We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,323 results
Traveller rating
1,023
207
55
21
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,023
207
55
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour soaking tub rooftop bar bird cage living room restaurant downstairs mini bar front desk staff beautiful hotel hotel experience upon check valet parking heart of downtown bed was very comfortable love this hotel market square convention center
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
969 - 974 of 1,323 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We stayed in a King Corner Room with the Spa upgrade. Room was spotless and the bed was perfect. All of the reviews about the good mattresses are 100% correct.

The location is also very convenient. It was right in the heart of downtown and there is an underground parking deck right around the corner.

Host staff were very friendly and so was the cleaning staff.

Overall a very nice hotel and a much better option than the business trip oriented competition downtown when you are looking for a relaxing weekend with your significant other and/or group of friend.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 806anthonyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross P, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Thank you for your stupendous review from your recent stay at the Hotel Monaco!

We love to be the hosts for our guests to enjoy themselves for a weekend away, whether it be for relaxation, sightseeing, or just simply getting away for a day!

Please come see us again the next time that you get an opportunity to get a weekend away!

Thank you again and take care,
Ross Pattison
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco - A Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Another great stay at a Kimpton. Nice to have this option now in Pittsburgh. Comfortable, spacious room, impeccably clean, and reasonably quiet since it was at the end of the hall. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. The Commoner bar was also great for a quick lunch when I arrived.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndrewPA2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross P, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Thank you so much for your amazing review from your recent stay at the Hotel Monaco! As you know from your previous stays at Kimpton hotels, we strive to be the most beloved hotel company in the world, and it is so gratifying when that feeling resonates with our beloved guests!

Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Take care,
Ross Pattison
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco - A Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Spent the night when visiting for a hockey game. The staff was very friendly and took the time to talk to my kids and ask about their trip. We had a pet fish for our stay and even attended the happy hour with our kids where they had a special kid mock-tail. The rooms were very fun, spacious and beautiful decorated. We loved all the little extras and appreciate the small boutique vibe.

Date of stay: March 2016
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross P, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Thank you for your superb review from your recent stay at the Hotel Monaco! We are thrilled that you and your family were able to enjoy a night away and we are thrilled that you chose us!

Please come see us again the next time that you are in town, as we'd love to host you again. Go Pens!

Take care,
Ross Pattison
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco - A Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Lovely design hotel in downtown Pittsburgh. The staff were friendly, the decor was quirky and fun and the room was quite spacious for two. The bed was comfortable, which of course was good after a long day of driving, sight seeing and attending an event. I found the Commoner, which is the attached restaurant, to be overrated and expensive, and the servers to be frosty in comparison to the hotel staff. Further, nothing against the hotel, but the square this hotel sits on and downtown in general was quite dead outside of office hours so there is not much to do in proximity except visit other hotel bars or take a cab to another neighbourhood. We didn't bother valeting our car, as the cars are just taken by the drivers to the Mellon Square parking garage and you're charged twice the price. It was about $35 for valet daily; parking for two days was only $24. We originally booked for one day, then considered a second day, but the price point was astronomical (3 x the Friday rate for a Saturday) so we chose to go to another hotel. Too bad, because this is the least stuffy "nice" hotel downtown.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank omgchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross P, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Thank you for the terrific review from your recent stay at the Hotel Monaco! I'm sorry to hear that your experience in the Commoner was not up to par with the rest of your stay, but I am glad to hear that it did not put a damper on your overall experience.

Please come see us again the next time you are in Pittsburgh, as we'd love to be your host hotel again!

Take care,
Ross Pattison
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco - A Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

This one is a grower. We arrived very late and it was extremely noisy in the bar restaurant next to reception which gave a misperception of raucousness. in fact it was just a big mixed group having a good lively time. The service is excellent and the rooms and decor are very idiosyncratic/ boutiquey/bohemian. Slept very comfortably and great shower and very good breakfast. Centrally located in what is a very surprising and dramatically sited small city with a very rich history. Would like to come back and would come back here and hope to sample the rooftop biergarten next time

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LondonWiggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross P, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

LondonWiggies - Thank you so much for your sensational review from your recent stay at the Hotel Monaco!

I'm sorry to see that your initial impression was underwhelming, but I'm thrilled to see that we were able to immediately turn it around! And please do come back to try out the Biergarten (rooftop beers and homemade pretzel with beer cheese? Yes please!) opening April 15th!

Thank you again for the exquisite review, and please do not hesitate to reach out for the next time you're in town.

Take care!
Ross Pattison
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco - A Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews