We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$323
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$323
View deal
Hotels.com
US$323
View deal
Omni HotelsUS$323
PricelineUS$323
Lol.travelUS$485
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,270)
Filter reviews
5,270 results
Traveller rating
3,520
1,120
377
164
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,520
1,120
377
164
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel classic hotel across the street downtown pittsburgh valet parking corner room market square tap speakeasy starbucks lobby chandeliers conference bellman garage closet game
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 5,270 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2022

This is a shockingly poorly maintained facility for the Omni brand. While the lobby is pretty and the hotel was clearly once top of the line, it's now suffering from severe underinvestment. Paint is chipping in most public spaces, carpets are filthy, cobwebs everywhere, many light fixtures aren't working. The rooms are nicely sized and the beds are comfortable, but again, things are just poorly maintained. Chipped furniture, dirty drapes, and really terrible bathrooms. Our toilet barely flushed, and the shower didn't drain at all.

To top it all off, I was sitting at the bar in the lobby around 10pm and saw a mouse run through the space. Pretty wild.

Honestly, at these prices you would be much better off staying at the Westin. Or really anywhere that had been renovated in the last 10 years.

Date of stay: July 2022
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2022

I am so sorry to hear about your experience. This is not something that is typical of our guests when they stay with us. Please reach out to via my direct line 412-553-5247 or email me at Matthew.Heymann@omnihotels.com if that is easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2022

We recently visited the city to celebrate the 4th, and we stayed here simply because everything was fully booked for the weekend. Simply because of the pricing, I thought this would be a luxury hotel, but it's not. The building itself is historic, and the lobby is beautiful, and I imagine that a long time ago, this place was probably stunning, but it's really just ok now. It was the little things that make this place not luxury in my opinion, like: the toilet is crooked, the shower is old looking, the outlet plugs seem kinda questionable, things like that. Their pictures are really great, but they must've been taken years ago to make them appear more high-end. It's ok, but for what they're charging they need to step it up.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everlast_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Matthew Heymann, Other at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2022

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had just an "OK" experience. We want all our guests to enjoy everything that the hotel has to offer. I hope this stay will not deter from saying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2022

Another amazing stay at the Omni William Penn. We stayed June 2 through June 4th and it met all of our expectations. We were impressed by the friendliness of everyone working there from the valets to front desk to housekeeping and everyone else we interacted with. We utilized the Valet parking for the trip and it was very convenient. There is a garage across the street under the park, but for us it wasn't worth dragging everything through the garage and across the street.

The room itself was ready and they had be checked in as part of the hotel loyalty program. I had a corner room with a view of the park across the street and the skyline. Furniture was a bit dated but well kept. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the TV had a good selection of channels to watch. The room we were in had a massive walk in closet, which we really didn't utilize. Bathroom was very small, but we expected that given the historical nature of the property. Water pressure was amazing and was one of the biggest surprises of the room. There was a coffee machine and fridge in the TV stand. The plugs on the night stand right next to the bed were a bit awkward, but were usable.

Over the weekend there was a lot of weddings, which was to be expected given how beautiful the property was. It was a little inconvenient given we kept trying to move out of the pictures being taken. In addition, one reception took over the restaurant next to the lobby, but was extremely loud and pretty explicit music. I don't mind the cursing personally, but it did distract from the ambiance of the lobby and some folks could be offended.

All in all, the next time I am in Pittsburgh I will be staying here again if it is an option.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PLM2534
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cameron Westover, Owner at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2022

Thank you for the review! We look forward to having you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2022 via mobile

The front desk and valet staff were excellent. The AC in our room was very good and we had an interior room so it was very dark for sleeping late. Unfortunately, the rooms are old and in desperate need of a refresh. The hotel has beautiful architecture and I’m sure back in the day it was beautiful. If you’re from Boston it’s very similar to the Omni Parker House.

Room tip: Close to several good restaurants.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank M8377YQdavidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cameron Westover, Owner at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2022

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2022

The William Penn is the grand old hotel in Pittsburgh. Constructed in the turn of the 1800 to 1900, the Omni has done a great job of restoring this fine hotel. One could spend hours gazing at the fine chandeliers and the intricate woodwork. The rooms are lodge and the beds are good. I had little to complain about. The housekeepers were thorough and the rooms clean. The rooms smelled a little due to age. The in-house restaurant had an excellent burger at a reasonable price and the beer was also reasonably priced. There is a Rite Aide within steps of the entrance. Cokes in the vending machine were $2.

Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JayB1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cameron Westover, Owner at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2022

Thank you for your review! We hope to have you stay with us again the next time you're in Pittsburgh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews