We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but a bit tied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nelson Towers Motel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Motel was clean but is in need of a good makeover. Can get a bit noisy when cafe below are setting up in the morning. It is however a great location, you can park the car and leave it. Everything is within walking distance, nice restaurants, the wharf and shops.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Smarty61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Ok, let me begin by saying that my wife and I had a great time at Nelson Towers; the place is well appointed with many amenities (Pool, parking, AC etc) But what let's this place down the most is the outdated decor. The Air Conditioner looked like it came out of the early 80's, the kitchen was the same and it was generally just outdated.

Please note that everything was clean; beds, lounge chairs etc, but just old.

Having said all of that, the location is THE BEST!! You can walk to the Marina, to Nelson Bay beach, ALL the shops and that includes every single eatery or restaurant you want. So for location I would recommend Nelson Towers but as noted, the rooms need a serious update.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

On arrival the location was good but more family friendly than a couples stop over. On arrival the staff were some the most welcoming I've ever experienced.

The room was clean but heavily outdated, felt like I was in the 80's and with very poor wifi leaving it quite disconnected from modern hotels. The general room deco was not my cup of tea; the rooms need seriously updating.

Parking was great but the main disappointment was the depressing pool, the picture is accurate but the pool is only good for children.

All in all it did the job but wouldn't stay again. 4/10.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

This motel is well-located with secure parking and easy access to the marina, cafes, shops, supermarket and park. Across the road a footpath leads through the park and along the waterside - providing pleasant opportunities for morning walks. (A 35 minute walk took me up to the lighthouse for great views - but you don't have to go that far to enjoy yourself.)
The rooms were clean, comfortable and good value for money - with kitchenette, bathroom and balcony access (no views from my deluxe room - but that was not an issue for me). There is lift access from the carpark.
The hosts were pleasant, welcoming and helpful.
I came to the area for a wedding, but would be happy to stay here again for a holiday.
My tip: make sure the sliding door to the balcony is locked before you go out or go to sleep, etc - I never used the balcony during my short stay, but realised shortly before leaving that it had been unlocked all night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Possum1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Nelson Towers motel is in a good location as it is near all the restaurants and just a short walk to the marina, but as for the room and motel itself it was pretty average which is reflected in the price.
I thought the secure covered parking was good but wouldn't want to get there when it's full as people parked taking up two spaces.
That said if you just need somewhere cheap to stay then here will be fine. Rooms were clean and functional.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.5 km away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
280 reviews
0.3 km away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
583 reviews
0.6 km away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
210 reviews
0.3 km away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
157 reviews
1.5 km away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson Towers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson Towers Motel

Address: 71a Victoria Pde, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $142 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nelson Towers Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson Towers Motel is a 16 unit Motel with in the Nelson Towers Building. We have [6] Bay view rooms with King bed, lounge room, kitchenette, bar fridge, air con, bathroom some with own laundry, large balcony with cane lounge facing the marina,[4] Deluxe rooms Queen bed, bathroom, kitchenette, bar fridge, air con, court yard facing the rear,[6] Queen Standard rooms with Queen bed, bath room, air con, bar fridge, court yard facing the rear. We have an Arcade in the building, lift, under cover secure parking, pool on the roof, opposite the marina and walking distance to everything. all linen supplied . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nelson Towers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Towers Motel Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing