We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$111
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Main Street Inn(Doylestown)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
101
32
3
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
32
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelaware rivergreat view of the riversized bedholly hedgeweekend breakfastfire pitcharming roomthoroughly enjoyed our stayrelaxing getawayhot breakfastcinnamon french toastfresh fruitperfect weekendgeneral storeburger nighttow pathpeddler's village
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This place will remind you something out of a movie. Very old and quaint place nestled in a very quiet neighborhood.Staff is very nice. Every room at this inn has a view of the Delaware river. Rooms are very comfortable and clean with very nice decor. There is a bar and restaurant within this inn. Complimentary breakfast is served daily. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank richrod212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to say those kind words about us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It certainly was a pleasure hosting you. We very much look forward to your return trip!

Warm Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Stayed at the historic 1740 House for two nights as part of a family reunion event. Tucked alongside the Delaware River with beautiful views from your room this inn is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included with the room and was delicious. The staff is very friendly and most accommodating and Ron in the bar makes great conversation and a great drink. No lunch is available here but sandwiches can be had at the general store 400 yards down the road. There is access to a walking trail along the river and you are just a short ride from the quaint town of New Hope. We would stay here again when in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank withsmith110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us of your experience. We had a lot of fun with your family; they are a great bunch and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

You're right about Ron. He'a a great bartender and a fun guy to chat with. We passed along your comments to him.

In fact, your review was printed and put on the wall for the whole staff to see. It's nice when everything comes together like that. It's what we strive for.

If you're ever in the area again give us a call. We'd love to have you back.

Warm Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had a very nice and relaxing time at the 1740 House. The room was very clean and we had a lovely view. The staff was very nice. We had a good dinner overlooking the river and the breakfast was also very good. We took a long walk along the canal. I highly recommend the 1740 House and I am going to book another stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TakingATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the chance to host you again!

Warm Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

In the area for a wedding and this was nearby. The Inn is caught between being a small hotels and a large inn....it is old but clean and rooms are quite large. Breakfast was ok, not anything special. Staff was mostly helpful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your trip. You're right about our size - most people have never heard of a 24-room B&B, much less stayed in one. That creates some special challenges and hopefully our staff is able to conquer them. Next time you're here, we'll try to change the phrase that the staff was "mostly helpful" to "most helpful". Let us know if you plan to return.

Kind Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Lovely place for an overnight stay along the Delaware River. Our room had a king size bed and a balcony overlooking the river. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed having a glass of wine and our morning coffee sitting on our own patio watching the river. There is a bar and restaurant in the main building. The bar was lovely- cozy and good drinks with some spiced peanuts on the bar. We did not have dinner at the restaurant but did have breakfast, which is included with the room, as is wifi. The innkeepers are lovely and very helpful and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return next time we visit the area. It is close to New Hope and Lambertville without being in the midst of the hustle and bustle and crowds.

Room Tip: I was told that room #2 is very nice
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NjMomandaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. It certainly was a pleasure hosting you.

We like hearing that you took advantage of the view and our little bar. And you hit the nail on the head talking about our proximity to New Hope and Lambertville while still being out in the country.

And we'll make sure the person who makes our spiced peanuts hears that they made it into a review.

Kind Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews