We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mulla Villa
Nearby Hotels
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wine Country Motor Inn(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mystwood(Wollombi)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
38
20
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
20
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunter valleyspa bathgreat luncha tadowners and staffrelaxed weekendone night staychicken breastsconesmain buildingwedding venuecountry drivewonderful placetwo nightsbaconconvictguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We discovered Mulla Villa quite by accident and what it find it was! Mulla Villa is an old homestead that was long-ago converted into a B&B. The original house has four large and beautiful bedrooms with queen or king beds - perfect for a couple. There's also a cabin up from the house that's suitable for more than 2 people and a bit more rustic. The common areas in the main house include a large old-world lounge room with massive fireplace and an adjoining dining area that's small but more than adequate. The owner and host, Caroline, knew how to make our Mulla Villa experience all the more appealing with a warm, friendly but not invasive friendliness. Caroline prepared all meals beautifully and went out of her way to make us feel welcome. Such was our delight at Mulla Villa that we have now been back three times - once in the cabin and twice in different rooms in the house. Each experience was magical! Don't miss this place - it's a true gem! ..... P & B

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullavilla, General Manager at Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We just love to share our secret Gem! She "Mulla Villa" can deliver a true escape! Thank you for staying with us and love to see you again! The fires are now roaring! The organic beef has now arrived! Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I'm glad we found this place. It was a delight. It was quiet and chilled. We were not aiming for a motel with a TV and thin walls. Mulla Villa's atmosphere is of an authentic country-lifestyle. It gave our Easter holiday the 'get-away experience' we wanted

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullavilla, Manager at Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you, was a real pleasure having you! Hope to be able to spoil you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

As you pull up the drive you see a beautiful historical building set in a green Valley. We stayed for morning tea & were enchanted by our host & the surrounding views.
A stop well worth adding to your itinerary on the the Old Northern Rd as you head up through Wollombi NSW

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rexwoellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullavilla, Owner at Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Yes we too are so "In love" with this grand lady, a piece of early Australian colonial history for all to enjoy and visit, may she be here for many more years for our children and grandchildren to admire! Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We love getting away from Sydney on weekends as much as we can and always try something new. And this was a great choice for the Easter weekend.
The house is warm and inviting. Full of old world charm, this place may not be for everyone as it's not a motel. Caroline could not have been more accommodating and the break away from technology was just what the doctor ordered.
There are plenty of vineyards close with amazing wines. You will need to drive though. But taking the wines back and sitting on the verandah as the sun set and the night sky opened up full of stars was perfect.
Make sure you take some apples down to the fence and feed the horses. Super friendly and up for a pat :)
Breakfast each morning was more than enough and a big thank you to Caroline for preparing breakfast earlier than normal as we were up and around as the mist cleared through the valley.
Again this is not for everyone, but for a romantic weekend away from ppl, this was perfect.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cascel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullavilla, Manager at Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

So pleased you both had a great break from the hectic everyday life in the city! The horses are missing their morning apples! Yes the best room at Mulla Villa is the verandha, this can be enjoyed nearly all year round.
Thank you for being just great guests and we would love you to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After reading the mostly positive reviews of this place through the booking site I used, I thought this might be a cute and quirky option. The pictures seemed to suggest the place was charming, and the prices (around $200) suggested decent quality.

What I arrived to, however, was very different. Basically, I arrived at an abandoned house by the side of a road, in the middle of nowhere. The entire house was unlocked (no working locks on any of the room doors!), deserted, dark without any lights on and completely run-down. The entire house was full of worn out furniture and knick-knacks. The towels and linens should have been thrown out years ago. Bizarrely, the "guest lounge" had dusty dining tables which looked like they had been set weeks, if not months, earlier. If the place had not been deserted, I would have demanded my money back on the spot and left the property immediately in search of a motel.

On the plus side, the next morning, the hosts appeared and they prepared a delicious and generous hot breakfast. They seemed like nice enough people who were doing their best but had pretty much given up on the place, which I can completely understand. It wasn't much surprise that there is a large FOR SALE sign on the property. I had wanted to complain to them about the dreadful state of the property, but didn't have the heart to and there didn't seem much point.

I wish the owners of this property the best of luck, in particular in achieving a good price when selling this property. Hopefully whoever buys it will revive it and restore some pride to the place. With a huge investment, it could be quite beautiful. Until then, potential guests really should be aware of what awaits them when booking into this place. I know I was absolutely shocked.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - I checked. The entire property was unlocked so I could inspect all of the rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DYU2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullavilla, Manager at Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your second updated review. Most hotels do have the main front door unlocked.
The fact you were looking for something different is your right, however what were you looking for?
The furnishings are antique's and are all more than 100 years old, we have very few modern pieces and that's our theme. The lounge area is built also in 1840 of solid sandstone houses the original fireplace with a huge open fire, We are not a hotel or motel and do not try to attract that kind of guest, there are plenty of those places in the Hunter Valley. I feel shocked and dissappointed that you didn't approach us with your concern, Not that I could have changed you to anther room, we just have all the same decor.
We try to give our guests the feel of the country and are in a wide open space with plenty of acres around us, we are nothing like a motel. Once again I'm sorry you were dissappointed, we love our Heritage building and are very sad to part with her after looking after her for 26 years. There will never be another beautiful Mulla Villa for us anywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews