We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For Us East Coast Snobs”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The Priory is a family run, charming, boutique hotel located on the less busy (sans football or baseball home game days) North Side of Pittsburgh. It's a quiet, safe and cozy landing spot after a busy day of touring the downtown area shops and museums. The neighborhood is in transition, with beautiful housing stock, history and flavor. A convenient, safe parking lot is directly across from the main entrance to the hotel and a neighborhood supermarket and gas station are located at the end of the block. The supermarket and gas station serve the diverse socioeconomic community and we found the service, inventory and overall shopping experience to be convenient and safe. The Priory's shuttle was quick to pick us up and take us to most of our destinations in a timely, friendly and informative way (ask for Henry...a history professor in an earlier life). Everyone who assisted us, especially Alex the Bartender and the daytime desk staff were super informative and dedicated. The facility is historic but with luxurious updates. If you're looking for the more impersonal but fashionably contemporary sleek hotel experience, this might not be your spot. At The Priory...your shuttle driver may be the sales manager and on early afternoons, the bartender doubles as your tappas chef. On the other hand, my Mom and fiance found the family style dedication of this home away from home spot to be just the ticket. Also...ask to see the Grand Hall, the desanctified church attached to the Priory Monastery used as a banquet hall...a perfect place for a wedding reception. Make sure to spend some time in Monk's Bar...Alex's Old Fashioned is tdf. Lastly...for local restaurants we loved The James Street Gastropub for it's perogies and fried oysters and live, local Jazz and a creative New American menu at reasonable prices and Max's Allegheny Tavern is a must with a gorgeous 19th century bar with stained glass fixtures and satisfying German comfort food...try the Goulash. Last props...don't miss The Warhol Museum and The Mattress Factory, both located on the North Side near the hotel. I honestly can't wait to go back to Pittsburgh...and if I were still single, I'd move to this wonderful, friendly city in an instant. In the meantime, I'm staying at The Priory.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 445 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Priory Hotel the evening of my daughter's wedding. I was so impressed with the hotel. The service was outstanding with numerous amenities including cozy,
clean rooms. It's right in the hub of Pittsburgh making access to events in Pittsburgh quit easy.
The neighborhood is under renovation and is embracing the the historical aspects of Pittsburgh.
I can't wait to rebook. What a TREASURE in Pittsburgh!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were fabulous and incorporated modern with historical. My friends' rooms were equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had a king room on the 2nd floor: clean, spacious, comfortable. Magnified make-up mirror and hair dryer provided. Free wifi.
Price was unbelievable bargain when compared to other hotels downtown. Free parking with lots of security. The free shuttle service within a 3 mile radius, covered all the sights we wanted to see.
Lovely complementary breakfast. Beautiful courtyard.
All staff were friendly and accommodating.
Definitely one of the best downtown city hotels I have experienced anywhere!

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd or 3rd floors are more quiet than 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marychrfltch C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The Priory Hotel is a beautiful hotel that is tucked in the northside of Pittsburgh. Its great location makes it easy to attend sporting events, theater performances, conventions as well as enjoyable restaurants in the Pittsburgh area. The hotel is very elegant and unique with beautilful architect throughout the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean with comfortable beds. The hotel offers a nice continental breakfast. I highly recommend staying at the Priory Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelernac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I spent our wedding night at The Priory. After a year of planning, an exhausting (but awesome) day, we were just looking to have a quiet relaxing place to rest our heads. We were immediately checked in to our deluxe suite. Our room was unique, cozy, and luxurious. The bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable with top-notch pillows and sheets. It was probably the best sleep of my life. We woke up and went downstairs to a lovely breakfast. "Continental" does not do it justice. Fresh pastries, fruit, bagels, delicious coffee, etc. (The Priory owns their own pastry shop up the street so these were not run-of-the-mill to say the least.) They also had a lovely breakfast room to eat and read the paper. It looks over a lovely patio outside. After returning to our room, I enjoyed a long, hot shower with great water pressure (my biggest pet peeve is low water pressure at hotels). And the robes! The robes enveloped you in luxurious softness. So comforting. I am so happy we chose The Priory for our special day. It went beyond our expectations and we'll definitely stay there again. In fact, we're going to book a room for New Year's Eve just for a special treat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriennebuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
1.3 km away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,323 reviews
1.2 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
1.6 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: 614 Pressley St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $137 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Benedictine Monastery, the Priory Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Pittsburgh's historic Deutschtown district. Built in 1888 (with a new addition which opened in January 2011), the Priory offers late 19th century historic ambiance, with all of the modern amenities, including flat screen televisions, in-room safes and coffee service, and complimentary hard wired and wireless Internet service. The Priory is within easy walking distance of many Pittsburgh attractions, including the Andy Warhol Museum, National Aviary, PNC Park and Heinz Field, and is less than a mile from downtown Pittsburgh. The Priory Hotel offers a complimentary European-style Continental breakfast every morning; parking is complimentary as well. Don't feel like leaving the property? Our Monks' Bar is open daily, and you can enjoy a cool drink in our cozy sitting room (with a wood burning fireplace), or out in our garden courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing