We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great atmosphere and Quick service.”
Review of The Mexican

The Mexican
Ranked #15 of 57 Restaurants in Yamba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: At The Mexican, we serve traditional Mexican cuisine, sourcing only the freshest local meat, seafood and produce to combine with our traditional recipes and home made sauces. We serve all the traditional dishes you expect at a Mexican restaurant, including Taco's, Nacho's, Burrito's, Enchilada's and Fajita's. However if what your looking for is supermarket style Old el Paso, or Taco bill franchise Mexican, you may be disappointed. The Mexican is GENUINE Mexican. House specialties including Spicy Wings, two amazing Yamba Prawn dishes, and arguably the best Chipotle Glazed Pork Ribs on the planet!! Our bar is locally renowned for serving the best Margaritas and cocktails in town. We also have an extensive wine list, featuring many boutique wines from Australia and Overseas. Speaking of wines... Our secret recipe Sangria is a must on a hot summers day.... Which is just about every day in Sunny Yamba. What are you waiting for??
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

Food tasted great and was very filling, loved the decorations and music which gave it a great relaxed Mexican vibe whilst enjoying tasty food. Definitely a must go when in Yamba. Service was very quick and waiters checked in frequently to make sure everything was ok. Couldn’t fault anything and left happy and satisfied! Will go again soon for sure! Hats off to the owner as definitely a lot of time and effort has gone into creating such a great experience.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Joshmaso8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2020 via mobile

Nice to see a departure from the standard cheese smothered Mexican food. We enjoyed pork ribs and spicy calamari- and a couple of tacos ( it was taco Tuesday) washed down with a delicious margarita. You can byo wine for $8 a bottle and the outdoor patio was spacious. Wait staff were a tad vague but otherwise this is a top spot!

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank Sallycp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020

The coldest beers in town, the best jalapeño poppers you've ever had, the nicest staff & the tastiest food. This place is always an all round great experience. It caters for everyone, when I have people visit me in town this is the place I always take them. Always a pleasure going here.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shayne421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020

My partner and I visited the Mexican with a couple of friends, not only was the food sensational but as was the drinks & vibe. If you’re looking for an authentic tasty good priced Mexican this is the place. The Mexican also caters for vegans, try the vegan nachos or fajita they are so good.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank coutneyannsmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020 via mobile

Ordered takeaway as we love Mexican food. Very basic order - one order of chicken fajitas and one combo fajita. The order was ready within 10 minutes which was excellent however we were very disappointed with the food. The beans were tasteless - straight from the can I think. A very small amount of cheese, plenty of sour cream, a minute amount of salsa and the protein ratio to capsicum and onion was was off. The chicken however was moist and not dry. Prawns were average according to hubby. Maybe I expect too much but there was no guacamole! I had to add salt and pepper and some chilli flakes to make it even slightly interesting.
Would not recommend.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank gailrayhobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al M, Chef at The Mexican, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2020

This is the best yet: THE protein ratio to capsicum and onion was was off. bahahaha wow. The order only took ten minutes, great. the chicken was moist, winning. Prawns average well thats 3 stars at worst and that's according to hubby. Mexican beans well i didn't invent them and yes they are bland so we add cummin, garlic, salt and pepper as well as bay leaves to lift them a little. plenty of sour, great. guacamole does not come unless ordered with this meal and clearly states this, maybe you did expect too much Gail? I really don't think you are being fair in a one star review Gail, you could of called and expressed your concerns in a honourable way instead off trying to damage a local business that has already gone through enough this year. Merry Xmas and hope Santa brings you some happiness x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mexican also viewed

Yamba, New South Wales
 

Been to The Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.