We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Renaissance HotelsUS$341
Booking.comUS$341
Hotels.comUS$359
TravelocityUS$359
FindHotelUS$341
ZenHotels.comUS$393
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,010)
Filter reviews
2,010 results
Traveller rating
1,146
539
208
71
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,146
539
208
71
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pnc park across the street allegheny river beautiful hotel clemente bridge corner room high ceilings heinz field historic building baseball stadium walking distance pirates game market square parking garage great room warhol museum strip district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,010 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2022 via mobile

This hotel certainly is not a luxury hotel although the prices are luxury amounts.
I believe you are paying for the location, near both professional sports stadiums. Rooms were ok and
Food was mediocre at the pub and restaurant. We would not stay here again.

Room tip: Do not stay in rooms facing building next door. One such room is room 430.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A4689XRmikeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay. We appreicate you taking the time to leave us a review. We strive to excel and will take your feedback and grow from it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2022

The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel is a beautifully renovated historic building just off the rivers edge on 6th street in downtown Pittsburgh. Straight shot across the 6th Street Bridge to PNC Park and a short walk to Heinz Field, this hotel is the goto if available when in town for a game or concert across the river. The hotel lobby is beautifully renovated, with all sorts of texture and detail to the extent I notice something new each time I visit. The bar is lively on game weekends and always meet great people in town from all over the country coming in for the game. Rooms are tastefully done with working area, flat screen and really everything I want in a room for a short stay. My last stay was in 2019 before the world got sideways, and my experience with the staff was positive and candidly, friendly and helpful. I wonder sometimes if we find what we are looking for but thats a different conversation. Walking distance to an abundant amount of attractions and sites, with an easy parking garage across the street. Fitness center is above average and has more than enough equipment and options to get the workouts in. There are all sorts of bar and food options within a couple blocks and really, on game day, the last thing I want to see is the car.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rockjaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you not only enjoyed your stay with us but also enjoyed Pittsburgh. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2022

Stay Report - 5/21 to 5/22

Location: The hotel is located on 6th Street just a block south of the Allegheny River.  Right now the 6th Street Bridge is closed for construction and most of 6th Street itself is torn up as well.  You can still park at the garage across from the hotel at least but getting around is trickier than usual.  It's still an amazing location for a Pirates game or for being downtown.

Hotel: The hotel is one of those glorious renovated old buildings turned into a Renaissance.  The building dates to the early 20th century and is beautiful inside and out.  The lobby especially is lovely and it has a restaurant, coffee shop and really good cocktail bar.  There's also a small store. 

Check In: I checked in at 12:30 Pm and was able to get right into my room which is always a huge bonus.  I was thanked for being Titanium and given two waters as well.

Room: Very nice and large enough for an older building.  The room itself was lovely with high ceilings, a desk, large TV, outlets near the bed and no issues with soundproofing.  The bathroom was a touch on the small side however.

Dining: The cocktail bar was wonderful, I was glad I went and they stay open until 1 AM.  Breakfast was disappointing though.  A really limited menu and the Titanium benefit was $10 off entrees (which doesn't cover drinks) or a continental breakfast.  

I was able to use a 4 PM late checkout.  My rate was a staggering $339 pre tax but I was still really happy with my stay and would come back. 

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sal_Paradise767
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2022

Have you ever gone away for a special event? need to check into a hotel to shower and put your black tie on? Imagine the horror of trying to check into a hotel at 430PM and being told there will not be a room for hours????? Managers did not take accountability, and instead blamed the staff. Said there were no housekeepers - WARNING - DONT STAY AT A HOTEL WITHOUT housekeeping. Avoid this hotel at all costs. managers had not problem sitting on their behinds while the rooms went uncleaned. Where was the phone call alerting the guests?? The triage to handle the damage? just excused and BAD LEADERSHIP.

Shame on you Marriott for flying your flag at this hotel.

AVOID

Room tip: Choose a room somewhere else would be my adivce
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank brianfK1934SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly apologize and are disappointed about the experience you had with us. The team did their best with the unforeseen circumstances that caused the situation, and the entire leadership team is involved and taking steps to ensure this is not repeated. We strive to provide excellent experiences for all of our guests and are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at stephanie.masullo@renpgh.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2022 via mobile

Marriott in name only!

COVID is over except for the management of this hotel, who are not providing the level of service one would expect under the Marriott banner in order to completely milk some post juicy covid profits from their guests. Their is zero room service, in room bottles of water cost $5, there is not a bell man or valet, and housekeeping consists solely of someone throwing clean towels on the floor near your bathroom. Beds are not made, dirty towels aren’t collected, the bathroom is not cleaned etc etc even if you ask for housekeeping. It’s ridiculous and Marriott needs to do all of us a favor and rip their name off this place.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank josephn316
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Erin Ferry, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2022

Dear josephn316,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. Your stay was not up to our standards and we have brought your concerns to our leadership team. We strive to provide high levels of service and greatly fell short of that measure in your case. We will use this feedback to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews