We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Motel In Ballina”

Ballina Colonial Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballina Colonial Motel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We stay here every year for the Ballina Car Show and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The motel is close to all the major shopping centres which makes it very handy. The rooms are very comfortable as are the beds and always spotlessly clean. The airconditioners are really cool which I love as I don't like the heat..lol. There is undercover parking for you car or bike and a beautiful Pool and also BBQ facilities which is always great. I would recommend checking this place out before staying anywhere else. Paul and his Wife are just the BEST!!!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great and Paul has just started renovations on the bathrooms which he has a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

Thanks Jamie; love your sense of humour and look forward to seeing you again next January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2014

Pros:
Comfortable queen bed
Reasonable price for busy time of year, stayed 1 night on way home from Qld to NSW
Mostly quiet at night
Air conditioner worked well and not too noisy, which is important to us
Very friendly reception staff

Cons:
Did not have a hand towel in the bathroom and only supplied 1 face cloth
Did not supply shampoo & conditioner, every other accommodation supplies this so we expected it

Overall, would probably stay again if travelling through and the price was reasonable for the time we wanted.

Room Tip: Our room was on roadside, so other rooms at the back may be quieter, not sure? (We asked for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Soulmates55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2014

I did not get a chance to let the owner know that the air conditioner, which is a bit dated, just did not work. As I am on medication which gives me hot flushes, it was impossible to sleep, even with the fan. So please check the air con in room No. 7 . The motel was clean and in a good area, a bit pricey considering the age of the Motel. I would stay again, but would check the air con first.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Oh dear what a shame that you saw fit to use social media to advise us of a routine maintenance problem, rather than calling us or leaving a note. Will Room 7 be wrongly condemned forever? We were not even aware of the issue, as nobody else had complained until another customer a week later told us about this online comment.

The problem has now been fixed and had you come into Reception, even though it was Christmas Day, we could have provided you with a portable air con, which we keep for just such occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed at the Colonial Motel at Ballina on our way to and from Queensland for many years. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The rooms have been refurbished and have 2 lounge chairs, which are most welcome after a long drive. The beds are very comfortable, and the room has a good size fridge. The rooms are always spotlessly clean. Parking is under cover. The motel is not far from Ballina Fair shopping centre, and is in walking distance. We always have a good nights sleep as it is in a quiet area. Ballina itself is now bypassed so trucks no longer rumble through the town. Ballina is a good place to see humpback whales during the whale migration season. We find the R.S.L. a good place for meals. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and individual scores for Sleep Quality, Cleanliness and Service and I am sure that you were well intentioned. However your 'overall' score of 'average' is not reflective of this. In fact this, together with your similar review in June 2011, represents the 2nd and 3rd worst review I have ever had!

Far from boosting the motel, this latest review dropped my overall % score by 8% points and my ranking in Ballina by three places.

Perhaps you need to consider what 'average' represents, as this is the score that TripAdvisor uses. A quick look at other reviews you have done, shows that in 50% of cases you gave an 'average' overall score. From an accommodation point of view, 'average' represents 2.5 STAR or Self-rating, which is hard to believe when we are an accredited 3.5 STAR Rated operation. We aspire to ‘good’ and sometimes ‘very good’, but not ‘average’.

You do have the opportunity to go back in and amend you review and maybe you should consider this?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, immaculately clean, recently refurbished, friendly owners, only 5 minutes drive into town centre however nice and quiet.

As a lone female traveller on a work trip, I felt very safe & comfortable here. Has everything you need - lounge chairs, great bed, desk, good size fridge, good size bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, toaster ... nice boutique feel with only 12 rooms. Well recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SuzieSpiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Suzanne, thank you for your kind review. We work hard at providing our guests with a quiet, comfortable and friendly service. Hopefully you will stay with us again on your next RMS visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 20 in Ballina
202 reviews
1.3 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
1.1 km away
Ballina Travellers Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Best Western Ballina Island Motor Inn
0.1 km away
Ballina Homestead Motel
Ballina Homestead Motel
#12 of 20 in Ballina
29 reviews
3 km away
Chaparral Motel
Chaparral Motel
#9 of 20 in Ballina
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Colonial Motel

Address: 9 Bangalow Road, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range: $107 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballina Colonial Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballina Colonial Motel provides a quiet location, away from the main thoroughfare, just south of Ballina Shopping Centres and within easy reach of the beaches, river, shops, clubs and restaurants. We are just a 25 minute scenic drive from Byron Bay via Lennox Head. Here at the Colonial, we are always looking to enhance the quality of the accommodation we provide and over a three year period we are undertaking some major refurbishments. By the end of 2013, all the Bedrooms were upgraded and in 2014/15, we will be working on new Bathrooms, as well as completing improvements to the Outdoor Pool Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Ballina Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing