We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic getaway ”
Review of 1740 House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1740 House
Ranked #1 of 2 Lumberville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

This is our second stay at the 1740 House. We really like coming here because it's very quiet and the rooms are decorated so nicely.

The first room we stayed in was room 23, it's very spacious with its own sofa and bathroom. It has a king size bed and it was very comfortable. This stay we were in room 12. It had queen size bed and a bathroom. The pillows were so soft and comfortable, I wish I had pillows like this at my own home. This room was smaller, but still cozy. Both the rooms we stayed in during our trips, had a wonderful view of the Delaware River.

The Inn is close to New Hope and Peddler's Village. Both are great places to visit to shop and dine. In the morning, they offer you breakfast from 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. coffee was great and so were the offerings they had such as fresh fruit and banana nut bread. We also had a choice of two different hot breakfast.

I highly recommend this place for a couple's weekend. It is perfect for a small getaway.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tappenfeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

This place will remind you something out of a movie. Very old and quaint place nestled in a very quiet neighborhood.Staff is very nice. Every room at this inn has a view of the Delaware river. Rooms are very comfortable and clean with very nice decor. There is a bar and restaurant within this inn. Complimentary breakfast is served daily. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank richrod212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to say those kind words about us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It certainly was a pleasure hosting you. We very much look forward to your return trip!

Warm Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Stayed at the historic 1740 House for two nights as part of a family reunion event. Tucked alongside the Delaware River with beautiful views from your room this inn is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included with the room and was delicious. The staff is very friendly and most accommodating and Ron in the bar makes great conversation and a great drink. No lunch is available here but sandwiches can be had at the general store 400 yards down the road. There is access to a walking trail along the river and you are just a short ride from the quaint town of New Hope. We would stay here again when in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank withsmith110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us of your experience. We had a lot of fun with your family; they are a great bunch and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

You're right about Ron. He'a a great bartender and a fun guy to chat with. We passed along your comments to him.

In fact, your review was printed and put on the wall for the whole staff to see. It's nice when everything comes together like that. It's what we strive for.

If you're ever in the area again give us a call. We'd love to have you back.

Warm Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had a very nice and relaxing time at the 1740 House. The room was very clean and we had a lovely view. The staff was very nice. We had a good dinner overlooking the river and the breakfast was also very good. We took a long walk along the canal. I highly recommend the 1740 House and I am going to book another stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TakingATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the chance to host you again!

Warm Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

In the area for a wedding and this was nearby. The Inn is caught between being a small hotels and a large inn....it is old but clean and rooms are quite large. Breakfast was ok, not anything special. Staff was mostly helpful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper L, innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your trip. You're right about our size - most people have never heard of a 24-room B&B, much less stayed in one. That creates some special challenges and hopefully our staff is able to conquer them. Next time you're here, we'll try to change the phrase that the staff was "mostly helpful" to "most helpful". Let us know if you plan to return.

Kind Regards,

The Staff of 1740 House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumberville
6.5 km away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
8.8 km away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
257 reviews
8.8 km away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Centre Bridge Inn
The Centre Bridge Inn
#11 of 19 in New Hope
76 reviews
4.6 km away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
295 reviews
8.3 km away
Porches on the Towpath
Porches on the Towpath
#3 of 19 in New Hope
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1740 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1740 House

Address: 3690 River Rd, Lumberville, PA 18933-9713
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Lumberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lumberville
Price Range: $245 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1740 House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1740 House offers the comforts of a first-class hotel with the ambiance of a small country inn. The Main House consists of the original living room with wood burning stone fireplace for lounging on a cold winter's day. All 24 guestrooms have either a Balcony or Terrace with views of the tranquil Delaware River and Canal. Every guest room has a Private Bath and individually controlleed Heat and Air Conditioning. Keep the Television hidden away in the amoire to provide for the perfect Romantic evening. Free high speed internet service keeps you connected to the outides world while you enjoy your surroundings of a day gone by. We offer the very best of Spirits, Cordials and Wines in our private 1740 Club (open to guest when they stay at the inn.) Tapas style menu served Wednesday through Saturday from 4:00pm till 8:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your 1740 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1740 House Hotel Lumberville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing