Sea bass light dinner + Cornish lager with great beach and cliffs view.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank 857stephenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

We visited as a family of 3 on 11th August at around 6pm. We were greeted quickly by a member of staff, we were offered different 2 tables until a nicer table became available, one by the busy entrance or 2 small circular tables by the first bay window. We choose the tables by the bay window, little did we know that the 2 tables were next to the main thoroughfare to the busy outdoor seating.

We were attended to quickly by our waitress who asked us if we wanted drinks? We gave our drinks order which arrived quickly. We were then asked if we were ready to order our food, we asked if we could change tables but we were told that they were full and it was where we sat or wait until a table became available (We had tried to pre-book a table but the restaurants policy was not to take bookings and operate a first come first served basis). Unsure how long that would be, we decided to order our food.

Whilst waiting for our food we discovered the amount of foot traffic that came through this door we were sat next to was incredible!
It was particularly poor windy weather and every time the door was opened (every 10/20 seconds) we were exposed to this weather, it really affected the enjoyment of our meal, it really wasn't a great experience.

The food itself was very good, steak and fries, chicken in mushroom sauce and vegan cheeseburger, but we also experienced very disjointed service with only 2 meals arriving and waiting for the 3rd, this happened on both our mains and desserts, having to ask our waitress where our other meal/dessert were?

The bill for 3 drinks, 3 mains and 3 desserts was around £70, which considering our 2 circular tables pushed together, positioned next to a windy, busy, slow closing door, sitting on small stools (despite us being promised this was a temporary measure) and the very disjointed service, I feel that 2 stars are justified.

This restaurant came highly recommended but we won't be returning due to the issues stated above.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Xander1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

Had a beautiful lunch here, possibly the best lunch we’ve eaten in years! Super helpful and friendly. Fantastic view of the sea too! Definitely a must!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank kirstydV1671KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Rashleigh Inn also viewed

 
Polgooth, St Austell
 

Been to The Rashleigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.