We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch stip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Ranked #1 of 3 Wollombi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Stopped here recently for some lunch as we were travelling to the hunter for a wedding. It didn't look too busy but we were hungry. The menu looked good and had a variety of meals on it. We ordered the bruschetta to share and it was amazing! Super tasty and just the right amounts of everything! Definitely try it. I also had the scallops and pork belly which was also super tasty. Might have to stop in on our way back.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don s, General Manager at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Glad you stopped. We do weddings here too now in our elegant barn
Getting to be very popular for country weddings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

We spent three nights here for a wedding on site and we had such a lovely time. The owners were so lovely and so accomodating. The venue is gorgeous and steeped in history. We had one night in the homestead and 2 nights in the cottage and I would definitely recommend the cottage for a family. The homestead itself would be great for a couple though.

Room Tip: Go the cottage if you have the people, its a little home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dataceptionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don s, General Manager at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

The two bedroom cottage has been renovated and is very popular. I am glad it was available for you to stay in.
Don Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We booked a one night stay in this quaint guesthouse built in 1840's.We arrived a tad early so all was not ready however the owners went out of their way too make us feel welcome and relaxed while we were waiting. Our room was a little confined maybe due that we did have a king size bed. the bathroom was a bit different with a spa bath and a hand held shower head (no curtain or screen) we coped ok though. the owners and the staff could not do enough for you and were happy and pleasant and easy going. We also had breakfast included and while the food was good i probably could have changed a couple of little things but that is only my personal view. The owners are in the process of rejuvenating and renovating the property and in time with a little bit of tlc they will have something special and unique.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Greg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don s, General Manager at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

The house was built 1840 by convicts. We are limited as to what we can do because of the heritage side. Most people are happy knowing they are staying in a place over 160 years old. We are continularly doing more improvements and hope you can come again. Don Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights to attend a wedding nearby. The property itself is from 1830 and convict built so please don't expect the Hyatt, However, the room was very pleasant and the bed large and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the included breakfast a great way to start the day with several different savoury and sweet options.
The grounds and pool are most enjoyable, and the different convict relics and constructions were most interesting. The broad, sheltered deck of the main building was an excellent way to see the ll as relax and chill. If we are back to Wollombi or the Hunter Valley in general, we will certainly plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hurls298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don s, General Manager at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Great looking after you. The staff are really great and we are proud of them We now do weddings in our barn. That has become very popular.
Don Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

I stopped here on a Thursday for a late lunch and was not expecting much but to my absolute surprise, my friends and I all vote this place for one of the BEST steak sandwiches ever! We followed up with a fresh batch of scones straight from the oven. BEST scones ever too! Soooo light and fluffy! Would definitely stop here next time I am passing. REALLY nice friendly service too.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank victoria605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don s, General Manager at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Scones now available 7 days a week. Happy to have you drop back any day of the week
Don Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollombi hotels
2.6 km away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
224 reviews
4.3 km away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
1.8 km away
Capers Guest House
Capers Guest House
#2 of 3 in Wollombi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Mulla Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Mulla Villa

Address: 3174 Great Northern Rd | 1 km south of Wollombi, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wollombi
Price Range: $116 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guesthouse Mulla Villa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1840 convict built homestead. 4 rooms available with free breakfast. Also newly renovated,cottage with two bed rooms and kitchen. Open 7 days a week. Dinner every Friday and Saturday night. We cater for bus and tour groups and include a free guided history tour with bookings. Weddings available in main house or rustic COW SHED. A must stop on scenic route to the hunter valley wine country. Just one km south of Historic Wollombi. One hour north of the Hawksberry river on the Peats Ridge road turn off on tourist route 33. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Mulla Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing