We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Hampton
US$309
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Traveluro
US$289
View deal
FindHotel
US$287
View deal
EtripUS$287
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,314)
Filter reviews
2,314 results
Traveller rating
1,598
559
114
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,598
559
114
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking great location convention center heinz history center front desk across the street within walking distance pnc park free breakfast great stay pool and hot tub allegheny river pittsburgh downtown the breakfast area cultural district hot breakfast would stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,314 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2022

This is the second time I review this Hampton. Same good expereince. Same clean, specious room. Same good breakfast. Same free parking (the only hotel offer safe, free downtown hotel parking). No complain. Although it is not new and flashy, it still worth the high price! Just like to offer some tips:

1. Book way early, better price. (pay a little more to get free cancelation benefit, it will still cheaper than booking close to stay date.) Also this place sold out fast.
2. The rooms are big. Easily and comfortably fit 5-6 adults. (just one bathroom though) This is good if you have big family.
3. Download the Hilton App to see if you can check in earlier (via the app) and pick your room. Use your phone as room key. Need not check in with front desk. (We still went to front desk later, to get the key cards though, becauce all my family members are adults and like to have their own key, to get in/out as they wish. Only one phone can be used as room key, unless all are hilton honor members. )

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veryyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paul Metzler, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2022

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share the feedback of your stay with us, as well as your kind words of our clean and spacious guest rooms, as well as our complimentary guest parking. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to serve you on future visits to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Paul Metzler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2022

Despite both parkings being full and having to park in front on the curb, and the toilet stopping working (was repaired that day) and the breakfast being mediocre,and no housekeeping, we had a decent stay. The parking situation was definitely a challenge. We have never had trouble parking at a Hampton. The room was large for a Hampton. The location is good but tricky getting to.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paul Metzler, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2022

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share the feedback of your stay with us, and we apologize for the issues that occurred. We will use your review as a guide on how we can better improve, both our service and our product. Thank you again for your review, and we do hope that you might give us another chance, should your travels bring you back to the Pittsburgh area.

Best Regards,
Paul Metzler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2022 via mobile

I stay at many Hamptons in many different locations and although this location was convenient and the room/bed comfortable, the pool and hot tub water were cloudy and in obvious need of maintenance. Despite alerting front desk management, nothing was done about it during our stay. Lots of niceties and apologies but that doesn’t cut it when looking to use these amenities.

Breakfast: This was the worst of any Hampton breakfast I have experienced. Scrambled eggs and oatmeal were submerged in water. Astonished that there is no oversight of the (obviously) inexperienced employees setting the breakfast out.

Coffee: This is the place to go if you crave lightly brewed coffee. Most (if not all) of the Hamptons I stay at offer both light roast and DARK roast blends each morning. Not here. We had to go elsewhere for a proper cup of coffee.

I would look elsewhere if you are a pool/hot tub user with cleanliness standards.

I would not stay here again. Too many shortcomings and no evidence of concern/commitment by front desk staff to address issues.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ConnecticutGuy1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paul Metzler, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2022

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share the feedback of your stay with us, and we apologize for the issues that occurred. We will use your review as a guide on how we can better improve, both our service and our product. Thank you again for your review, and we do hope that you might give us another chance, should your travels bring you back to the Pittsburgh area.

Best Regards,
Paul Metzler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2022 via mobile

Location in Strip District. Easy walk to markets and restaurants.

I stay at numerous Hilton facilities (Diamond) and this was one of the cleaner and more comfortable Hampton Inns in recent memory.

Free parking is a definite bonus when staying in any city.

Staff was responsive to one minor issue that we had.

Coffee area in lobby needed a little TLC at times.

Also lots of pets were staying there so be aware of you have allergies.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Navigate07938138415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paul Metzler, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2022

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share the feedback of your stay with us, as well as your kind words of our exceptional team members. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to serve you on future visits to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Paul Metzler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

Amos was fantastic, helpful, and friendly. (Yes that's the title too but I can't stress that enough.) Amos remembered us from the evening before and was able to help us extend our stay when I worried we might not be able to. Hampton Inn & Suites downtown also has the best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel before. It's conveniently right across from the Heinz History Center, and short walking distance from the strip.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kristendG975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paul Metzler, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2022

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share the feedback of your stay with us, as well as your kind words of our exceptional team members. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to serve you on future visits to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Paul Metzler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews