We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Ranked #1 of 3 Wollombi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2014

The views and surrounds are serene !
Caroline is the most attentive host. Nothing is a problem for her.Breakfast on the verandah is a must ! All local produce from Mulla Villa.
The Cottage ...tucked away for privacy and quite time !

Room Tip: Caroline is the most attentive host. Nothing is a problem for her.Breakfast on the verandah is a mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrantK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullavilla, Manager at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you! See you soon again! As the chickens are busy laying eggs!
Regards Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We discovered Mulla Villa quite by accident and what it find it was! Mulla Villa is an old homestead that was long-ago converted into a B&B. The original house has four large and beautiful bedrooms with queen or king beds - perfect for a couple. There's also a cabin up from the house that's suitable for more than 2 people and a bit more rustic. The common areas in the main house include a large old-world lounge room with massive fireplace and an adjoining dining area that's small but more than adequate. The owner and host, Caroline, knew how to make our Mulla Villa experience all the more appealing with a warm, friendly but not invasive friendliness. Caroline prepared all meals beautifully and went out of her way to make us feel welcome. Such was our delight at Mulla Villa that we have now been back three times - once in the cabin and twice in different rooms in the house. Each experience was magical! Don't miss this place - it's a true gem! ..... P & B

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullavilla, General Manager at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We just love to share our secret Gem! She "Mulla Villa" can deliver a true escape! Thank you for staying with us and love to see you again! The fires are now roaring! The organic beef has now arrived! Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I'm glad we found this place. It was a delight. It was quiet and chilled. We were not aiming for a motel with a TV and thin walls. Mulla Villa's atmosphere is of an authentic country-lifestyle. It gave our Easter holiday the 'get-away experience' we wanted

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullavilla, Manager at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you, was a real pleasure having you! Hope to be able to spoil you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

As you pull up the drive you see a beautiful historical building set in a green Valley. We stayed for morning tea & were enchanted by our host & the surrounding views.
A stop well worth adding to your itinerary on the the Old Northern Rd as you head up through Wollombi NSW

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rexwoellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullavilla, Owner at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Yes we too are so "In love" with this grand lady, a piece of early Australian colonial history for all to enjoy and visit, may she be here for many more years for our children and grandchildren to admire! Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We love getting away from Sydney on weekends as much as we can and always try something new. And this was a great choice for the Easter weekend.
The house is warm and inviting. Full of old world charm, this place may not be for everyone as it's not a motel. Caroline could not have been more accommodating and the break away from technology was just what the doctor ordered.
There are plenty of vineyards close with amazing wines. You will need to drive though. But taking the wines back and sitting on the verandah as the sun set and the night sky opened up full of stars was perfect.
Make sure you take some apples down to the fence and feed the horses. Super friendly and up for a pat :)
Breakfast each morning was more than enough and a big thank you to Caroline for preparing breakfast earlier than normal as we were up and around as the mist cleared through the valley.
Again this is not for everyone, but for a romantic weekend away from ppl, this was perfect.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cascel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullavilla, Manager at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

So pleased you both had a great break from the hectic everyday life in the city! The horses are missing their morning apples! Yes the best room at Mulla Villa is the verandha, this can be enjoyed nearly all year round.
Thank you for being just great guests and we would love you to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollombi hotels
4.3 km away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
1.8 km away
Capers Guest House
Capers Guest House
#2 of 3 in Wollombi
45 reviews
2.6 km away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Mulla Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Mulla Villa

Address: 3174 Great Northern Rd | 1 km south of Wollombi, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wollombi
Price Range: $116 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guesthouse Mulla Villa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1840 convict built homestead. 4 rooms available with free breakfast. Also newly renovated,cottage with two bed rooms and kitchen. Open 7 days a week. Dinner every Friday and Saturday night. We cater for bus and tour groups and include a free guided history tour with bookings. Weddings available in main house or rustic COW SHED. A must stop on scenic route to the hunter valley wine country. Just one km south of Historic Wollombi. One hour north of the Hawksberry river on the Peats Ridge road turn off on tourist route 33. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Guesthouse Mulla Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing