We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited many times over the years”

Pennsylvania German Cultural Heritage Center
Ranked #10 of 15 things to do in Kutztown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Pennsylvania German Cultural Heritage Center at Kutztown University. We are a folklife center that preserves and promotes the Pennsylvania Dutch culture and its traditions. The PGCHC provides family-friendly events year-round as well as tours by appointment and educational opportunities, and is an integral part of Kutztown University’s Pennsylvania German Minor Program. The Heritage Center is also proud to publish the only international Pennsylvania Dutch language newspaper, Hiwwe wie Driwwe, and is home to the Kutztown Community Garden and The Heritage Center Kitchen Garden. The Heritage Center Library, the heart of the center for genealogical and historical research, holds hundreds of resources; and our library volunteers are eager to help you find your ancestors. We look forward to your visit.
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

A wonderful place with wonderful events and programs. Funfir the family and great learning of our local history. We love it here

Thank dckanfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2016

Dear Internetland,

My family and I were very excited about visiting the German Cultural Heritage Center as a part of our family vacation. We researched the site and saw it advertised to be open Monday through Friday, 10am to 4pm. We planned it as our first stop after driving an hour and a half to arrive in Kutztown, PA. Upon arrival, we were kindly informed that they are not accepting visitors without one day to one week notice to schedule a tour. They explained that they know it is incorrectly listed on Google and invited us to come back another day and book in advance. Perhaps they should contact Google and get their affairs in order? With limited vacation time and a lengthy drive, this attraction was a total disappointment.

Shame on you.

2  Thank sharpdogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGCHC, Office Assistant at Pennsylvania German Cultural Heritage Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Hello, sharpdogs2,

We are sorry to hear that your experience at the Heritage Center was less than what you were expecting. We are always happy to have visitors to our site, and do have guests visit to utilize our Genealogical Library, which is open from 10am-4pm, Monday through Friday.

While we understand the Google listing is incorrect, there is no way to change this type of listing as it does not allow for "by appointment only" hours. However, as our Genealogical Library is open for research during these times and our office is open for calls and inquiries, the hours are as accurate as they can be with the way Google operates.

We do know that our tour information is correctly listed on our Facebook pages and website, as well as in our description here on TripAdvisor, and encourage all our guests to visit our website (www.kutztown.edu/pgchc) for the most accurate information. We only ask that a call is placed 24-48 hours in advance when making appointments to ensure that a tour guide will be on site.

Thank you for your feedback, and if you happen to visit again, we hope your experience will be more of what you're looking for.

Thank you,

The PGCHC Office Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Our Family and a visiting family from Chile visited during Festival this past weekend. Heemet Fescht. Everyone really had a great time and enjoyed so many of the demonstrations, Petting Zoo, Kids Activities, Music, Tractor Rides and over all historical information. All the kids and adults enjoyed ourselves. Maybe could have stayed longer. We were there about 3-4 hours.

1  Thank cmpcmp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

My review is not expressly about the center, but about the popular attraction held on the nearby fairgrounds across the street in July. Here, you can sample the many crafts and arts indigenous to Pennsylvania, with emphasis on the culture of the Plain People, commonly referred to as the Amish. There are display buildings and demonstrations that chronicle the olden ways of this peaceful community that are still practiced today, after hundreds of years of settlement after emigrating from Germany and Switzerland. There are musical shows and vendors that offer many traditional foods as well as those found at large festivals. One unique attraction is a carrousel powered by a mule named Molly. An entire day is recommended to take in the sights and tastes of this educational and fun-filled extravaganza, which runs several days. Avoid crowded parking lots by arriving early. There is no fee for parking and there is a discounted entrance fee for seniors, complemented by a coupon discount on the Festival's website.

1  Thank Travelogue222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Decided to check out "Christmas on the Farm" in Kutztown, PA, and I have to say that they put together a nice mix of cultural learning and entertainment in a beautiful country setting. This season "Christmas on the Farm" featured folklife demonstrations, children’s crafts and activities including cookie decorating and ornament making. Along with traditional crafters (the hand-crafted wood ornaments were beautiful!) and vendors. They also had food for purchase like burgers, hot dogs, soup, etc. Entry was free, but there were plenty of 'buying' experiences to be had.

My family also enjoyed the petting zoo and the tractor ride through the corn field. The only downside I experienced was with one or two volunteers who appeared to not like children very much. In this particular situation, I was able to offset the bad with the good as many of the other staff members were very friendly.

You can't have everything!

Thank MissyPA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pennsylvania German Cultural Heritage Center also viewed


Been to Pennsylvania German Cultural Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing