We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Museum!”

Children's Museum of Pittsburgh
Ranked #24 of 187 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hi! We're having a great time at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh and the only thing missing is you. MAKESHOP, our tinkering space, has real tools and materials such as wood, sewing machines, hammers, nails, a loom, animation station and more. Jump right in, that circuit isn't going to build itself! The Art Studio is calling for your creative energy to design and ink a silkscreen, paint, sculpt clay and create something unique alongside the many working artists who visit. Young ones, you are royalty in the Nursery, a space filled with colors, shapes and textures perfect for your growing minds and bodies. The Attic, Garage and Waterplay (because it's just not fun until your underwear is soaked) round out the permanent exhibits. But not so fast. From marching bands, slam poets and cultural traditions to letters that fall from the ceiling and a crawling maze made out of packing tape, our temporary exhibits, performers, programs, artists-in-residence and artwork are particularly awesome too. If we don't hear the protests of departing kids at the end of each day, we're not doing our jobs right.
Reviewed 30 December 2017

The people that work here simply have the patience of saints. The museum is great for kids, probably up to the age of 10, but ideally suited to younger children.

Thank JCW703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thanks so much for your review. Our staff loves our visitors, and it's great to hear that it shows. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017

Spent a good 3 hours at the Children's Museum of Pittsburgh during a trip to the city. Didn't know what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. TONS of things for the kids to do. We started by doing a bit of art (silk screen and watercolor). The big hit for my son was the area which had tons of recycled material. With a big imagination and a fair supply of tape and anything else you could think of, this part of the museum allowed the children to create something out of nothing. Lots to see, lots to do....would definitely visit again.

Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

We're glad that you came for a visit while you were in town. Thanks so much for your review. Please visit us again when you're back in the 'Burgh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

A wide variety of activities in a variety of settings encouraged active play and exploration. And as a grandparent, we had a wonderful time watching the little ones play and learn! Plan to spend a while - we did not get to everything and the 3 year old can't wait to come back!

Thank jrgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

There is so much to see and do. Usually there is a special show focused of a theme, ie Clifford. But there are floors of activities that are permanent. The top floor water world is great fun.

Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

We are glad you and your family enjoyed your visit. Thank you so much for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We had a great time at the Children's museum of Pittsburg. The museum has different exhibits/rooms. The best part is that all exhibits are hands on and your children will be able to play non stop.
They offer painting in the studio and they provide all required materials.
The Garage exhibit was my kids favorite. The museum has 3 floors, and on the 3rd floor is water at play. Your kids will need bathing-suits/change of clothes for the activities on the 3rd fl. They have a caffe at the museum and bathrooms conveniently located in every floor. Visiting this attraction is excellent for a cold, hot, rainy or snowy day.
If visiting Pittsburg with kids, a must see.
Tickets are a bit pricey, children under 2 are free. Individuals 60+ qualify for a discount. They offer parking but it's not free. Definitely recommend it.

Thank DKleps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PittsburghKids, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

We thank you for coming to visit us. Your feedback is very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Children's Museum of Pittsburgh also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing