We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Byron Bathers(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cavvanbah Beach House(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wollongbar Motel(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Byron Springs(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Beach House(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Motel(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Suites(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$305
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Byron Cove Beach House(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cape Byron YHA(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
75
64
24
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
64
24
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbbq areabeach accessoffers varietygreat locationdual keysolar heated poolgreat shops and restaurantspool viewwill defiantly be backstudio roomunderground parkingnice pool areawarm spaminute walkquick walkthree nightsself contained
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We loved our single night in our apartment. The bed was comfy and the movie offerings were great for when we wanted to relax. The location was probably my favourite part as we could just walk for 5 mins to go have lunch, dinner and then breakfast. Would definitely stay here again. If I had to find a fault it would be that footsteps above us were constantly annoying but for the price we paid we didn’t really care.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here a few times now, it's always good value.
Only a short walk into the heart of Byron, close to main beach & all the restaurants.
The rooms are spacious and always very clean, a good pool area with BBQ if you want to use it.
Walk through the back gate and your on the beach, everything you want from a Byron experience is right there for you.
The staff are always friendly and helpful, with good knowledge of the area.
This will definitely be our "go to" place when visiting Byron.
Lisa & Duncan
Australia

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Duncan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Great location close to the beach and main streets of Byron. Spacious room with high ceilings (2nd floor) and a nice balcony. I enjoyed the pool and bubble bath in the garden after long beach days. No daily service of the room but easy to keep clean nice with beach towels provided.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

The only negative about this place was that both sets of neighbours had babies that we could hear. Not the fault of the accomodation, just tough to listen to when you are away as a couple.
We saved heaps on fuel and parking in Byron as we were able to walk into town each morning for breakfast and evening for dinner.
The room was spacious, the bathroom was lovely and the air con was soooo quiet and efficient!
We try and go to Byron every year, I’m sure we will stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

First, this is waterfront “adjacent” not “on” the beach. To get to the beach you go out the property’s wooden fence, across two railroads tracks and walk along a dirt pathway. It’s not too far, perhaps a 5 to 6 minute brisk walk from your hotel room to the beach...but this property is NOT “on” the beach.

This is also NOT a motel or hotel as some websites call it . It is a “self catering” apartment. This means you are given 2 bath towels 1 hand towel and no room\maid service for 7 days. If you want clean towels you can wash them in the 1 working washing machine (for 34 units) and bring your own laundry detergent. Bring your own toiletries as well as the only thing you are left is 1 tiny shampoo and 1 tiny conditioner and 2 tiny soaps. With two (short haired) people being careful.... it might last you 2 days.

Our room overlooked a rental house that was filled with a large group of nightly partiers. Every night for three nights we listened to the loud music and laughter until after midnight. The “motel” rooms are not soundproof.

If you are looking for basic accommodation and you come prepared with extra towels and shampoos and don’t mind walking- this may be a good value for you. Great private parking in a secure underground garage and a quick walk into town are the pluses of this property.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank londonbos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachcomberByronBay, Guest Relations Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Londonbos2n, the property is located "on" the Beach with a (1) Minute walk from the back door of the property over (1) railroad track. There is a buffer zone along the sand dunes behind the property to protect against coastal erosion & storm / cyclones etc.
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations of a Beachfront apartment with ocean views, although only "Beach Access" is advertised.

Yes we agree with you, so please be prepared and read the description of the services provided before booking..... The Byron Beachcomber in NOT a Motel or Hotel, we provide self-catering apartments that are serviced weekly only, which is clearly advertised.
We are sorry that the complementary amenities in our starter pack we provide didn't include extra large shampoo & conditioner, although these are the standard sizes provided by all hotel & motels. We are more than happy to provide extra for guests if needed free of charge.

Your selection of the cheapest room type (Standard Studio) are located in the main building and face the neighbouring properties on either side. These are the cheapest and are priced accordingly to position. There was alternative room types available that are located more favourably poolside at the back of the property although these were at a higher rate and not chosen.

We are not aware of any noise issues from the neighbouring property. At the time of your stay the neighbouring house was booked by a family with young children that were excited and audible in the pool in the early evenings, although by 9 pm there was no noise issues or no complaints from any other guests.

In hindsight from your review, the Byron Beachcomber's self-contained apartments was not the suitable selection for your accommodation and needs. I suspect you selected the Byron Beachcomber to meet the needs of your financial budget as at the time of your booking alternative Hotel, Motel style properties that provide daily servicing were available although these can often be more than double the nightly rate of the Byron Beachcomber.
Your chosen room type (Standard Studio) was the cheapest room type selected and was priced accordingly.

We do encourage guests feedback and reviews although it's unfair to expect to receive a Sirloin Steak if you ordered a Big Mack at a McDonald's restaurant then write about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews