We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfulfilled potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We took up the option of a Luxury Escape package. The room was beautifully designed and comfortable - but as seems to be the case these days, the bed was pretty hard. But this was accepted as customary. Unfortunately, the dishwasher had seen better days - in fact we decided not to use it as it looked a little dangerous. But as we didn't have a lot of crockery to clean, it was not an inconvenience - just a little off putting. We were taken aback by how noisy it was. Not sure whether the wall are thin or the it is just a noisy spot - but banging doors, banging screen doors, gardening activities and delivery vehicles seemed to be incessant and noisy.We tried the spa massage and were very pleasantly surprised. Great service and excellent overall experience. Breakfasts were included and whilst standard in terms of their offering, it was fresh, tasty and more than adequate - and there was plenty of it. The restaurant menu looked OK but we weren't there long enough to try it out - our fault, not theirs. The resort looks tired - it needs some TLC and a bit of upgrading - but perhaps the depressed local economy makes that a difficult decision for management. The staff were great - friendly, helpful, courteous and ever-willing to help. Lovely people. The fact that we probably wouldn't go back is more a reflection of the resort's condition rather than the staff. We enjoyed the stay - another day or so may have allowed us to try other resources offered - but we came from Melbourne with limited time to spend. Good experience without being exceptional.

Room Tip: Our first floor room had lovely balcony with relaxing views. Avoid the summer months and the accompa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingAngourie, Guest Relations Manager at Angourie Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Graham,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The staff will be pleased to read your lovely comments about being great, friendly, helpful, courteous and ever-willing to help.
However, it is disappointing to read your comments about the resort looking tired. Angourie Resort is a family owned and operated business. I will have to correct your comment about “a depressed local economy makes that a difficult decision for management” as this is not the case at all. Yamba may be a quiet coastal village but that is the way locals and the many returning travellers like it.
The resort was built 16 years ago and is unlike the majority of other resorts within Australia, as it is not owned or managed by a big international chain but by the local family who build it.
As you can appreciate, without the financial input from a big international chain we are not able to invest millions on a yearly basis. However, we do have a continual upgrade program which covers all aspects of the resort, from the interiors, painting of building exteriors and our facilities upgrades. All this work has to be scheduled around our bookings and holiday seasons.
I can assure you that the owners have a never-ending commitment to maintain this beautiful resort and provide friendly and happy staff. We hope you are able to return for a longer stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We had a nice stay here but isn't quite a "rainforest" resort. It's set right next to the main road and has a few trees around it. Rooms were big with covered outdoor area which was good for the mosquitos. It was very quiet and clean. Toiletries provided. No housekeeping service. Wifi complimentary for 8 hours.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank AmandatheNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingAngourie, Guest Relations Manager at Angourie Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear AmandatheNurse,
Thank you for mentioning some great points including the convenient outdoor screened veranda, and our quiet and clean apartments.
The resort is located on Angourie Road, which is actually a No-Through road leading to the small township of Angourie, which has a population of just 200.
If you prefer more of a Bungalow style accommodation surrounded by trees, may I suggest next time you stay with us our 2 Bedroom Villas may be more to your liking. The villas are positioned toward the back and center of the resort and amongst the lush rainforest surroundings, adjacent to the beautiful Yuraygir National Park, considered a natural wonder, more than just “a few trees”.
Services are provided on the third day complimentary, however if you have booked a discounted package, some of which don’t include this service.
We look forward to welcoming you to the resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Booked 3 nights through Luxury Escapes. Had one bedroom spa room. What a disappointment and we flue all the way from Melbourne!
The apartment is decent size but so dark like a dungeon, very depressing. bedroom have no window and when you enter apartment is smelly and bit dated. It's in the middle of nowhere and is built on a swamp ( who had that idea?), so we ended up all bitten by mosquitoes. despite they having mesh screens everywhere you go outside and can't stay long, even near pool you got bitten if you stay a while. There were no phone reception anywhere and wi fi is slow and time limited. Restaurant was ok but nothing special, good service though. We were alone in the restaurant on the night- not very nice feeling. I'd stay away from the place especially with kids due mozzies.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingAngourie, Guest Relations Manager at Angourie Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear Anna R,

It is unfortunate to read your opinion of Angourie Resort and I apologize that your experience left you feeling disappointed.
For the readers, I would like to add some comments regarding your feedback.
Because of the unfortunate weather our area has recently experienced; including minor flooding, the mosquito activity admittedly had been worse than normal. Good news is, since the recent drop in temperature here in Yamba they have rapidly decreased.
At Angourie, we are a regional area therefore our Wi-Fi and the mobile phone reception will never be as fast as it would be at your home, living in Melbourne. Unfortunately Yamba was forgotten about when the NBN was rolled out!
Your opinion on our 1 Bedroom Apartments is disheartening. As most guests appreciate that they have recently been refurbished with fresh modern decor, and a new coat of paint. Each room has a beautiful screened veranda and the upstairs’ rooms feature a skylight. With some rooms overlooking our Lily-pond, which is currently flowering with beautiful lily’s and is part of the natural watercourse surrounding the Angourie Resort, nestled right beside the Yuraygir National Park. We do not consider our surrounds “a swamp” but a natural wonder in which we are lucky enough to be so close to. The Watercourse is a vital resource for local fauna and offers a beautiful outlook from the private verandas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We were booked into a 2 bedroom villa which was spacious, clean and integral parking.
Large and furnished deck/balcony area.The rainforest walk entrance was just a few steps away and if you have no allergy to mosquitoes etc. it is worth the walk.
The deck/balcony is fully insect screened but mosquitoe protection is still advised, as is a repellant spray when walking about outside.
The restaurant was excellent and the staff throughout the resort friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom villas are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hfba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingAngourie, Guest Relations Manager at Angourie Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear Hfba,

Thank you for providing some informative comments. We are glad to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Hopefully you can come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Located 2lkms from the township of Yamba the Resort offers a swimming pool, tennis and other basic facilities. The rooms are clean and large with all the facilities expected in a studio room. The dining room is simple but offers a reasonable range of quality food and drink. The staff are friendly and helpful. All major beach and town highlights are in walking distance to resort. The only BIG negative is that the area is in a wet area so the mosquitoes and midges are unbearable unless you cover up and spray bug killer on your person.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room near pool or tennis court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingAngourie, Guest Relations Manager at Angourie Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear Michale F,

Thank you for your overall positive comments. It is unfortunate that you were so bothered by the mosquitoes, I apologize for this inconvenience. Due to recent flooding around the area, the mosquito activity admittedly was worse than normal. Good news is, since the recent drop in temperature here in Yamba they have rapidly decreased. We hope you are able to return to visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
2.0 km away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
2.0 km away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#10 of 11 in Yamba
86 reviews
1.4 km away
The Sands Resort
The Sands Resort
#3 of 11 in Yamba
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
2.2 km away
Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort
1.3 km away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#1 of 11 in Yamba
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angourie Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angourie Rainforest Resort

Address: 166 Angourie Rd, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia (Formerly Australis Angourie Rainforest Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yamba
Price Range: $161 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angourie Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angourie Rainforest Resort located in Yamba, New South Wales is a coastal oasis adjacent to the sand dunes of pristine Flat Rock Beach, between the famous Angourie surf beach and the village of Yamba - voted the #1 Town in Australia. Multi-award winning 4.5 star Angourie Rainforest Resort nestled beside 600 hectares of open forest containing remnant littoral rainforest, is an exclusive eco-friendly retreat. The resort offers a uniquely Australian holiday experience for the professional family, couples and the independent traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angourie Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angourie Hotel Yamba
Angourie Resort Yamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing