We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geat view and great apartment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grandview Apartments
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Stayed here for 4 days , saw more whales in these days than I have ever sen before, about 100 of them. Stayed in apartment 504, huge balcony, off the lounge/dining room. Main and second bedroms also access the balcony. Peter and Kathy were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Penthouses have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FantasticViews, Manager at Grandview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

We love the whale season and that they come close to shore. Easy to spot from the apartments or local Lighthouse and car park lookout.

Please come back again, we would love to have you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days, no issues at all. Kathy and Peter seemed lovely and very accomodating. Carpark was a little small and difficult for a longer vehicle, but not an issue for me. Everything worked and was to an impeccable standard. Beautiful views from our second floor double room.. I'll definately stay here again, and the price was very reasonable for what else was available for the same price. A short 3 min drive to the Main Street of Ballina, but not an inconvenient drive at all if you want to be somewhere a bit quieter.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Blackdeisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FantasticViews, Manager at Grandview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thank you so much. We really strive to present our beautiful apartments in the best way possible. Glad you liked the views of the lovely beaches nearby.
We think they are great value for money as well.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We had Apartment 502 for 4 nights. The ocean view was great and it is about 5 minutes walk downhill to Shelly Beach. However, apartment 502 does not have a great layout. While the kitchen and lounge room have views, the 2 bedrooms are at the rear. They each have a small high window opening onto an external walkway. Yes, you can open these windows but the building's night lights are on all night. They have blinds however I like to sleep in the dark with a window open - not possible here. The ensuite is also problematic. Not unusually, both bathrooms are central - no natural light or ventilation. They are in original condition and need redoing.The ensuite shower is large but does not have a shelf of any kind. That means the soap is on the floor. Additionally, the only towel rail is right alongside the toilet - not good. Even if you chose to use it, it is not big enough to dry 2 towels. Towel rails are also lacking in the main bathroom. They have a bamboo thing leaning against the wall but it only caters for 1 towel folded in half lengthwise. We ended up hanging our towels across the dining chairs. Re the kitchen, it was ok but that's it. It's been cheaply and partially redone but they left old appliances and an old single sink. Significantly, there was no way to make any coffee apart from instant - no coffee plunger. There was a teapot though - no strainer but we do always travel with one of those. There are two coffee shops nearby if someone wants to go for a drive first thing. That brings me to the car space for 502. It has a large ventilation duct running over it so is low and tight. Manager told us to use the space for 701 instead but in peak times that will not be possible.
Will I be back - no.

Room Tip: 502 needs work. Choose a high floor in ocean tower for great views of Shelly Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FantasticViews, Manager at Grandview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Thanks for the feedback. This is one of the apartments that guests normally love. We have multiple apartments some with bedrooms with views and light from the south. A few of the apartments in the middle of the building have bedrooms with high windows onto the lobby they also have expansive kitchen/ dining and lounge areas with lots of light, sunrise, ocean and beach views. The owner for this apartment has ordered new blinds for the bedroom. We have found the towel rails to be sufficient based on guest feedback in the past and will put in hanger shelf for soap. A coffee plunger is standard equipment for our apartments. We will make sure a plunger is available for future guests.
The car park is fine for most cars and we have guest parks for those with bigger vehicles. There is no problem getting a safe, secure undercover park and we often provide additional parking where guests have more vehicles.
We are located in easy walking distance of 2 beaches - 4-6 mins walk, 2 cafe's 6 - 8 mins walking (no driving req.) and a restaurant - 8 mins walking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my family. Great 2 bedroom apartment with everything you need. Has car parking, gym, car parking, swimming pool, about half an hour from Byron Bay.. Has ensuite
and another bathroom, enough space for four!
Very clean, lots of kitchen equipment if you want to eat in.. Dvds to see too..

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank JollydeeDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Manager at Grandview Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Thank you, we think its great too, beautiful apartments, close to 2 beaches a couple of cafe's, pub, Byron, Lennox and the hinterland. Lots to do with active sports or country drives for lazy lunches.

Hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

The apartment was very clean and the linen was perfect. The beds were comfortable and the sitting room was excellent too with waterfront views. The manager was very generous with his time explaining main attractions in Ballina (even went to the length of drawing a rough sketch of the city attractions). This was very helpful for a guest arriving in Ballina for the first time.
The city was vibrant with the Blues Festival taking place in town. The dishes required a bit of TLC. Some cups and some pots had not been particularly attended to by previous residents but management should have spotted that anomaly.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the River and those in the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mutuota K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 April 2016

Thanks for letting us know. We have alerted our cleaners to your feedback and will be more vigilant with spot checks of crockery.
Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
2.9 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
3.7 km away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
199 reviews
0.8 km away
Discovery Parks - Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Riverside Holiday Apartments
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
7.6 km away
Lennox Beach Resort - Lennox Head
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Apartments

Address: 3-7 Grandview St | East Ballina, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Ballina
Price Range: $196 - $663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandview Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandview Apartments Ballina offers affordable beachside holiday accommodation in Ballina on the Far North Coast of New South Wales, Australia. Just 20 minutes along the coast from Byron Bay. Set on the ridge above the beach, Grandview catches the sea breezes to compliment the spectacular views. Two bedroom, three bedroom and penthouse apartments available. All with ensuite and spa bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grandview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing