We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Booked this resort through Wotif and do not feel it was truly represented. We thought we were in for a treat as we had booked a spa unit but when we arrived and saw what we had, we were so very disappointed. Our apartment was in a barrack style block of apartments and immediately we were unhappy. Once in the apartment, although clean, there were no instructions in the compendium on how to operate the television or the air conditioner/heater. We gave up on the heating as it was warmer with it off. Also there is no Austar/Foxtel installed - the reason given was that it was a conscious decision by the owners to remove it as there was so much to see in the rainforest! Which might be true during the day, but we wanted to watch something decent at night. Anyway, the unit was old - as is the resort itself. We jumped into the spa and the dirt that came out of the jets was a bit offputting. The bedroom didn't have any windows and unfortunately I am a bit claustrophobic. I woke around 3am and just could not handle there were no windows. I ended up having to go out onto the balcony for about half an hour to settle myself down. So next morning we went across to reception and told them how very unhappy we were with our apartment. We said that this did not feel like a luxury resort and in fact we had stayed in better motels at half the price. Much to the manager's credit - Danielle - she offered to give us a refund so we could check out, alternatively, she offered to upgrade us to one of the luxury villas. We took her up on her very kind offer and moved into a villa for the remainder of our stay. The villas are certainly a whole lot better than the barrack style block we were in, but we wouldn't call them luxurious. We were right opposite the swimming pool, so the outlook was lovely. One of the nights was quite cold, so I grabbed one of the blankets to put on the bed, I think the blanket is as old as the resort. Well past its 'use by date' that's for sure. We went across to the restaurant/bar for happy hour and initially we were made to feel as though our being there was an imposition. Another bad thing though (and of course it's not entirely the resort's fault) is the mosquitoes. Because of the stagnant water which surrounds the resort, it is a breeding ground. So all in all, a very disappointing resort - and certainly not luxurious as Wotif website showed it to be.

Room Tip: If staying in one of the deluxe villas, make sure you take mosquito repellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

3 course dinner amazing, good sized cocktails, staff great, food locally caught. Lunch was pool side bar snacks which were huge portions and well priced. Room had a spa which was dirty but was cleaned. Great location with very helpful staff.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingAngourie, Guest Relations Manager at Angourie Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Max S,

Thank you for your short and sweet review. We are so pleased to read of your enjoyable stay at Angourie Resort.
We are so thrilled to offer delicious menu options and dining experiences. Our 3 course $60 special has proven to be a popular and affordable choice among guests.
If an issue arises in a room, we are quick to resolve it, as your experience has reflected.
We hope you can return for another amazing stay at Angourie Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Starting at reception,the counter staf were less than helpful. The steak at dinner and the vegetables was cold (not even luke warm) and had oivosly sat on a counter for quite a while.
If you travel here between May and August, the ights are cold and the one thin blanket provided in the room meant I spent the coldest night of my life. Again reception was completely disinterested. Dont bother with a barista coffee, it is a shocker!

On the psitive side the rooms were clean and the bed firm.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingAngourie, Guest Relations Manager at Angourie Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear David L,

Your customer service experience does not reflect the usual standard in which we offer, as our staff are always complimented on their helpful and obliging nature.
I apologise that you felt cold during your stay and as mentioned to you on check out, it was unfortunate that you did not realise that the villa had a reverse cycle air conditioner which would have heated your villa to a comfortable temperature if switched on.
I am glad that you found the bed comfortable and the villa clean and I hope that you will return again to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We recently stayed here via a Luxury Escapes Package 2017 and have to report it was a very disappointing 5 days. The room that we stayed in was dark with ageing carpets, bathroom, bed linen, towels and fittings. The bad odours emitting from the bathroom were nauseating (assume septic tanks). Ground floor with one above, noisy in barrack style block (definitely not luxury). Swimming pool not heated, reception ok, rainforest gardens appear to be over grown, hence dark rooms. The saving grace was the Restaurant with excellent service and menu options for Dinner, however the package breakfast left a lot to be desired.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank dougiependergast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingAngourie, Guest Relations Manager at Angourie Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Dougiependergast,

I am glad you enjoyed the excellent service and menu options at the Cunjevoi Restaurant. It is however disappointing to read of your opinion relating to the One Bedroom Spa Apartments. I can assure you that your comments on the room will be reviewed and attended too by our dedicated team of managers and the resort owners.
Lastly, Angourie Resort is set amongst a lush, sub-tropical rainforest which is part of the Yuraygir National Park. Our positioning offers a peaceful and beautiful environment. The resort grounds are maintained on a daily basis by a team of committed groundsmen however as the resort is situated beside the Yuraygir National Park, that may appear to be “over-grown” which is only natural.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

We recently returned from a three-day Luxury Escape at the resort and were truly delighted with every aspect. The spacious unit was extremely comfortable and the two dinners we enjoyed in the restaurant were exceptional. The continental breakfasts were just what we like to have and quality and quantity were perfect. My wife also enjoyed a very professional spa massage. We had no issue with the WiFi and the service overall was both friendly and professional. The location a few kilometres from Yamba enable you to enjoy both a rainforest retreat and a seaside experience just a few minutes from each other.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingAngourie, Guest Relations Manager at Angourie Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Norman H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us with a reflection of your experience. We are so glad you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us.
We offer amazing return guest specials and would love to see you visit us again.
From all of the staff at Angourie Resort, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
2.0 km away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
2.0 km away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#10 of 11 in Yamba
86 reviews
1.4 km away
The Sands Resort
The Sands Resort
#3 of 11 in Yamba
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
2.2 km away
Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort
1.3 km away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#1 of 11 in Yamba
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angourie Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angourie Rainforest Resort

Address: 166 Angourie Rd, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia (Formerly Australis Angourie Rainforest Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yamba
Price Range: $161 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angourie Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angourie Rainforest Resort located in Yamba, New South Wales is a coastal oasis adjacent to the sand dunes of pristine Flat Rock Beach, between the famous Angourie surf beach and the village of Yamba - voted the #1 Town in Australia. Multi-award winning 4.5 star Angourie Rainforest Resort nestled beside 600 hectares of open forest containing remnant littoral rainforest, is an exclusive eco-friendly retreat. The resort offers a uniquely Australian holiday experience for the professional family, couples and the independent traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angourie Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angourie Hotel Yamba
Angourie Resort Yamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing