We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
12
14
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
14
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsundercover parkinggood sizeroom was cleanroad noisefriendly servicefridgemotelwifi
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2014

I did not get a chance to let the owner know that the air conditioner, which is a bit dated, just did not work. As I am on medication which gives me hot flushes, it was impossible to sleep, even with the fan. So please check the air con in room No. 7 . The motel was clean and in a good area, a bit pricey considering the age of the Motel. I would stay again, but would check the air con first.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Oh dear what a shame that you saw fit to use social media to advise us of a routine maintenance problem, rather than calling us or leaving a note. Will Room 7 be wrongly condemned forever? We were not even aware of the issue, as nobody else had complained until another customer a week later told us about this online comment.

The problem has now been fixed and had you come into Reception, even though it was Christmas Day, we could have provided you with a portable air con, which we keep for just such occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed at the Colonial Motel at Ballina on our way to and from Queensland for many years. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The rooms have been refurbished and have 2 lounge chairs, which are most welcome after a long drive. The beds are very comfortable, and the room has a good size fridge. The rooms are always spotlessly clean. Parking is under cover. The motel is not far from Ballina Fair shopping centre, and is in walking distance. We always have a good nights sleep as it is in a quiet area. Ballina itself is now bypassed so trucks no longer rumble through the town. Ballina is a good place to see humpback whales during the whale migration season. We find the R.S.L. a good place for meals. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and individual scores for Sleep Quality, Cleanliness and Service and I am sure that you were well intentioned. However your 'overall' score of 'average' is not reflective of this. In fact this, together with your similar review in June 2011, represents the 2nd and 3rd worst review I have ever had!

Far from boosting the motel, this latest review dropped my overall % score by 8% points and my ranking in Ballina by three places.

Perhaps you need to consider what 'average' represents, as this is the score that TripAdvisor uses. A quick look at other reviews you have done, shows that in 50% of cases you gave an 'average' overall score. From an accommodation point of view, 'average' represents 2.5 STAR or Self-rating, which is hard to believe when we are an accredited 3.5 STAR Rated operation. We aspire to ‘good’ and sometimes ‘very good’, but not ‘average’.

You do have the opportunity to go back in and amend you review and maybe you should consider this?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, immaculately clean, recently refurbished, friendly owners, only 5 minutes drive into town centre however nice and quiet.

As a lone female traveller on a work trip, I felt very safe & comfortable here. Has everything you need - lounge chairs, great bed, desk, good size fridge, good size bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, toaster ... nice boutique feel with only 12 rooms. Well recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SuzieSpiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Suzanne, thank you for your kind review. We work hard at providing our guests with a quiet, comfortable and friendly service. Hopefully you will stay with us again on your next RMS visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Colonial on the 14th Feb for one night. The room is quiet, very clean, nice linen, great bed, and anything else you want is there. There are no stairs and parking is right at your door. Can definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Book ahead as there are only 12 rooms. There are no booking charges.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne2014620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We are frequent travellers/hotel guests, but extremely lazy reviewers.
However sometimes you just have to make the effort, if only to reflect the effort so clearly made by the hosts. One such example is the Ballina Colonial Motel on the Bangalow Road to Ballena.
We give it a straight 10!
Scrupulously clean, modern, spacious, well-appointed, the best shower that we've had in Australia, friendly service from the genial owners, all at a price which represents top value.
Not a high-and luxury hotel, but the perfect motel.
A strong recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somersetlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews