We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in town”
Review of Ramada Pottsville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Pottsville
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pottsville
Reviewed 23 May 2017

This Ramada is probably about an average Ramada property. It's a nice enough place that was once a department store I've been told. Kind of interesting architecture inside with an open atrium. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Beds and pillows were clean and comfortable. Within walking distance to several restaurants, bars, drug store and downtown area. Also close to the Yuengling brewery.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank 203newtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Pottsville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Guest,
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location, accommodations and services to be satisfactory. We appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience with us and future guests. We hope to serve you once more when you return to the area. Thank you and well wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank 430tadda
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather H, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Pottsville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Your initial reaction upon first seeing this hotel will likely be negative. It is housed in an old building, right at the heart of an old town, and hardly looks luxurious. You'll encounter an entryway that would look right at home in an old detective movie, filled with pimps and pushers. Then you'll steel yourself, walk through the door, and enter a classy, beautiful, and well-kept lobby which just shouldn't be inside such a drab, unremarkable exterior.

Debra at the reception desk was friendly, efficient, and quite helpful in getting me checked in with absolutely no hassle. A beautifully furnished lobby area is present directly across from the reception desk, complete with big screen tv and comfy chairs. I opted not to sample the on-site fitness and business centers, but both looked quite capable of their tasks. An elevator is available off the center atrium, or guests can opt for a huge stairwell to get upstairs to their rooms.

The room was a mixed bag. The antique nature of the building itself is quite apparent from the creaky floors and the door which wasn't quite flush with the jam, allowing a good amount of light to seep in from the hall outside--not a huge bother for me as I'm accustomed to sleeping during the day, but could be a bother for others. The king bed was very comfortable, the sheets freshly laundered, and the pillows oddly-sized but exquisite to sleep on. There was a small desk which filled the needs of a workstation, and the television was modern and offered numerous cable options. The bathroom was quite nice, although there was water constantly flowing in the toilet's tank...again, not a bother for me as I prefer an amount of white noise while sleeping, but would be a major issue for light sleepers. The WiFi was easily accessed, but the connection was slow and suffered from quite a few short-term interruptions. A refrigerator and coffee maker were provided in the room, but not a microwave.

All told, a mixed bag of a hotel which could charge two or three times the rate were it located in a more touristy historic center, but feels slightly overpriced given the actual location. Having the Ramada name attached to it might also breed higher expectations than it can live up to. Overall, the staff and comfy bed made it a positive experience for me, but more picky guests might not enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Pottsville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear davidtY5809MW,

Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience.We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. We are glad that you found the majority of your experience to be satisfactory. We can't wait to see you again!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank D4405ADmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather H, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Pottsville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Enjoy staying at the Ramada in Pottsville, nice town to walk around in the daytime.. It's an older hotel but always clean. A microwave would be nice in the room. The breakfast could use a little upgrade but it's ok. Wish they would have a little bar or café to visit in the evenings. The staff is always very nice and helpful, Tammy was especially helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mastjs2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Pottsville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear mastjs2017,

Thank you for your compliments to our staff and high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. It is also very helpful for us to hear your comments on where we can improve. We will happily share your comments to Tammy and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottsville
10.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Frackville (Pottsville), PA
21.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hamburg
22.4 km away
Comfort Inn Midway
Comfort Inn Midway
#1 of 1 in Bethel
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Barnesville - Frackville
39.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
35.5 km away
Candlewood Suites Hazleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Pottsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Pottsville

Address: 101 S Progress Ave, Pottsville, PA 17901-4500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pottsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pottsville
Price Range: $92 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Pottsville 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Ramada Pottsville is located in the heart of historic downtown Pottsville Pennsylvania. The Ramada Pottsville is a unique, somewhat boutique style hotel which features amenities for corporate, group and leisure travelers alike. This recently renovated hotel offers the very best in comfort with the all new Serta pillow top bedding, Moen shower massage, curved shower rods, upgraded bath amenities and much more /see amenities list for more details/ an on site hair salon, restaurant, business center, fitness center, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, complimentary Internet access, free USA Today newspaper and various room types to accommodate the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Pottsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Pottsville Hotel Pottsville
Pottsville Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing